Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

HK-21

by stevenlr - Compo Entry

In a world ravaged by war, you, young scientist, must bring the general some HK-21, a gas your team has developed, to end the war without further losses. At least that's what he said...

Explore old abandoned drone-infested labs filled with useless metal crates and acid, find secrets, and maybe discover the truth. Use your magnetic devices to make your way through the levels (without crushing your head too hard of course ;)).

Gameplay:
Use the attractor and the repeller to move metal crates and bullets around.
Make your way through the levels without stepping into acid or crushing your face with crates.
Look for secret items.

WARNING: The game should run with Java 1.7, but some users have reported compatibility issues when using Java < 1.8.

Git repository : https://github.com/stevenlr/LudumDare32
Timelapse : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t2Tzde3nb70

Controls:
- Move : A-D
- Action : S
- Jump : Space
- Restart level : R
- Toggle music : M
- Select slot : 1-2-3-4 or mouse wheel
- Launch device : left mouse click

Libraries used:
- Jorbis
- Jogg
- EasyOgg
- Waffle (https://github.com/stevenlr/Waffle)

Software:
- IntelliJ Idea
- GIMP
- Reason

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#85Overall3.83
#152Theme3.88
#165Fun3.62
#175Audio3.41
#199Mood3.42
#218Innovation3.63
#377Graphics3.35

Comments

kidanger says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Very fun to play. I love how the weapons interact with the crates (flying crates, yeay). I beat the game twice to discover the secret and have a different ending.
Levels are well-designed but you could have added some vertical levels too.
Solid entry! :)

Goutye says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:05pm

I got a lot of fun with your game! I love the weapons (Attraction, expulsion) and the physics of your world. Flying crates are possible and if we abuse of it, we can die under the floor (funny ;o) ). I played two times to see the different ending! Praise the knife.
Definitely a game I would like to have more levels because it was really fun! <3
Impressive.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:29pm

I absolutely love the small puff of smoke effect when you toss the attractor. Plenty of spelling mistakes in the intro, but that is a minor detail.

cgmorton says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:28pm

I'd like to see more of this game. The interaction with the attractor and repulsor was fascinating, and I can see the idea being applied to more situations and items.

I did get crushed a few times by glitchy physics, but I guess that's the price you pay for a great game like this.

Hamsternator says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Great entry. I'm super impressed that you managed to create an interesting puzzle mechanic, three endings and an effective story in these 48 hours =)

Hectate says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Fascinating ideas in here, but they feel marred by clunky platforming controls. Maybe that's the point, to force you to rely on your tools, but it's still a bit frustrating. I'd love to see a refined version of this.

jacketsj says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Well polished with minimal glitches, well done sir! Side note: I'm not sure if it's intentional, but the game sometimes prevents me from jumping. Level 3 seems to require jumping (without the abuse of glitches), so I don't think it is.

stevenlr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:24pm

jacketsj: this is indeed a rare bug that happens mostly when standing on mobile objects. Waiting a little bit between each jump when possible may help you in that regard.

hercludes says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Suffered from quite a bit of lag at some points, and the theme barely fit, but other than that it was a lot of fun. I actually got all three endings (unless there were more), which is to say, you had me hooked through and through. Nice job.

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:27pm

I really liked the smoothness and gameplay itself, it was well done and had some good puzzles!

RoryD says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Good humor, mellow soundtrack. It took me a while to figure out that I needed to throw the attractor and then press action to move the crates.

The levels are well set up to force you to learn each mechanic. The jumping felt a little off to me, and I got stuck inside the crates quite a few times. I can see that with some polish, this could be a really fun game.

Sim says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:46pm

I really enjoyed this. Moving boxes and bullets around was satisfying. Getting the physics on groups of boxes working was ambitious but the amusing results make up for it. Having an intro and ending(s!) made it feel complete.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Cool entry, would have been nice to have moved with the boxes when you were attracting them but other than that I had fun :D Nice music too, set the moood

careless says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Very fun indeed! Some crazy outcomes from throwing the boxes about.

Got stuck on level 8.

Really well made in such a short time with some really cool mechanics!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Nice job! The game feels very complete. Although the pushing and pulling weapons were a tiny bit buggy at some few parts, they were fun to play with. Props to you for also giving the game a story. It was small and simple, but it actually made me care about my final decision at the end.

kunzbe says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Stabbed him ;) great entry. had a lot of fun. has potential for more

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:03pm

That was pretty awesome, the mechanic was interesting and i enjoyed the multiple endings. :)
I wasn't too fond of the character controls though, it felt a bit stiff. Otherwise well put together!

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:16am

The main puzzle mechanics are great! I really enjoyed playing this through to the end (or one of them at least). The character controls can be a bit frustrating, but this could be remedied with more horizontal control in the air and a higher jump height. Awesome work!

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Super fun! You had me entertained until the very end. Figuring out I could destroy the turrets with their own bullets was a real "whoah" moment for me.

agmcleod says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Very well done, everything felt quite polished. If i could give one criticism it was the jump. Sometimes it would be slow to respond or not respond when i would expect it to, leading me to die in acid a few times :)

Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Really enjoyed this! Controls are a bit clunky overall and the physics can be glitchy, but the core mechanic is unique and fun and the music was great. For 48 hours I am very impressed!

Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Great game! An entire story and 9 puzzlicious levels is impressive.

slowfrog says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Short but with the right amount of difficulty. The mechanics are interesting to play with. Good entry.

siryakko says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Really nice concept, i really loved it, you should continue working on it to add levels and such :)

jprogman says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Love the concept of manipulating things with two kinds of forces.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]