Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Sivo: Trial of the Lava God

by rattower - Compo Entry

A little platformer using a flute as it's main mechanic.

Controls:
A/D ................ Walk
Space .............. Jump
Shift .............. Run
Left Ctrl/Mouse .... Play Song
TAB ................ Switch Song

Created for #LDJAM 32

Hints:
* Make a leap of faith.
* If someone is bigger than you, you might have to cheat in order to win.


----- Changelog (22.04.15, 1:30) -----

* Packed the source into a single file.


----- Changelog (20.04.15, 14:30) -----

* Added downloads for OSX and Linux. Fingers crossed these actually work.


----- Changelog (20.04.15, 13:39) -----

* Fixed a null pointer reference that froze the game
* Switched out two corrupted soundfiles that messed with the audio
* Added "Running" to the control instructions on the title screen

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#324Graphics3.44
#535Audio2.73
#546Innovation3.12
#562Mood2.92
#597Humor2.63
#608Theme3.28
#658Overall3.06
#800Fun2.77

Comments

generic_ghost says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:30am

Really cool. I loved the graphics and the idea. I wish you could jump a little higher though, I wasn't able to jump on the platform on the third part.

rattower says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:44am

You can jump higher by running (shift). I actually forgot to mention that on the control instructions in yesterday's submit. Added that along with some bugfixes.

NuSan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Cool game. I like the character and playing with music. It took me a while to learn that you can run. The ending was a bit tedious, but the graphics made it realy cool. Keep up the good work!

martymon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:12pm

There is a part where you can't jump whilst on the platform. Was this intended?

Pierrec says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:12pm

I liked what I've played so far but got stuck reaaaally soon, at the thirs screen. playing the music didn't open the door nor moved the platform. And Tab to change song didn't work (probably because I didn't have another song). Is there something I missed?

ccglp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Really good graphics, good work!

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:02pm

interesting concept. jump mechanic needs a little work, but overall a nice entry. well done.

Nysten says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Pretty fun little game! Liked the concept on this one :) It got stuck on the third screen though. Couldn't finish it.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Loved the graphics and mechanic, but agree with others saying you should be able to move faster and jump higher. Even with shift to run (why not make that the default speed?) it was a bit frustrating to make simple jumps. I would definitely like to see more in this art style though, and the mechanic was really solid.

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Fun game, though I forgot about sprint and when I got to the room with the 2 platforms I just couldn't do it until I read the sprint thing. The boss felt a bit slow, I think one bomb would have been enough (waiting for the cup when you miss a shot is torturous. but fun all the same. GG

Static 64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:08pm

I encountered lots of glitches where I would get stuck, lose myself off-screen, or move way to quickly (clipping through walls, not just running).

However, it was fun while it was working, the concept is interesting and the graphics are great.

ajopart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Great entry !

Sogomn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Illuminati confirmed.

Mimus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:14pm

I play the game and I find it too difficult in a first approach, after it goes alone to when we understood.
(Google Translate, I'm French)

Jagang says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:15pm

I really like the visuals :)
checkpoints were a bit harsh in my opinion and the jumping felt a bit clunky at times.

colludium says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Fun idea! I got stuck on the 3rd or 4th screen - playing music didn't bring out the platform and I could do nothing but die... (in IE11). Good work and graphics!!

rattower says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:45pm

A little hint for those who got stuck in the third room.

Make a leap of faith and use your terrific musical skills while doing so.

nuprahtor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:48pm

C-cute!..
Although, sometimes I couldn't jump, the button just doesn't work, I had to respawn at the check point to be able to jump again.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:16pm

This must be a illuminati game haha
The game were really challenging.

Jungle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:54pm

I really love the idea. Lacks of music (for a game with music as main theme). Controls are good. Use the flute to interact with objects is very cool. I got stuck on the 4th screen. Add some textures and GUI, it will be a great game!

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:57pm

I like the wheellike feet, as a programmer i think it's a good solution to making feet animations. The game itself is nice, love the character artstyle, biggest complaints i have, are that the jump is not high enough, and that the sound of the flute is not very melodic.

