Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

BodyBlow

by OneTrueAaron - Compo Entry

A man gets caught in a dungeon, and uses what's around him to fight back.

Update: 1:15 EST 4/20/2015 -
I have been made aware of a critical bug in which the player takes damage simply standing there. I have tracked it down, and discovered a single line of code, which i moved. The culprit was a line that delivered damage to the player anytime an enemy collided with another enemy; something i accounted for, but put in the wrong place in the last 10 minute crunch before uploading. That is why many features aren't implemented (like how much health you have left). I have included a picture of the change i made.

I consider this a game-breaking bug, and hope you agree that fixing it does not violate the spirit of the Ludum Dare 32 Compo. Thank you.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#339Theme3.60
#557Audio2.69
#618Innovation3.00
#770Humor2.30
#793Mood2.63
#973Fun2.43
#1059Graphics1.90
#1084Overall2.40

Comments

Big Cow says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Fun concept! I like how you can pick up chains of bodies as weapons, and there's a cohesive feel to the mood. I do find the gameplay mechanics a little frustrating; would be good to have some sort of health bar, or at least a restart button for my frequent deaths!

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:49pm

having a little trouble knowing what's gonna kill me, but the chain of green bodies was hilarious. music was nice too. well done.

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Started the game, walked into something and died and now it is stuck on a death screen.

PyroSneak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:53pm

I liked the music and the art.

haveric says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Seems interesting, but I keep randomly dying. Is there a time limit that I'm not seeing? Or are enemy attacks not very visible? (at least twice there were no enemies nearby so I don't think it was enemies)

Could use some work, but I could see the idea expanded upon and polished up working quite well.

Linus123xbb says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:58pm

The game is fun FWIW, however it doesn't work very good for me. Whenever I die I have to reload the page which is annoying, and it seems to happen very randomly.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Nifty idea. Pretty cool using physics and dead bodies to destroy your enemies is always pretty badass. Great job!

pixzleone says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Nice mood!

The4thCircle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:16pm

I like the idea of enemy corpses becoming your weapons but it was a a bit hard to control and the chain kept breaking. Feature or bug? Don't know. Audio is a bit lacking, I'd have preferred a few sound effects to the curiously intermittent music.

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Small tip: Reduce the width of the player that it fits better into the iframe here on the ludumdare website. (There are currently some scrollbars displayed around it)

dray says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:23pm

really liked the bodychain idea and the music. i didn't really understand how i got killed or how i effectively kill the ennemies. nice idea that really can be pushed forward.

awestsecurity says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:23pm

I like the concept, but I think there are more bugs. The red things at the top didn't diminish when I was hit. (assuming those are health) Also, when I restarted the bodies got stuck in the corner where I respawned and didn't become a weapon.

jhell says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:18am

Cool concept and music, although it would have been nice to have more items to push around and maybe with different effects. I kinda liked the art also.

Apr 30, 2015 @ 1:22pm

A very unconventional weapon indeed! The chain of bodies sometimes seemed to have a mind of its own, and started bugging out after a while, but what I did play was very funny! It's a shame the floor textures are a bit hard to read though...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]