Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Terraforming Blues

by jordinuco - Jam Entry

YOU'RE A TERRAFORMER, YOU KNOW?
There where times where terraformers where brave pioneers, but now... things have changed.

This new planet is full of killer robots! And the only weapon you find is an alien cannon that only obeys to music!

Run to your spacecraft, grab your Casiotone(R) and good luck!

CONTROLS: Try the keys shown on screen. Don´t forget the rythm! 100% guaranteed you´ll finish hating reggaetoblues!

IMPORTANT!! Use the Web link to give it a glance, but if you want to play use better the Windows version (GameMaker HTML5 export module didn´t do the work as well as I´d have liked to). Not an installer, just an exe.

TOOLS:
- Development: GameMaker
- Sound/Music:
+ Garage Band
+ Audacity
+ Bfxr
- Graphics (ehem ehem)
+ Gimp

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#365Audio(Jam)3.10
#538Humor(Jam)2.82
#684Theme(Jam)3.13

Comments

jordinuco says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:36am

Try the Windows EXE if you really want to play a little bit

jordinuco says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:57am

*************BUG FIXED*******************************
Now you can read the game story and play it on Chrome!!!

But... NO SOUND ON EXPLORER!!!! Unplayable on explorer.

jordinuco says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:37am

*************BUGS FIXED*******************************

PLAYABLE ON EXPLORER!!!
- It sounds
- Keys disappear when you win/lose

Diventurer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:41pm

This is really fun and genius, but it's really hard!! :D

psychonull says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Great idea! Terraformation completed so fast but enjoyed the mood.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Runs great on chrome on linux! was good fun!

zakchaos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Had a hard time figuring out the controls and once i did, the rhythm was weird to catch, and it seemed to work better just spamming the buttons, cool concept but needs more work,

vvolis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Waaaay funnier than I expected! Great mechanic, and good job with audio(5/5) really fitting in. Would prefer movement on WASD not ASDF, but then again giving another theme star for that :)

Hemuuuli says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:52pm

It was enjoyable. Looping music would make it even better.

ss64games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Haha, I could not get the hang of the controls of this game. Had to spam buttons and hope things worked out. Mapping to WASD or indicating what each button letter does visually would help. I'm still not sure if I was supposed to be hitting keys in rhythm or matching particular keys to different pitches? Maybe making this indicated by an animation like most rhythm games do would help a lot. Really like the idea of a clunky awkward shooter built around having to stay in rhythm, just needs a lot of work on the controls.

generic_ghost says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Challenging game and very innovative. I had fun just pressing the keys along to the music without even shooting anything. Good job.

scumbly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Clever game with a lot of personality. Like other commenters I had a bit of trouble knowing when to push which key -- maybe a brief demonstration could start the game off?

jukimv1986 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:54pm

hahaha great story, not so great gameplay. You chose your rating categories wisely, as the audio is great and the take on the theme original. Well done, well done.

dos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Haha, very cool idea, love it!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Gosh, this is really hard. Very well executed with the rythm stuff!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:50pm

The controls were quite hard, I kept forgetting which key would do what. But after a while I had fun listening to the music that I made while destroying robots. :)

Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Quite difficult, honestly, and I didn't quite get the rhythm element right off.

gnx says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Played the web version. Game is really hard, but I think there is potential in the mechanic at least :)

Larry says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:53pm

I played the web version. I like the intro music. The game itself is difficult until I went off the screen. After I got hit, it said terraformation complete. Visual cues for the rhythm would be good.

ito123456789 says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 11:37am

Hard to play. Good take on the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]