Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

SHAFTED

by richiebranson - Jam Entry

The object of this game is simple: revenge.

Unable to get over the fact that your boss just gave up your promotion to a hot girl in the mailroom, you've hatched a sweet, unconventional, murder plot on your unsuspecting boss.

Your weapons of choice? An elevator, a confusing and outdated maintenance program, and your skills behind the keyboard. Oh..and don't forget your webcam capturing your dastardly deeds...only this time, you're not recording a let's play video...you're making your very first let's slay™.

//End corny 90's era video game pitch.

Credits: All programming, music composition, & voiceovers done by Richie Branson.

(Developed in Unity 5 w/ Monodevelop C#, Voiceovers recorded in Avid Pro Tools, & Music composed in Cakewalk Sonar w/ various Orchestral VSTs.)

Some 3D assets licensed from outside sources.

Made and tested on a PC. Untested OSX and Linux ports available.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#7Audio(Jam)4.36
#99Mood(Jam)3.78
#116Theme(Jam)3.95
#155Innovation(Jam)3.68
#203Humor(Jam)3.49
#267Overall(Jam)3.52
#591Fun(Jam)2.95

Comments

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:52pm

Ha! Got immmmm! Well made and clever, really shows off what you dcould do with even more time. Audio was fantastic btw.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:54pm

The monologue introduction in itself makes the game. It's hilarious.

novadream says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:00am

Very dark theme! :)
Excellent voice acting and music, and I really liked the camera angles. Though the gameplay was a little simple and short.

diiq says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:30am

Great voice acting, great graphics -- a little anticlimactic if you manage to guess the right elevator too quickly -- but a great approach to the theme. Nice work!

Logicon says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:42am

I love puns :D

Aevek says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:43am

Really cool simple little game. Loved the voice-over.

Matt Tuttle says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:28am

Well that was dark. Great voice acting and graphics!

The overall game was simple and short but it fit the theme well.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:36am

Very stylishly presented, with great voice acting and music. I'd be interested to see if there could be more to do from the computer interface. It feels like the current version of the game is just the start of something bigger that we don't get to see (yet?). Nice work!

Docjekyll says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:20am

Very dramatic. Quite macabre.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:37am

Haha, I love the voice acting here. The gameplay is tense too, and I'm sure could be expanded on if you wanted to. What I'm saying is, cool game.

silentbaws says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:58am

I loved this! You should keep working on it I'd be interested in seeing what else you could do with this idea

andrewjoy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:14am

Nice production value :D More of a demo than a full game, but still a lot of fun.

Tortoise says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:19am

Dark theme and cool audio, I like.

Indiestry says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:57am

It was short, but it felt really polished considering it was made within 72h.

Gomango999 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:27am

The opening cut-scene/voice-over really set the theme, but it got a bit repetitive every single time I wanted to replay. Very nicely polished

Bsevers18 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:28am

Well put together, nice polish. The theme was pretty morbid and the dialog seemed a bit childish. Not really my cup of tea. But really nice level of quality throughout. Especially the audio

Gomango999 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:28am

The opening cut-scene/voice-over really set the theme, but it got a bit repetitive every single time I wanted to replay. Very nicely polished

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:19am

(+)Every worker stares at desktop page.
(+)Every computer has same wallpaper.
(+)Hacking from desktop page, that's new.
(+)Voice over.
(+)Dark music.
(-)Too short.

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Short but hilarious - loved it!

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Wow, nice! Settings is amazing. Would love to see different actions. But is a cool game!

kyyrma says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:25pm

There is very little of a game here, but the presentation is absolutely top notch. Also what the hell are you talking about amateurish voice acting in your post-mortem? That stuff is gold, it was hilarious.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Very well done, it is well polished and well presented.
Also the used the theme in a trully diferente way, congrats!

GarethIW says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Nice

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Wow, very complete 3D game here, I'm impressed. I liked the music, the voice over and how it created a shady atmosphere. And the idea is really unique too. I just think the system is a bit confusing overall but that's all. Nice experience ^^!

KaiseanGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:53pm

While the production is very good, it is sad to think what kind of moral state our world is in that we find killing amusing. We find entertaining things that all known laws prohibit. I have rated the game without this in mind, but, oh boy, do we need a reality check. Sorry for the honesty.

randoman says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:49pm

Very nice game. Loved the audio.

Hambone says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:15am

This was amazing! Thanks for your feedback BTW.

Big Cow says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Excellent! Really cinematic. I'd play an expanded version of this. Really good concept to be able to control things remotely via computer and see the results via video camera, I think the idea would sustain a full game.

andrewkennedy says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:36am

Wow, really great voice acting. Even though it took longer to download than it did to play through, I'm very glad I did. Pretty funny/dark premise.

Frenchie says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:48am

Short and sweet :)

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:48am

I have to applaud you for the unique theme interpretation. A short but sweet dark comedy to brighten up my day of rating LD games. "Let's Slay" made me grown with laughter. Gonna share this one with friends. Good job Richie!

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:49am

Grown? I meant groan. I'm not drunk right now I swoar.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:48am

The VO and the camera effect in the elevator make it feel REALLY profressional. Neat little idea for a game too. Very impressed with this!

Embalaje says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Nice job with the game. Cool graphics, cool music, cool voice.
Short but very effective gameplay.
Hey, what if you could hack the whole building? Make some comprimising photos with the webcam of the boss, send to his wife,conect the microphone to the building speakers, make the coffee machine throw more and more coffee...and when his life is a ruin, and everithing goes wrong...then the elevator!
revengeee!

chromebookbob says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 6:23pm

This is brilliant.

Boberro says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 6:16pm

It's not really a game, is it?
But still, you sir might have just shown me the way. You see - I'm an audio, let's say hobbyst, and I'm always so taken over the gamedev, that I leave audio department out. Maybe this is the way - to use free assets and fiddle around with sound.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 4:51am

i liked that more than i should have - fantastic!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]