Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

RL

by retr0verse - Jam Entry

RL is a dungeon crawler where your weapons deal no damage.

dodge past enemies using your most deadly weapon: timing and skill!


USED:
GAMEMAKER STUDIO - Development
PHOTOSHOP - Art & Animation
AUDACITY - Audio Editing


by the way you will need gameMaker studio to open source files.

update 1:
fixed inverted lighting bug
update 2:
fixed level tracking bug introduced in last update

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#109Mood(Jam)3.75
#214Fun(Jam)3.48
#398Overall(Jam)3.36
#427Graphics(Jam)3.48
#616Innovation(Jam)2.95
#764Humor(Jam)2.35
#777Theme(Jam)2.95
#1713Coolness39%

Comments

phi6 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Thanks for commenting on my entry! The links work now if you still want to check out Nuclear Autumn. Had a go on your game - trickier to survive than I expected! Great use of pathfinding as a mechanic.

Tridecimal says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Good game. I only managed to get to level 4 though. It was pretty tense every time there was a branching path because I knew I was either going to die or continue. Enemies are great at trapping. Good job on the graphics and fantastic music.

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:54am

the fog of war builds great tension. Love the artwork.

phi6 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Hey, I fixed the issues with clipping now, thanks for trying it out again! Sorry to bug you on Twitter and stuff but your reports were useful :)

Hambone says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:59am

Take all my stars. Music was amazing.

Squidtank says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:09am

This is a great game! My hand hurts from the anxiety and quick tapping but it's worth it. The music and art is great. Good job!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:30am

Does RL stand for Real Life?

Because Real Life was never this scary.

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:40am

I liked how music encourages you to tap the living **** out of your WASD keys. I was able to pass through the ghosts a couple times.

My longest run: 5 levels, I know there are not many different ones but running away from the monsters makes it hard to recall the layouts of the levels, good job there!

bace1000 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:09am

That was awesome! Very challenging, but so much fun; I liked the graphics as well!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:20am

Hard as hell, but great fun! The game gave a real sense of terror and pressure, though it would be nice if it didn't tire out your hands so much!

elpaulo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Very hard ! But music and gameplay are cool. Pixel graphics are awesome, love them.

pkenney says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:38pm

Mood was great, gameplay was tense with fast careful tapping but felt a litle unfair. I played 20 times without seeing stairs, then the next time the stairs were right there.

Loved the feel of just barely sneaking by, you nailed the core experience.

johnnwfs says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:16am

Good game. Interesting dark/light handling.

JDAivaliotis says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 1:14am

Loved the music! Made it to level 4 with a whole bunch of luck.

Zephyrus_15 says ...
May 20, 2015 @ 9:01am

I played your game, its really bad ewan ur still trying to make games...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]