Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Don't Choke!

by Big Cow - Jam Entry

Help Stanley get back at the school bully by defeating him in a rap battle!

This is the first game I've ever released. I recently quit my job to work full time making my own point-and-click adventure game, and saw the Ludum Dare as an opportunity to get some practice and feedback.

Dialogue can be skipped through by clicking anywhere on the screen.

Made using Adventure Creator and Unity.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#17Humor(Jam)4.17
#93Fun(Jam)3.76
#122Theme(Jam)3.93
#181Overall(Jam)3.63
#188Innovation(Jam)3.63
#248Audio(Jam)3.34
#288Mood(Jam)3.39
#424Graphics(Jam)3.49

Comments

Suese says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:12pm

That's great. Love the crowd. It goes a little too fast at first. Maybe should ease into it.

WebFreak001 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Add a Download link pls, i cant play it because the unity web plugin sucks

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Pretty Funny Rap Lines, I lost by one point! Good game!

Domicuc says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:16pm

MC FIDO XDD.. good game man :D it was fun. Also check my project if u have some time x)

Borkleby says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Wonderful! My only complaint is that there is basically no sound except for the epic rap music from the ref.

P. S. - Stanley's grandma is da BOMB.

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:20pm

*mellow* YEAH */mellow*

Concept is solid, execution is lovely, looks nice and just just overall is quite lovely.

Dungeonation says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:21pm

This game is actually really good! I had a lot of fun figuring out how to rhyme last-minute, and I actually won on my first try playing. This should be a full length game, man! Nice job!!

Shared says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Very fun game, that pimp-ass grandma yo !
Also, nice beatbox lol

Linus123xbb says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:27pm

This game gives you a good mood and is very funny to play. Although it turns out I suck at rhymes..

Calvin B says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Very clever and unique game mechanic. I also really liked the use of multiple dialogues.

WebFreak001 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Download doesnt work. It says there should be a LD32_PCbuild_Data folder next to it.

Big Cow says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Thanks WebFreak001 - I've fixed that :)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Haha, that was so much fun, that beat will be on my mind all day!

WebFreak001 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:31pm

It was a really nice game. I really enjoyed the sound effects. Was a bit short though

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:07am

Love the grandma, love the concept. The tutorial was a bit fast and I had to learn at the battle, but it was a lot of fun.

jukimv1986 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Yeah! Amazing concept and take on the theme. There should be more games like this.

boateye says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Great entry! I was about to comment on the lact of sound, but the fact that there's humorous beat boxing at the main meat of the game lended more importance to it, and it set the tone for the battle. My only request is to add keyboard support and have the highlight start in the middle of the 3 options. or allow us to just hit 1, 2, or 3 for an option. The fact that the cursor hides itself makes me lose track of it, and i have to spend a good .5-1 second figuring out where it is so i can move it to the right choice.

Overall, 5 stars across the board.

Jagang says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:26pm

great idea for this theme! Just the choices disappeared a bit too quick for me

benjamck says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Very clever take on the theme. Loved the soundtrack, too ;)

BlakeB says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:28am

Cute, short, pixel graphics, beatboxing, great game.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:32am

Loved the beat boxing and crowd cheers. Was a funny, well executed entry, good job!

richiebranson says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:33pm

hah, as a rapper, I approve this game. Seriously though, very innovative concept.

DrZanuff says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:43pm

Loved the game! "SPOILER" and the shock to discover that Stanley really killed my father... gosh. Seriously now, i loved the beat box!

Garris says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:13am

This game was really fun! I would have liked to be able to see my mouse on the screen before it was time to choose my rhyme. It threw off my timing on a few and made me lose. But I really liked this game!

Paulozz says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:11am

This is so COOL!!!!

mildmojo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:26am

It was a bit of a panic to find the cursor and get it to the right word on time each round.

Cool idea to use timed dialogue trees as the core gameplay. Simple, but effective. The rap sound effects were amusing and the character graphics looked good. Congrats on your first game!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:48pm

That was hilarious, well done mate! Good luck on your adventure game!

PlasmaErnst says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:00am

SWEET game! Very rounded. Its was a little too fast for me though.

ThirdMoon says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Great Game! Funny story and innovative mechanics! I really enjoyed it! =)

Smirnov48 says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 1:07am

Nice game. I think you need more music, to be perfect. And also it sometime it's too

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]