Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

TETRATOR

by Trasevol_Dog - Compo Entry

TETRATOR.
Is it just a Tetris clone ?
No, it's more.


TETRATOR is a game in which you decimate invaders from your tetris-powered missile-launcher bunker.

Controls :
- 'Q' and 'W' ('A' and 'Z' on azerty keyboards) rotate the tetramino left and right.
- left and right arrows let you move the tetramino... left and right !
- down arrow makes the tetramino fall faster.
- up arrow ends the tetramino's fall directly.

The source code is awfully messy, I strongly disrecommend that you stare at it.

Also, this is my first Ludum Dare Entry as well as my first gamejam entry ever. And I am very proud of myself.


Post-mortem --> http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/04/26/tetrator-postmortem/


Edit : I missed one line of code when I lowered the difficulty in the last hour and so the game was still way too hard... Fixed it !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#69Overall3.88
#76Fun3.83
#103Graphics4.02
#128Audio3.56
#141Theme3.90

Comments

DDisAlone says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:22pm

I really enjoyed playing this game :D (those are the cutest invaders EVER !!!)

Domicuc says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Heya, ! Dombee softworks here. I like your game, (graphics is really good) i like this style!:)
also check our game if u have some time. Have a great Czech day :D

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:12pm

I promise I will as soon as I get internet back on my computer ! Thanks for the vote and the kind words :D (your game looks pretty good too from the screenshots !)

phi6 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:43am

Great. So not only do I have to play Tetris, and not die in normal Tetris but now I have to keep an eye out for those invaders? And then I get distracted watching the lovely missile and explosions animation after I do a 4 line Tetris, only to realise I've forgotten that the next piece has fallen. Fucker. (Full marks btw!)

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:42pm

Interesting idea! Very fun to play until difficulty becomes too high. xD

thaaks says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:24pm

I loved the low level pixel style - very nice. Music was okay, kept the pressure up ;-) Was a bit annoying but somehow fit the theme. The color changing was also a nice idea and the gameplay itself too (finishing rows to bomb aliens).
I found the game speed going a bit too early too fast - was still trying to get used of the controls.

Nice game overall.

Junber says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Cool game. Nice visual effects and music. Very fun.

Jyrkface says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Retro mash-up brilliance plain and simple. Very enjoyable. For some reason the "tetris" facilities reminded me of NERV.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:37pm

I love it! But I find it really frustrating that the up arrow key doesn't rotate the tetramino, because I'm so used to it being that way.

Jajo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Very retro, annoying music. I'm bad at tetris, so yeah... Great game

Kate Kligman says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Enjoyed this! Loved watching the invaders advance. Great music and good use of color.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:32pm

THIS IS GREaT!
I really like the interpretation you made of the theme and had a lot of fun playing this version of tetris! Lot of anxiety! XD Well done!

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Really pretty to look at.

nassi says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Interesting mashup, even if the difficulty ramps up pretty fast. Took me some tries to get used to the controls and the fact that you could move the block while on the ground for so long. I guess my mind was already conditioned on how a tetris game should feel :P.

Nice juiciness and the minimalistic graphics worked. The screenshake could've been toned down just a tad though. Audio wasn't too bad either, but I can see (or rather hear?) it getting annoying after a while.

Really solid first entry, good job!

By the way, I don't think there's an easier way to get your controller supported by my game. I should've programmed it a bit differently to begin with, but oh well. Thanks for the interest though!

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:46pm

It's Tetris, with two ways to die. Well, I'll take it for what it is.

coderitual says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:16am

Hi! I've been playing little bit during twitch stream. Despite it's tetris it is different because of second death condition.

frosty says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:36am

While it's not completely original, I really like the retro style and execution of it.

jushii says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:02am

I suck at Tetris, so it got difficult for me really quickly! I enjoyed the overall presentation and anything didn't feel out of place. I got so panicky when the guys got near my turret!!! :D

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Love the visual style for this! I think the use of a puzzle game controlling the outcome of the battle was pretty unique as well - I just wish it wasn't tetris. Or at least, I wish there was something more unique added to the tetris formula. As far as tetris clones go, though, this was fun!

elpaulo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Already said to you what i think about the game on the stream, it's very very cool and original. Love it !

Vulture Tamer says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:58pm

good clone good clone! :-)

should have entried the 'mood' rating aswell!

flummox3d says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Awesome, though sometimes the screenshake is a bit distracting when I'm trying to stack the blocks fast :)

Pierrec says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Nice idea and great realisation.
I would have loved to give you complete feedback as you asked on twitter but I don't find much too say. It's just good. The only thing I can see that could make it better is to have the blocks move faster when pressing down. They seem to do, but not much. When you're used to Tetris gameplay and those fast falling bricks, this could be annoying. Plus, it would probably makes the game a bit easier since we're kinda fighting against the clock here!

yuigoto says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 4:54pm

That's a lovely game, for sure! :D As a Tetris lover, this was quite a fun game!
Gotta love the graphics style! Reminded me a lot of the handheld versions of tetris, some minigames and other fun goods from my childhood. :P

Soundtrack is AWESOME, BTW! :D

kyyrma says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 6:23pm

One of the best mashups this LD. Very polished, and a great first time jam! Congrats!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]