Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Radisheriff

by Ourson - Compo Entry

###The story###
This is the story of a sheriff. The best one, the most RADIcal.
Fighting crime as become so easy for him that he wanted to spice
it up a little. So he left his bullets behind and he replaced
them by radishes. Becoming ...
... the RADISHERIFF.

(it all stated with a stupid pun ^^")

###The Controls###
-Move with WASD (or ZQSD)
-Shoot with left click
-Reload by holding right click

###The game contains###
-6 power ups
-4 ennemies
-3 bosses
-random generation (sort of... =p)
-An infinity of radishes!!!!!!!!!

###Notes###
-It's my first entry for ludum dare. I did my best and i certainly hope you will enjoy what i have done.
-This is my tribute to some of the games i've spend way too much time on (aka the binding of isaac or Nuclear throne) ^^
-Making music isn't part of my skills, sorry. =s

!!!EDIT!!!
I made a version 2.0.
What changed?
-4 new power ups(tomatoes, Birdy the kid, Automatic weaponry and Explosive shots).
-1 new foe(the panda!)
-1 new end boss
-the game is longer (you must go through 24 areas to finish the game, 3 duels and 3 bosses)
-minor changes: (the carrot and the watch were buffed, the first boss is easier, etc)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#76Fun3.83
#216Humor3.40
#276Overall3.48
#348Graphics3.40
#450Mood3.05
#670Audio2.40
#828Theme2.98
#861Innovation2.63

Comments

ssiegel2 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Shooting seems to be finicky. Reminds me of Nuclear Throne. Graphics are good.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:04pm

One my favorites so far. Feels really polished with different powerups and full fledged mechanics. Graphically the character sprites are bursting with personality. Really good job, especially for your first entry!

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Awesome! This was super fun and I laughed a few times too! It felt really smooth and polished, and the audio was minimal but really useful (I probably would've died immediately if it weren't for the reload sound). It would've been nice to have music, you should look into some of the music generators on the site like the one at abundant-music.com for next time :)

All in all, I'd say this was a pretty RAD entry! (sorry, had to...)

Kinzata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Awesome! Only real complaint is that the dynamite was really loud compared to the rest.

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Finished the game, very interested with duel system.

It's only need music to be more badass.

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:13pm

First time entrant? Wow. Don't play my game, I am now ashamed of how little I got done - that is a really fun and solid shooter you have made, and I played it for a while before I died, so I don't know how many more screens you built - great job!!

Dungeonation says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:15pm

I was trying to quickly get a feeling for a game in this competition before going on to the next one, but this game. THIS GAME. I couldn't stop playing. This is one of the best games I've played so far. The choice between two items after a boss, the humor, and the not-expectingness of the whole game.
Take my advice, and make this a full-length game. Get it on Steam or something. This is pure amazingness that shouldn't be just thrown away after a glimpse.

Yvanor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Wow, really nice ! The game is fun and dynamic, but difficult at the same time. Good job ! :)

Jungle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:21pm

My favorite game on LD32 until now. Very funny, fits theme. Graphs are ok, the sprites are good but scenery can improve. AI are good, the boss are difficult but not impossible. I really like it! Congratulations!! Keep the project on!

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Great game with lots of cool content! Fights were interesting and daring. and I loved all the different animals.
Didn't like the sounds so much. And I felt like it needed a lot more balancing. Some enemies were waaay harder but seemed to have the same chance to spawn. And maybe it's just me, but I'd pick the speed/time upgrades over the carrot anytime :p And try adding some more (visual) feedback next time!
Btw your pixels seemed stretched sometimes. If you're using pixelart/low res, try scaling with equal round numbers! You can then just put black borders or whatever on the remaining areas.

Flayk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:42pm

This is staying in my game collection. I love the reload mechanics. I'd love to make a giant game out of this. Could you imagine both Co-op and Competitive LAN with more weapons?!

Phil Strahl says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Very easy to get into and a very nice, cartoony style. The sounds are fitting and the graphics very nice and fir the style very well, enemy types are varied and boss battles and duels breaking up the standard gameplay. Also items are nice!

Of course, switching bullets with radishes, eraser-top pencils or rubber duckies pretty much won't affect the gameplay at all, it's just a random substitute for slow moving bullets. That said, it still is a very fun entry and I enjoyed the Binding of Isaac meets Zelda gameplay quite a bit. Sadly, there's no music.

Still a solid entry!

Sim00n says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:32pm

I can't open the game. I'm using Windows 7, the file starts doing something in the background, Avast checks it for viruses and the main program closes while Windows says "program stopped working yada yada yada". I wish I could play it because it looks interesting.

OccamsRazor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:42pm

Wow, probably my favorite so far! Great aesthetic, the whole gunslinger thing was awesome. Extremely fun, but challenging, great powerups.

