Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Granny Sandy and the Mobility Scooter of Doom

by ERICduhRED - Jam Entry

Aliens are invading and you only have your trusty mobility scooter to defend yourself! Mow down the extra-terrestrials, but watch out! If you hit a curb, you might lose your glasses and have to deal with being near-sighted!

Controls: WASD

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#161Humor(Jam)3.57
#358Theme(Jam)3.58
#498Graphics(Jam)3.34
#536Fun(Jam)3.03
#568Overall(Jam)3.16
#737Mood(Jam)2.74
#822Innovation(Jam)2.52

Comments

Frenchie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:39am

Pretty funny concept. I had a good laugh :)

Some feedback: The alien deaths are awesome, but they could be a lot more awesome. They go off screen (behind the camera) very quickly. Make it so that they explode forward instead of in place so that the explosion stays on camera. Also, it would have been nice to keep all the guts in the scene. Seeing all of the past carnage would have added some charm. If it was a bug performance hit, then you could have probably removed the RigidBody's from the cubes rather than Destroying them.

leafo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:36am

Nice near-sightednes

Bananaft says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:30pm

My glasses stay right where I left 'em. Nice touch.

pstudio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Humorous concept but a bit to repetitive for my taste. I would pull the camera further behind the player to get a better view of the impact with the aliens.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:29am

very nice game - was there anything else to purchase other than a purse?

ERICduhRED says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:36am

@sP0CkEr2 No, just the purse. I was hoping to add more items, but didn't get around to it. Thanks for playing!

popcorn897 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:22am

Excellent fun. Pure, nonsensical fun.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:50pm

I liked the idea and the music wasn't half bad either. Watching the voxel aliens melt was really satisfying, so good choice on voxels. The biggest problem in my opinion is that the turning feels stiff and doesn't seem to relate properly with speed.

DrZanuff says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:57pm

I liked the music. I miss some drift from the car, but well we can't do much in 72 hours. Good entry.

SySaNiN says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Funny game, more variety would be nice!

Joystikman says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Really funny. The way to kill alien without lose health is not really obvious but I found the game pretty cool ;)

MaesK says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Funny game! I lost grandma's glasses, and could not found them ever again! Nice detail :D

TeamSpatch says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Smashing aliens with a granny scooter! Yeah, nice idea : )
But the controls are not so easy. A bit too sensitive to me.
Nice alien death with green cubed explosion ^^.
And voxel rules!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]