Keep up the good work :D

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:57pm

This game was really unusual, but I liked it! I liked using music as a weapon, and the character itself was weird, but in a good way. Fun game.

mokujin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Got to the room where big spheres falling in a lava, and didnt manage to pass throug. Overall cool graphics and looking game

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:29am

This is a neat world and I really like the simple art style. There seems to be a lot of little tweaky control issues but I was able to solve a few puzzles before I got stuck. The walk animation is pretty innovative there certainly not a lot of games where you roll along like that. It simplifies manny things. Tootaloo!

Tork says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:32am

The idea is great, the audio and design isn't.
I would have liked a better audio loop and a real change between songs, I mean it is so short that it gets boring fast and the second loop is not different.

From the design I would like to be able to pass the game without losing if I know what to do but there are some high jumps that you won't be able to save on the first jump even if you are doing it right. That and the "running" is still a little slow, it was hard to go between the falling bombs and I was about to rage quit. Still got to finish it but had a lucky jump.

hexdie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:44am

Very cool idea! I liked the concept and the main character. The music was a silly (which I liked) but it got annoying quickly. The controls also could have probably been set up differently. It was pretty hard to control. Still, cool idea!

Fanttum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:51am

Nice idea, and thought it worked really well. Looks also really sweet. Kinda clunky at times, but was still really fun.

Sean says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:46am

It's a nice idea, but I found the controls to be fairly frustrating.

MightyToast says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:20am

Really out there, I love it! Great take on the theme. The puzzles were quite clever too :)

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:26am

doesnt work on chrome

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:56am

I love the art style

Matt Tuttle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:08am

Love the art style! I got stuck where the two platforms alternate when you play music because I couldn't jump high enough. It might be an issue with OSX?

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:18am

Pretty keen mechanic, though I wish there were more songs.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:53am

Hahaha, i like the style of the character. well done mate :)

EwChap says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:01am

Love the character art (especially how you have it walk.

cgmorton says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:03am

I don't have much to say, other than it bugged me that your wheel legs flip around when you change direction. It seems incongruous with the world you were trying to build.

Mark T says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:29am

Definitely one of my favorites so far! The only gripe I could have is that it could use some ambient sounds + music. But seriously, this is really well done. Clean and crisp graphics, lots of good puzzles. I didn't particularly like the jump over the pit with balls falling on your head part. But I think the speed and jumping are quite good as they are. Great work =)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:48am

Nice game! The character is a bit hard to control, but the visuals are pretty!

Ossi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:59am

Good use of the theme and a very nice and simple art style. Good job!

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:05am

Really like the mechanics, would be awesome if there's longer gameplay and some more puzzle

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:19am

Haha Great to see a well polished game. Sweet feelings playing it, concept is interesting and game feels complete.

peterkirk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:04pm

I thought some of the jumping was more difficult than necessary and repeating some parts over become tedious. I liked what you did with the visuals of the game.

LuckyCassette says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Best horn tooting game I've ever played.

nov1kk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Cool!nice work!

JakeL168 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Made the leap of faith, couldn't make it.

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Looked very cool, and I liked the unturned style graphics, just materials, no textures.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Yeah nice interpretation of the theme! I really like the gameplay and the art, minimal and clean, is perfect! Well done! :D

BabaJaga says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Jumping felt odd. Sometimes I pressed space and nothing happened-

parity_b1t says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:03pm

awesome entry. graphics was really good. gameplay was fun and kept interest

BermudaCake says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:06pm

The tune really made it. Hanging around on the ledge above the boss was the easiest way to beat it! gg.

SadSmile says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Great game, but i didnt like the music. But thats just me .D

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Really dig your graphics

jukimv1986 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Good graphics and nice concept. Good work!

guoboism says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Maybe nice idea and graphic. But too buggy for me (kind of move one step back suddenly)

fixitteam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:44pm

interesting idea and quite funny :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:08pm

I like the minimalist graphics, and the concept of using a flute to control the scene, but I think I've probably had way too many mini-heart attacks with those jumps, and not just because of the distance but because my jump didn't always register.

