Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Coloring World

by SowiHowl - Jam Entry

Coloring World is a platform game.
You control a character in a strange planet with a special helmet.
His helmet is a special weapon that can activate color platforms and transform the world.

The objective is to explore this world to find an exit. But nothing is always as we can think...

Beware of the gaps and pikes...

Control keys :

A - Red platforms (Q on Qwerty keyboards)
Z - Yellow platforms (W on Qwerty keyboards)
E - Blue platforms
Arrow keys to move and up arrow or spacebar to jump

Sorry for the problem on Qwerty keyboards... It makes the game a little bit harder to play...

---------------------------------------------------

Post-Jam edit : We added according to the comments new keyboard controls :
A or Q - Red platforms
Z or W - Yellow platforms
E - Blue platforms
Up or Spacebar - jump

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#446Innovation(Jam)3.20
#514Graphics(Jam)3.31
#554Audio(Jam)2.62
#574Overall(Jam)3.15
#602Fun(Jam)2.93
#646Humor(Jam)2.59
#714Mood(Jam)2.78
#950Theme(Jam)2.49

Comments

funisfun8 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Well done! This game is innovative and fun. The graphics are also brilliant! The death messages mocking you were actually quite funny instead of annoying or frustrating. The controls were odd at times(maybe the color controls should have been Q,W,R instead of Z,A,E.) they felt kind of odd on a QWERTY keyboard. The level design was also very good. Overall wonderful job!

NoNiMad says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Nice concept but a bit hard to play ! Also, during all my playing session i was like "Why the jump isn't on space bar ?" ^^

Dustician says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:45am

The Qwerty commands didn't work for me and Azerty controls are kind of awkward

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:52am

Interesting concept. The main character's pose somehow reminds me of Megaman Zero.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:52am

Impressive graphics and interesting mechanic.

The controls are extremely awkward, though.

Infernobomb says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:31am

I liked those graphics and the idea was cool but I did find it was a challenge to play. But I like challenges good job!

andrewjoy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:32am

The controls were a bit frustrating but cool idea all the same. Good job.

Mixer says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:45am

This has a very, very, very striking game play closeness to my game I made two LD's ago, the one before super jeff. It is identical mechanic.

Anyway, your game was great, I immidiently knew how to play. The visible cooldown bars were great too. The background and graphics were nice too. The background didn't have the same style as the foreground, which was off putting at first but didn't bother me too much. Enjoyed alot, thanks!

simon.parzer says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:45am

Music and Sound volume at zero by default? Some people are going to miss that.
I like the game, it should have more levels. The spikes in the last level have a frustrating collision mask, makes you think you die before even touching them.

gormed says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:46am

Hard to play with Keyboard, hard to keep the keys the first time, maybe reduce color count at the beginning. The concept reminds me a bit of my own :)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:55pm

nicee

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:53pm

I really like the art, especially the main character (and how their visor changes color). The controls were a bit awkward, but once I got used to them, I was able to enjoy the entire game. Nice work!

Smiley says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:50pm

RGB had been easier to remember :) apart from that a great game.

Victor RENE says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Okay, nice execution. But a platformer that you want to be challenging needs "tight" controls. Why not put the speedup on R or F? You could even use spacebar for speedup and let us use up arrow to jump. Also don't ask to be rated on audio if there are none. Nice work =)

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Cool concept and cool game ! The controls are actually pretty fun I think :3

LoneStranger says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:51am

Interesting concept. You have to think on two different levels. Not sure I could train my brain to think properly, but maybe it's related to the controls? I'm used to moving with my left, and doing actions with my right, and this is opposite of that. Regardless, it's a neat idea and I could see it being a good action-puzzler.

Marcus316 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Lots of fun! I like the mechanic. Sometimes, though, it felt like too many buttons, which made it harder than it felt like it should have been.

Overall great game, though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]