Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

X-11 "Gust Gunner"

by cowboycolor - Jam Entry

Gamepad encouraged

Gamepad ( Gods Amongst Men)
Analog- Movement and aiming
A- Jump
X- Use Leafblower

Keyboard (cool kids)
WASD- Movement
M- Jump
N- SHoot


Keyboard (nerds)
Arrow Keys- Movement
X- Jump
Z- Shoot

Play as "X-11", a maintenance robot created by Dr. Magic to combat the vile, disgusting forces of nature and return the world to its natural state: technology. Wield your trusty leaf-blower to propel yourself through two exciting, Megaman-esque levels, and take on "Mubba Nature", the source of all nature.


A game by Cowboy Color-

Cullen David Dwyer - @cullenddwyer
(Programming, Design)


Britt Thomas Brady - @Britt_t_Brady
(Art, Sound effects, Design)


E-mail us - cowboycolorgames@gmail.com
Give us your entire savings account - https://www.patreon.com/cowboycolor



With the Help of

ZBW (Music)-https://soundcloud.com/zeebeedoubleu

Travis Swain Pendlebury (Cover Art/ Title Screen) - http://weareallwizards.blogspot.com/


Made in Eugene, Oregon at a Bitforest Meetup -http://bitforest.co/


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#17Overall(Jam)4.16
#23Fun(Jam)4.07
#29Theme(Jam)4.22
#36Audio(Jam)4.06
#60Graphics(Jam)4.40
#99Mood(Jam)3.78
#120Humor(Jam)3.70
#131Innovation(Jam)3.73

Comments

mandolin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:10am

fucking.........GENIUS!!!

Fanttum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:32am

Dude, this looks sweet. Please tell me there will be a web or mac build soon?

StrayByte says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:32am

Alright, maybe a tad too fast.
I liked the catchy bgm, the sound effect of the blower. Other than that felt like a strange super meat boy on steroids.
It is in line with the theme of the Jam for sure even if i expected to be able to deflect projectiles with the wind. And if it was already possible everything was too quick and twitchy to even notice.

it's a 2/5 overall for me.

cowboycolor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:42am

@Fanttum
Mac build, probably not :'(
I'll try a Web build, but it is pretty graphic intensive, so it might be pretty slow

salmonmoose says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:43am

Wait ... how can you have a game called X11 and not release it for Linux?

cowboycolor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:44am

@Salmonmoose
Because we were tired when we named it and hadn't eaten for 24 hours, also I don't get it ***OUT OF THE LOOOOOOP****

Jokerbomb says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:51am

I'm probably just bad at games like this, but the movement speed and friction is extremely loose. I wanted to get to the end boss but just eventually gave up at the spike pits.

However, it's really well made! I liked it a lot.

Pixelcyborg says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:51am

I like it, but I feel like I could REALLY like it with a few tweaks. The control is just a little too overdone to the point where a lot of deaths feel like they aren't your fault.

Love the engrish theming, pretty cool.

cowboycolor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:55am

Thanks guys <3

Harley77 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:55am

Loved this entry. This looks really polished, good job!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:55am

Neato! Love it! Everything is perfect! EVERYTHING! I would LOVE to see a full version of this. (also, that music is 10/10). I fell the sudden urge to high five whoever made this gold.

cowboycolor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:56am

@SuperPokeunicorn!
Thanks dude! You can check out his music here: https://soundcloud.com/zeebeedoubleu

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:57am

Looks great visually, +1 would like mac or web build.

MightyToast says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:00am

I love it! Game mechanics feel pretty solid, controls are a dream. The presentation is quite nice as well.

Sammuurraaaii says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:12am

Cool design, fast paced (maybe too fast) but overall a very solid entry. Better than anything I can currently put out that's for sure.

Hammer Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:15am

Awwwwwwwwwwww! Amazing!!

ohsqueezy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:10pm

The juiciness is off the charts, but the design, art

ohsqueezy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:11pm

...and music are great/very promising!

sebasRez says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:57pm

After I saw that image I couldn't wait to play it! Great game you made in such a short time. And as far as I am aware, nature attacked US FIRST!

cowboycolor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:00pm

@ohsqueezy 2juice4u? Thank man!

