Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Tock About Time

by redbeard - Jam Entry

First Ludum Dare, so here goes:
This is a game about stealing time from your fellow clocks. Don't let it run out. It's a pretty basic game, but I think reasonably solid and self contained. I didn't make the music myself (credits in game).

http://duadikos.com/31/ludum-dare-32

Note: I have been informed that the Linux build is missing some assets. I don't want to change the submission, so I'll make sure to figure out how to do all the platforms before the next jam.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2387Coolness10%

Comments

Nilq says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:17am

This is awesome! Fits the theme perfectly.
It's pretty hard, though. :3

Liam :D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Would rate highly in innovation too

Lemonade says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Pretty fun if a little hard.
I was able to last around three minutes after a few tries, but I still can't tell which clocks have more time and which have less.

Considering that one second spent around the wrong clock can cut your time in half... yeah, that's very punishing.

Another frustrating thing is not knowing where the other clocks are and wandering around aimlessly, wasting precious seconds. I suggest letting the player view the whole area.

The visuals and music set a wonderful calming mood that made me want to relax and mess around. Too bad it clashes with the frantic gameplay.

I don't think the game fit the theme; time isn't used as a weapon here, it's just a stolen resource. But it was still very clever, and I thought using a giant clock as the arena was especially so.

Tijn says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Well done on the innovative game design! Maybe a mini-map which would make it more clear where the other clocks are would be helpful though.

Bastienre4 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Good game, audio is fun :)? Love the idea.

sebasRez says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Warning, must know how to read time! haha :D

bace1000 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:08pm

That was awesome!

orangemoose says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 4:42am

Very interesting concept, and with the music, it made it a rather relaxing game. I think the game could have included more feedback to the player, especially so the player knows which clocks have more time and which have less. Nice innovative entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]