Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Plan.IT

by Frozenfire92 - Jam Entry

Plan.IT The largest and longest running interplanetary hackathon in the Milky Way.

Theme: dulum lare

Collect resources to build a solution to hack the other contestants planets, all while defending your own.
Will you succeed?

The intended outcome was, after collecting resources, to build a planetary solution that would be used to hack the competitors planets, and protect your own planet from other hackers. The planet itself would be both your weapon of offense and defense against the other planets in the hackathon. Unfortunately only the resource collection was implemented.

The update includes fixing the build. No content was made that wasn't in the original submission, feel free to check out the source here: https://github.com/rainbee2214/LudumDare32

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#162Mood(Jam)3.59
#406Innovation(Jam)3.25
#447Overall(Jam)3.31
#645Fun(Jam)2.86
#743Humor(Jam)2.40
#1018Theme(Jam)2.12

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:36pm

I liked it, but I struggled to see the link with the theme

Frozenfire92 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:04am

@EverlessDrop41

Thanks for playing! Unfortunately we didn't get to fully implement the final part of the game.

The idea was the conventional weapon to be a planet vs planet hack battle. The idea was the first part of the game (what is playable) you collect resources by visiting planets. The second part of the game would have you build you hack solution and then watch the planet to planet hack battle take place. I'm updating right now with a proper build.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:29am

Very cool idea. I loved the resource collection idea and how it worked! Would love to see more!

Awesome job!

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:55pm

The graphics were very pretty and I liked the ability to mine resources.

Pat Kemp says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Cute presentation, and it sounds like the concept would have been fun. As it stands, the resource collection is pretty neat. Took me a while to realize I had to click the resource icons as they popped up (there's not much difference between the animation of them being collected vs. disappearing on their own). The auto-scrolling was interesting, but felt a little less like exploration. I wish I could just fly around and have the camera follow me. Also you might want to add some parallax to the stars or space dust flying past my ship to make it clear that I'm actually moving.

Good job! hope you keep working on it!

sekaru says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Kept crashing on startup (after the Unity logo). Shame, looked like a really cool game.

Tanser says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Nice one.

BMacIntosh says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:18pm

I like the idea for the resource collection minigame. You might have been planning these things, but collecting resources would feel a lot better if there were a little more feedback for when you successfully pick them up - some particles or a sound. Also, I kept losing shields and eventually died, but I couldn't make any sense of why that was happening - feedback there would have been helpful, too.

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Rather fun, and cool idea. Liked the pixelated textures!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:42pm

There's a lot of polish on the first part... maybe next time you take the time you spent polishing and spend it on gameplay? It is pretty. The camera is a bit slow, however.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:45pm

The graphic style is really nice! The gameplay is a little boring after a while.. BTW this is nice, well done! :D

boateye says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:53pm

The game looks nice, and the music is good, but what is playable isn't much of a game. Maybe if you scaled back on things like the Character and ship selection, and the different colors of planets, you would have been able to finish the second half of the game.

I just want something to do with all of these resources i clicked on!

xplicitone says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:16am

Pretty good setup! I just kept gathering mats and didn't know what else I could do after so many planets. The player ship didn't appear in my 64 bit version so I downloaded the 32 bit and it worked fine. Music was great!

Justin Mullin says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:22am

The art and music is nice - it sound like you didn't really finish, but this was a cool start!

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:47am

Nice work! I really liked the mining mechanic, its a cool way to implement that. Good art style and sound too, just wish it would have been a little faster paced travelling between planets.

Langouste says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Super Game! I love it ;) Thanks

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:33am

fun clicker but i dont get the theme connection here - nice effort

filipe.silva says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 11:36pm

I downloaded the game and tried to play, but can not or do not understand the game. After starting the game and choose the ship and the character began to pass the planets on the screen and stayed that way for five minutes. I interessanta the possibility to choose the ship and the character, but I could not get to actually play the game

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]