@sebasRez filthy fucking nature trying to corrupt the beauty of technology. ;) <33

conniejoern says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:07pm

damn thats great.
give it some improvement(checkpoits/way to exit the game)
and i would buy it on steam for a few bucks!

cowboycolor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:10pm

@conniejoern We had a lot of fun with it. We want to take it further and add a level editor and stuff. There are checkpoints but half way through the level. We will consider more frequent ones.

ndebruyn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Wow, excellent game. Well done.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Pretty fun game and the levels were challenging but fair. The physics in general could have used a bit more tweaking and the way you take damage could have been changed as well. Otherwise this was a really good game.

BeardoGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Damn, this has all the best elements of a nice frustrating platformer. Getting a feel for exactly how the blower controls was what made the game for me. Super awesome!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:38pm

Excellent game! One of the few that kept me coming back for more.

Ryusui says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:52pm

Oh, man. This hits all the right retro notes. Controls are maybe a touch slippery, though, and the game could be a bit more forgiving with checkpoints (I made it as far as Level 2 and ragequit at that tricky bit of scenery with the spiked barrier I had to maneuver under XD).

Gunzil says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:55am

This game blows.


Perfect Score 5/5

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:14am

Oh boy, it got hardcore at level 2. This was really fun and I love that subtle screenshake on land!

I didn't expect a boss either, so that was really nice. Great job!

felipeberquo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:24am

Plz, want to play this! Make a OS X version =P
Although I didn't play it, it looks awesome. Good job

cowboycolor says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:16pm

@Gunzil
I was waiting for it, I've been waiting, wondering "Why hasn't anybody said it yet?" Finally <3 You are the chosen one

Glad everyone is havin fun!

sputnik says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Awesome graphics and theme. Controls are kinda hard but this game is really juicy! Good work!

cowboycolor says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:43pm

@sputnik Thanks man! Controls are super intentional we spent the first night just making sure they felt right to us. It is just a really fast game so it takes a minute to grasp. I can speed run the entire game.

retrophantom says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:13am

great game! original and well polished

Demy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:45am

If some game can get maximum score for graphics, it should be this game. Awesome pixelart, particles and the whole world's feedback on any actions. Controls are too hard for me - action buttons have strange positions and character moves in a too crazy way.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:35pm

The controls were a little extreme for me, with the sliding mainly. But it looks great, and you've really got that Vlambeer-esqu feedback going on - like blowing the leaves & jumping felt cool to execute

trappytrap92 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Amazing game! one of my favourites so far 5/5! love the enemy design and the weapon idea

xbcw says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Great on everything.

bawb says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Nintendo-hard. Love. 5/5

nassi says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Felt really good with a controller (even though my setup forced me to use the left analog stick instead of the DPAD). The whole gameplay made me want to go as fast as possible and even though I'm pretty bad at sidescrolling platformers I was able to pull of some nice stunts. The difficulty was quite steep but also fair, so good job in that regard. Although the flying thingies almost drove me insane in the first level. The checkpoints were placed nicely. Hardest part for me was probably the "Spike Laden W of Death" near the beginning of the first level. Took me quite a while to manouver past that.

Had to quit through task manager, since even alt-f4 wouldn't work. Also the jumping sound would play when pressing the jump button while dead.

But all in all, a great feeling and pretty polished game. Good job!

coderitual says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Super graphics style!

Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:08am

Loved watching this team collaborate in seamless unison. They are true professionals who have honed their craft. I was quite impressed with how much they were able to accomplish in such a short amount of time. They have two whole levels and a boss too! What a unique concept for the theme and it played out well. They were very deliberate with their design and execution. Such a great job with programming and art combined. It was very inspiring to watch these guys in action. They knew how to take care of business and have a good time doing it as well. Their effortless teamwork transpires over to create an excellent game of high quality. I love their attention to detail. They even made the trees blow which added a nice touch. I love the feeling I get when I play this game and I look forward to seeing how it progresses. Congratulations guys and keep up the good work!

