Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Area Weapon Domination

by terrykim426 - Jam Entry

====== DESCRIPTION ========
The weapon use area as its energy. The more tiles you occupied, the more powerful your units are with the amount of directly connected tiles.

Goal of this game, is to destroy all other towers. The only attackers are your units, which can be spawn if you rolled 2 dices of the same value.

The total value from the dices you get, allow your units to move around the board. Whichever tile the unit occupied, will belong that unit's tower.

You can only attack adjacent Tower or Unit. And you can only attack before you make a move. If you have already moved a unit, you won't be able to attack.

======= CONTROL =========
To move a unit, click on your unit, and then the adjacent tile.

To attack another unit/tower, click on your unit, and then the target unit/tower.

To move camera, hold A, D, Left arrow or Right arrow.

To zoom the camera, mouse scroll to zoom.


========== NOTE ==========
I originally intended to add AI for the opponents, but I didn't have time for that, so it ended up becoming a local multiplayer setting.

And I apologize for the lack of HUD.

There's a known bug where after you replay the game, the lighting color get somewhat strange...

And there's another bug where you can attack another unit after you move. That is not by design...

I'm having problem having the game to run on web broswer, so currently there's only standalone build for window. Sorry for the trouble.


====== CHANGLOG ========
- bug fixed for enabling hitting of other unit even after you have moved your own unit.
- linked up the Web GL version, hopefully it work nicely =)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#459Innovation(Jam)3.18
#676Graphics(Jam)2.95
#794Overall(Jam)2.88
#887Theme(Jam)2.68
#907Fun(Jam)2.45

Comments

ohai1 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:39pm

I think I would play it sometimes if it would be polished and ported to mobile devices :)

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:43pm

I think the concept is really cool. However, the lack of AI is a shame and made this hard to judge on my own. The constantly glowing blocks were quite distracting at times as well, they could do with being more subtle. With a bit more polish and AI this could be really fun!

-Hando

Bardikus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Nice graphics, orthographic camera has a small problem, it makes the square you play the game on a little distorted. A basic AI would have also worked to make a better impression.

Mak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:48pm

I really liked the idea behind the game, it forced you to think about how much space you want to move before attacking, wether or not to move into the enemies territory... It really is quite cool. If you work around it you can get something really cool, I think.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Pretty cool, I wasn't sure how to win though besides destroying the other team's attacking unit and hammering away at the tower while the other team idle'd.

terrykim426 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Thank you guys for the ratings and the constructive feedback =).

I'm a procrastinator, so this jam pushes me pretty good. If there are more people who like this concept, it might motivate me to push myself to work for a more polish version one day. =)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Interesting strategy game!

It's easy to get into a sort of deadlock though, after 10 minutes we were still not close to beat each other because every move you can make sure the other cannot effectively attack you on the next turn (unless you get really unlucky). Perhaps it would have been better if you could move and attack in the same turn.

ThirdMoon says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:09am

Tricky but Funny! =)

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Really good idea. Hard to judge without KI, but love it!

Hairein says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Interesting idea though I was a bit confused during turns starting with which side is mine and how the strategy shoudl be. I guess that comes with experience... Thanks!

Hemuuuli says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:33pm

I enjoyed just staring at the animated blocks.

gv1351 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:41pm

The game looks fun but couldn't get the player object to move

sorlok says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:46am

Cool idea; kind of hard to tap some of the spaces if a piece was obstructing the view. Good job!

Prowler says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Nice little game but it needs a bit tweaking on the numbers and some polishing on the graphics. But nevertheless, a good LD submit! Good job!

broknecho says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Pretty good start here! I think the controls need to be tightened up a little bit. Maybe allow you to move with the arrows might speed up the experience. Neat concept on the area control for your damage.

Good start! Keep at it!

th4t says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Pretty cool. Took me a while to understand that I can only attack if I don't move.
Without an AI this is hard to judge on my own since I could not really come up with any good strategies.
The HUD could use some work. I found it quite annoying to wait for the "dice" rolls.
Definitely an interesting concept that I could see working great on mobile.

BabaJaga says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:46pm

It feels unintuitive, it is not really clear from the first look what is happening. Once you learn the rules, it's pretty entertaining game.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Puzzles games are so fun to see in LD jams I think.
And this was both well designed. Great first step but keep working on it!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]