I am extremely impressed, well done!

chaosed0 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:16am

Not many new ideas here, but it's a solid game.

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:18am

Wow guy,, very good game

maunovaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:59am

Nice little shooter. I wish there could be music, but I liked the game as it is now.!

Domicuc says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:33am

I love graphics like this, also good project :)
Also check my game please! x)

Druid says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:39am

Not too pretty, without music, but that gameplay... Man, that gameplay was totaly excellent! I really enjoyed this game!

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:06am

Art style is good, and gameplay is great.
I don't think this fits the theme very well, because it makes me feel that it only change "bullet" to "radishes".
Still a good game!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:50pm

I'm loving the Nuclear Throne -esque gameplay. Congrats, as this is a fun game for this being your first jam entry!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:28pm

This game feels very complete. If I had had to guess, I would have assumed it was a jam entry. There's quite a bit of variety and when I died to the final boss I was motivated to try again, get all the right upgrades and beat this. Excellent work.

chromebookbob says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:31pm

What a fun little game! I like the duelling, and some great shooting mechanics!

Ourson says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:24pm

First of all: Holy Shit!!! Thank you so much for all your positive feedback! This means a lot to me! =')

I'm going to try to answere to some of what you said:

-TijmenTio, here is how balancing work: I spawn a number of ennemies based on the difficulty you reached (1 to 6). Each ennemi has an equal chance to appear. But whenever it's a rabbit, the game spawn two of them (because they suck). Also, rabbits can't drop beer.

-Flayk, i could totally imagine more machanics to this game ^^ , but i'm in a programming school and it's very time consumming.

-Phil Strahl and Cliff Lee(CL), yeah, replacing bullets by radishes doesn't change very much the gameplay =s.
When i saw the theme, i imediatly thought about isaac shooting tears at his ennemis, getting power ups that made his tears stronger ("cancer. yay!"). I Always wanted to make an arena based top shooter. So i jumped on the occasion.
Also, this is my first jam entry. I decided to do something i was comfortable with.
Thanks to all your great comments, i leveled up in selfconfidence and i promise i will put myself more in danger next time ! =)

Once again, thank you all. I barely slept for 48 hours, I even had my girlfriend feeding me. I was sooo tired at the end, i almost abandonned the sound effects (but the game needed some feedback. It was absolutly necessary on the reload in my opinion).
I am glad you enjoyed it. It really makes me happy!

You guys are awesome!

PS : rectangular Tim, you died during the last boss and you were still motivated enough to play everything again?! That's one of the best compliments i could have recived =D

Bergara says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:25am

Very fun, nice, well balanced game. Graphics are great, I loved the characters, so much personality!

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:32am

This was actually a really fun game. The reload mechanics were fun, and the general gameplay was very smooth. Impressive amount of levels and features for a compo

I will say, though, that "the bullets are radishes" is kind of weak in the theme category.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:38am

That was pretty fun! It is a very complete game. The reloading mechanic, and the items were awesome. And I think the rooms are randomly generated, but I am not sure. In any case, if the rooms are randomly generated but the player doesn't realize it, that is some solid generation. So well done!

CowShark says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:40am

This is damn well done.

Gameplay was engaging and it has a good bunch of setups where the firefights feel diverse. Badass for a jam game.

pkenney says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:47am

Cool dodge-n-shoot game! I like the random generation to keep it fresh, and the art and sound was nice. Duels and upgrades, too, nice scope!

It seemed to be best to just play with right-click down the whole time, but no big deal.

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:55pm

The graphics were neat, and it had a good feel to it. Well done!

sirikan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:10am

Really great game. You had good variation on bad guys that helped keep it interesting.

Jyrkface says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Great game! If you need music for a fuller version hit me up on twitter :)

Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Awesome, really enjoyed to play it. Probably one of the best fun I've seen. I'm impressed about what you managed to do for your first time participation ! Great, great job !

spin-down says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Great game. I had fun playing and the different animal attacks really added to the already excellent gameplay.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Nice game. One thing though, I don't know if it's just me (or if it's intentional), but I couldn't move the cross-hair while walking.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Fun little game. I like the variety of enemies, the duel sections and the cute sense of style. Really solid entry!

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 3:10am

I dunno how well you tackled the theme....but I had fun with it regardless. Solid, cute graphics and good gameplay. I especially liked the "Duel" mechanic. :|)

That cat didn't know WHAT hit 'im.

Anas Azmi says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Fun game! There's no music, but perhaps it doesn't really need any. Solid gameplay, no bugs as far as I can see, nice graphics.

Arche-san says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Wow! That's very solid game mechanics. And I like the replay value of this game (some random + secrets at the end). Good job!

bazld says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 9:01am

Very enjoyable and playable. Maybe could make more use of the weapon types, but its great fun.

May 3, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Great gameplay, I had a lot of fun

jk5000 says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Simpel and fun game. Try to get some music in version 3.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]