Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

SPACE LOVERS?

by spreadtheflow - Jam Entry

A Space couple go on a mission to fight a notorious monster.

This is a singleplayer coop game ... it means you control both spaceships with one controller.

You need to grab 4 colored circles in order to complete a sequence and activate it. There is 16 differents sequences to play with.
If you manage to complete the same sequence with the two different spaceships you can activate a super sequence.

** YOU NEED A GAMEPAD TO PLAY **

Left stick : move blue spaceship
Right stick : move pink spaceship
Left trigger : activate blue spaceship sequence
Right trigger : activate pink spaceship sequence


** Credits **

Music : Psychoocean by Chromastranger
https://www.jamendo.com/en/list/a138448/pchychoocean

That was my first Ludum Dare, didn't had time to make music and sound myself and the final result is not exactly what I was aiming for, it lacks of scoring, polish and some other features, but all in all it was fun and I've learned a lot!

Have fun!

Flow.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#288Mood(Jam)3.39
#546Overall(Jam)3.18
#566Humor(Jam)2.75
#573Innovation(Jam)3.00
#612Fun(Jam)2.92
#676Graphics(Jam)2.95
#972Theme(Jam)2.38

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:37am

Had to go and find my controller :P And it was a good job I did as it's not too bad, I like the idea behind this, having to control two players at the same time. Although I did do far better once one died and I can solely concentrate on one space ship. Overall it's pretty fun, solid gameplay as well!

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:48am

Now that's an interesting twist in the twin stick shooter genre :). Loved the pilots dialogue, and the tentacle monster adds to the fun :).

Chris Delta says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:49am

Something feels strange to me about a web based game with gamepad controls, just a thought, not important. I liked the flavor text for the sequences, but I didn't really manage to figure out the pattern to them. I also often got tangled up, with pink on the left and blue on the right, and that did bad things to my head. If you had made the audio rating available I would've given you a good score there, but it's probably better to just say that I really like the music anyway.

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:03am

Couldn't play with my keyboard ...

roving-stone says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:33am

Awesome music, pretty fun gameplay. Just something to note: I'm using a wired xbox 360 controller, and the buttons are all off. For me, start is actually back, and the triggers are actually mapped to clicking on the thumbsticks. LB and RB worked fine.

Pinpickle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:06am

Couldn't get this to work entirely on my machine. Macbook Pro (OSX 10.10) on Google Chrome with a Logitech F310. Movement controls worked fine but I couldn't fire with any button.

Looks like a cool concept though.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:08am

I went into a zen like mode playing this game with the two sticks. With the smooth controls and the music I really dug the tone. I liked all the animation as well, even the subtle work you put into the creature's eyes following the player :)

Bsevers18 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:10am

The callouts from the pilots were the BEST! Super fun, had my trying again to beat it.

CowShark says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:13am

Music is pretty nice, but no sound effects make me feel like it's missing a lot.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:17am

The game has good mechanics. It's a bit confusing to understand at first, but it is very interesting. And the music is great!

Frenchie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:16am

Nice concept. I found it really hard to control though :( It seems like there was no difference between barely moving the stick and pushing the stick all the way. Which really sucks on my old xbox controller where one of the sticks always wants to stay a little off center :P It would also have been nice if the players moved faster than the little powerups. All in all, nice job :)

Null DIES says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:50pm

I like this double stick control, and I like the music, but I never beat the game, it's so hard, and I never managed to pull off a super sequence :D
And it took me time to figure out that only sequences with non-repeated colors are the ones that actually fired shots.

And finally, a small bug I faced, when I reset the game mid-way, I get invisible circles that count towards my sequence, I'm assuming you're not resetting all of your variables so it's left in this partial state,

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]