Embalaje says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 7:52pm

WOW!!!I can just say: PERFECT. Very nice game feel!

gelisam says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 10:26pm

So frustrating! I died often, of course, but unfortunately most of my deaths were because of the poor keyboard controls. Many gaps require going-to-the-right + jumping + pointing-down + blowing, but S+D+M+N is apparently too many letter keys. I then switched to the arrow keys, but by then I was too used to using my index finger for firing and my middle finger for jumping, but that control scheme uses the reverse. I wish I had a gamepad.

cowboycolor says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 12:04am

@Gelisam
I'm sorry, but I tried the best I could to offer as many input options as possible in the time given. I've incorporated gamepad support, the standard "Emulator-style" arrow keys and Z+X, Z being the "B Button" and "X" being the "A Button", plus an option for lefties using WASD and N+M respectively. I'm sorry that the game was frustrating for you because your keyboard had dead keys in those areas, but there really wasn't much more I could have offered (including keymapping) in the 72 hour timeframe.

cowboycolor says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 12:05am

Thank you everyone for your support! <3 you all

Yword says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 4:33am

Wow, it is incredibly awesome! It is really fun and challenging, the music is very good too! It has great potential to be expanded into a full game. I like it very much.

mortus says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 10:17am

Great! Love the gameplay, very old-schoolish, you've nailed that perfect feel. Leafblower sound is also amazing. Btw, I didn't think it was hard at all, hardcore in a good way - maybe, but given that it has checkpoints - it's kinda easy. Maybe it would be nice to have limited lives, but make spikes not insta-killers in that case (hit for 1/3 of life instead or something).

May 2, 2015 @ 10:53am

It's a bit buggy, but well done.

FeniX says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 10:56am

Great game! Nice idea to make the weapon pushing player back, great music. I think that the goal of bringing back the feeling of old NES games was accomplished with great success. :)

flummox3d says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Awesome! :)

crazya02 says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 3:06pm

The moment I saw "strange super meat boy on steroids" in the comments, I was sold. Fortunately, my lofty expectations were not only met but exceeded! The controls, mechanics, and level design were all spot-on. What there was of the story was hilarious! Normally, I tend to dislike 8-bit style graphics (as I feel they are uncreative from an indie game development standpoint), but here they were very well done and suited the gameplay. The same goes for the audio. That said, there are a few small issues; namely, the respawn time is a bit too long. This may seem incredibly minor, but when you die as often as you do in a game like this, instantly getting back into the action is key. consider Super Meat Boy's respawn time: it's literally less than a second, and the game is a lot more fun to play because of it. Aside from this, though, the game is extremely solid and one of my very favorite titles in the contest!

Robinerd says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 5:00pm

This game has two sides. Hyped flow and furious despair. Just like the old times! Well done!

Boberro says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 9:03pm

OMG, this game is fantastic. I only got to second level, saw the spike maze and decided to finish this game session, but still, this is very solid work.

jmborden says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 1:54am

Asking for donations for a Ludum Dare entry is LAME. I had a problem where I would get stuck inside of the platform near the first big jump. I also don't like the fact that the game is full screen with no way to quit (at least not that I could discern). Of course, I still have to give it a good rating because it's a lot better than 90% of what I've played so far and certainly better than my entry.

cowboycolor says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 7:05am

I apologize to anyone who has run into the missing collision box on the first level. The problem was that I forgot to put a collision box in oops. I don't like doing post-jam fixes, I think it is dishonest.

@jmborden We use Patreon as a social media outlet and I don't know how to disable the $1 suggested price on itchio. I don't think there is anything wrong with accepting donations if people are willing to give them.

KaiseanGames says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 11:47am

Very good game. But maybe a bit too hard. If you mess up later on, you need to repeat everything again. It gets frustrating.

All in all, very nice take on the theme. Well done! :)

May 7, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Very well done, one of the most impressive entries I've seen. The gamepad controls didn't work for me though.

I really like how you teach players what they can do with the leaf blower one step at a time.

Sublustris says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 5:58pm

5/5 for all!
NintendoHard and 8-bitHell :) just like I love :)

jmborden says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 4:20am

One game I kept coming back till until I beat it! Good job on this game.

May 8, 2015 @ 6:47am

You guys did a great job on the juiciness!

May 8, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Pssst - you are in todays Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3xsoaSeVzGQ

SteveSalmond says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 11:38pm

Love everything about it, awesome job :)

Crowbeak says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 4:51am

Brilliant -- the weapon is an item not usually used as a weapon, and its power also affects movement. The controls feel great and you have a very unified aesthetic.

thaaks says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Wow - what a game! Great idea, wonderful graphics, nice music loop, parallax background, particles!
Only annoying thing was controls on keyboard. Jump/Fire were terribly swapped for me. Being a long time Spelunky player I constantly pressed the wrong key - drove me nearly mad ;-)
But anyway, this is a great LD entry and very well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]