Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Zombinball

by PanKamil - Jam Entry

It's a pinball with zombie slaughter!

In this game, your unconventional weapon is a pinball machine.
You'll need to defend yourself from continuous waves of zombies by smashing them with the ball.

Controls:
A - move left pad
L - move right pad

When you are done playing, post your highscore (ours is 415 points).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#24Theme(Jam)4.23
#164Innovation(Jam)3.67
#212Fun(Jam)3.49
#233Graphics(Jam)3.84
#313Overall(Jam)3.45
#389Humor(Jam)3.13
#395Mood(Jam)3.23
#439Audio(Jam)2.94

Comments

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Haha! Nice take on a combination of games.

Luke Nizik says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Good job - and in fact, they finished the game in 48 hours :)

mantis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:08am

Great iidea! Would love to see you expand on it, throw some special zombies, maybe ramps and buttons for the ball to hit that activate abilities, like in real pinballs, but with ZOMBIE KILLING!

maunovaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Cool game. Thanks for making this, I haven't played binball's in ages.. they used to be really popular genre back in the days. :P!

benjamck says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:22am

Great game. I got up to 390! Loved the little zombie noises. Clever take on the theme. Well done.

DKoding says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Fun mix of mechanics. Controls felt a bit sluggish at times making it hard to time the flippers. Good game with a lot of potential.

MFEP says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Really liked this one (score over 600), it's extremly satisfying to squash a dozen zombies with a single strike. There is serious potential here, e.g. by introducing several new zombie species or bonuses (powerups) on the pinball table

PanKamil says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:07am

Thank you very much for your feedback, it's so nice to know you like it :D. We will definately keep working on that project.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Good use of the theme, this was a lot of fun. Great job!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Nice use of the theme, also the game physics Works pretty nice, good job.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:52am

I love pinball and hate zombies, so this was great! You really got a good pinball feel here in such a short space of time. Nice models, lighting and mood as well.

Ithildin says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:59am

Cool idea! It has potential to be expanded with more zombie types, new bumpers and other elements for the pinball table. Well done!

01101101 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:01am

Love the idea, and it's executed well too! :D
I feel like the flippers are a bit hard to time and maybe lack some punch, but the game is still pretty fun :) Well done! My score on the first try was 138. Let us know if you work on it some more in the future :)

yuigoto says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:17am

Loved the idea! The graphics style remembered me, a little bit, of the ProPinball series, which I loved to play (still love).

The ball feels a little bit heavy though. Or maybe it's just me. :P

th4t says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:35am

Cool spin on the theme.
The controls felt a little laggy for me and I had a hard time judging if the pad would hit the ball, probably because of the shadows confusing me.
The animations and sound effects are great :)

Mouch says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:51am

Nice and crazy Idea! Nice graphics!
I love Pinball... but this is a bit hard to controll.

Good job mate!

vortex says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:03pm

The controls feel so smooth! Loved it

SiENcE says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:22pm

How cool is that, a pinball game in a gamejam. This is one of the best ideas how to deal with the theme. Great!

FeniX says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Funny idea! Nice graphics and sounds, you might think about a background music. There is much place to do some nice improvements, like ball speedup after killing multiple zombies in one shot, more bouncy walls in such event, etc. I hope you will continue after LD. :)

eott says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Great game! It's funny and well made. Unfortunately the starting corridor has a slight bump which causes the ball to jump over the paddles. Other than that, the controls worked fine.

mr_tag says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:16pm

nice one! i had a lot of fun playing.

at score 600 i was thinking: this is way too easy! and then it hit me: i started the game on easy :) restarted on very hard and got to 280 points. but aside from the waves getting longer there was no progression in difficulty... if you made the zombies faster with every wave, it would get more interesting while playing.

but it's a fun game and i'm sure that with a little bit of diversity it would even sell as a small indie title!

renatopp says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:19pm

I have to say that I wasn't expecting that would be so good to play this one. You can fell the weight of the ball and the paddles, a winner touch in my opnion. The game itself isn't much, but I would love to see a full version of this (especially with a better scenario). Great game, congratulations.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:25pm

I like it, however I do think the ball and flippers feel very heavy. Otherwise, good stuff!

ambi says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Brilliant! Other than the flippers feeling a bit too heavy as other people said, I have no complaints at all. Great idea and a great implementation.

Shivur says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Very good idea and nice graphics!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Strange games combinaison, but it's good enough. Well done ++

Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:09pm

I got to about 300 before getting a bit bored, but still a good game and a cool idea. Very nice graphics and solidly put together. Nice job!

Jagang says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:41pm

The interpretation of the theme is brilliant, I must smile while playing it :)

Lyje says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Nice, good fun :) Physics could use work though - pinball games live or die on their physics IMO and it's not quite there yet. A big first step would be increasing the responsiveness of the flippers - they feel very spongey.

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:03pm

This is a great idea and a lot of fun to play. I agree with some of the earlier commenters that the physics feel a little off.

Now you just need some kicking zombie tunes and sound FX.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]