SuperMsp10 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Controls felt a bit sticky but other than that great job

eddynardo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:28pm

The jump button is a little bit bugged.Really good graphics and sound.The idea is preety innovative,but i couldnt finish it cause the movement was abit weird!

Miziziziz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:32pm

The jump is really aggravating; I don't know how you're doing a groundcheck, but this would be a lot better if it was reliable. (if you're raycasting for a groundcheck, try using spherecast instead)

the exploding ball at the boss doesn't respawn when you die or if you miss, making the game unwinnable it seems.
Another thing, the jump sound doesn't really fit with the sound of the trumpet.
Criticisms aside, I like the idea, the art isn't bad(run animation is good :) ), and it plays well once you get past the jump issues.

steboots says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:30am

This was fun to play, an improvement to the flute would be nice, but overall nice experience.

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:19am

Very ambitious, and a couple of truly genius puzzles in there. Overall very solid. The very occasional platforming difficulty, but never enough to detract from the experience.

lucidsheep says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:22am

a little clunky on the controls, but great aesthetic and idea. that boss was a bit of a chore, not sure 3 hits was necessary.

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:33am

The mystery of what is going to happen when I play the horn is really cool.

Vidsneeze says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:31am

Cool Game! i really liked the boss battle.

strega says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:41am

Not bad! I loved the character and his feet! The controls could feel a bit better, jumping was especially hard at times.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:56am

interesting idea! wish it were longer. the flute sound gets irritating after awhile. i just stayed at the top platform at the boss. cool art!

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:27am

Fun concept!

iamwhosiam says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:11pm

very peculiar game. i got stuck on the big boss though, I couldn't figure out how to get the marble in the cup to fall before i died, then when i got back there again the marble was gone.

strong99 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:36pm

I liked the game, especially the magic music that is needed to get you further. :)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Cool mechanic and really nice art style!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:07pm

those little legs. lovem.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:01pm

I'm always blown away that people can throw together functional, visually adept games in 48 hours. Making me feel lazy.

Bensonance says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Very cool entry, I really liked how different it dared to be. Great graphics and sound. Well done

GarethIW says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:05pm

nice, clean graphics, I could not jump at the same point on the second sliding bridge though :(

CH

esayitch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Concept is fine, graphics are nice, music played by the flute is all right, the only thing that needs a bit of tweaking is the jumping IMO xD Feels quite floaty. Maybe also to get the theme to feature more in the gameplay aside from just swapping weapons/songs. Aside from that, pretty cool! Good luck :)

ironleonem says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:16am

Needs tightening up on controls, and perhaps a better jump. Loved the idea, really fun to play! Graphics were great :)

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:20am

I found the canonballs too hard to get past, felt like I was missing something? Cool graphics though

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:03am

Very nice, a little glitchy on movement, but love the artwork!

hbocao says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:28am

Very interesting concept! I really liked the art style too. The controls are a little bit unconventional, to play the second song would be better with Right Mouse Button. The songs got a little annoying over time, but it's ok for the time constraints. You did a nice job overall!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:59am

i really liked this game - great use of theme - and i finished it!

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:58am

Nice. I'd like to not have to hold Shift to run. Maybe hold Shift to walk instead? Although, it doesn't seem like walking is useful in this game.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:56am

Really good concept and mechanic, nice graphics as well.

abuzreq says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Loved it !

phi6 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:27am

The graphics/modelling is great! Physics feel a little glitchy at times, but generally got a really nice "Monument Valley" type vibe to it. I wish the "song" was a little more melodic though haha!

MaesK says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:53am

Nice idea! Controls are a bit hard, but the puzzles with the music were pretty great. A bit difficult at the beginning too, as the player needs to make a jump of faith to advance, and the button to run is not comfortable to use. Nevertheless, it's a great game

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 2:20pm

I actually like how this game looks, but I wish there was more going on with the audio. and that the "flute" sounded more like a flute, less like a dying trumpet.

jk5000 says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 5:53pm

I think the idea is good and it has the potential to be a really good game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]