Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Evil Cupido: Haters gonna hate

by Pixel Heart - Jam Entry

"A game about broken hearts, naked gods and making people angry"


Normal weapons are (sadly) used to hurt people.
But what if we had a weapon that doesn’t hurt people directly, but make them hate and hurt each other instead?


- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

UPDATED VERSION (Post Jam) with some bug fix and improvements:

WebGL: http://pixelheartstudios.com/evilcupido/
Unity Web Player: http://pixelheartstudios.com/evilcupido/webplayer/
OSX: http://pixelheartstudios.com/evilcupido/Evil_Cupido_osx.zip
Windows: http://pixelheartstudios.com/evilcupido/Evil_Cupido_win.zip


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#136Humor(Jam)3.66
#138Overall(Jam)3.72
#141Graphics(Jam)4.10
#147Innovation(Jam)3.70
#187Fun(Jam)3.55
#239Theme(Jam)3.75
#249Mood(Jam)3.44
#284Audio(Jam)3.27

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:00am

The good: Great, art, nice music and a cool mechanic! Good job.

The bad: Not so clear when you're about to die, or why.

LogGiant says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:11am

Loved the art, and the arrow physics were so fun to play with. Couldn't get past the stage with the flower pots and the police officers though.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:16am

Super cool entry, the are superb \o/

handkor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:17am

Nice ricochet shots, cool. Very nice art and good concept.

Diventurer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:18am

Very nice graphics, mood and background music. Sound effects were really annoying, but other than that I found this game enjoyable.

Gipzo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:19am

Great looking game, and bow and arrows - my favourite :)
However - a little more explanation at start needed.

bossmojoman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:20am

Great puzzler! Love the concept.

Catwheel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:25am

I hit an exception when I shot the grandma and the bottle near the end.

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:25am

Seriously, this game is creepy. But is deviously nice to play. A bit hard to get started (an "Angry Birds" like trajectory line would help), but once we get the hang of it, it's really cool. Not safe for kids, I had the little girl setting grandpa on fire :P.

ChaosRound says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:26am

very good...

SweetByte says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:59am

You can't really know where are you shooting the arrow so it end being a kind of a trial and error thing but other than that the game is pretty fun. I have enjoyed it :)

racarate says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:01am

that was a clever mechanic, banking shots off of ceilings felt good. the shot seemed to come out so fast that it was hard to judge, especially without a "path predict" like in angry birds or a golf game. felt bad for instilling hate into the heart of a canine.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:01am

Using the power of hatred, very nice. My deaths were confusing though.

HBomb says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:03am

Neat game! The art style is great, and I thought the anti-cupid concept was pretty clever. It feels rough but was still genuinely fun.

ApocoNypse says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:07am

Great fun, very polished and unique! Awesome job :D

Ershany says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:12am

Pretty sweet game! Love the physics!

Shivur says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:13am

Wow very good game!

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:15am

Love love love the art, idea and general feel.

There were a couple of levels where I died instantly as it switched screens, due to starting too close to an enemy, which was a little frustrating/confusing.

sorlok says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:41am

Now *that's* how you use a weapon unconventionally. Really cool puzzle-solving game. Some speech bubbles would have made certain interactions hilarious.

CamRFWhite says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:09am

Great concept. I love how the arrows bounce! Art is fantastic, gameplay is rewarding, really hit all the areas for me. Being caught kind of confused me though, so I guess stealth could have used some more iteration. If you were to take that out all together and limited movement to only after you've gotten rid of all the enemies, it could be interesting to have the focus all on shooting. Either way, still a great game, really enjoyed this one.

Split82 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:13am

Damn! I couldn't make it through trash can, but it is a really great game. Cool graphics, sound, everyrthing. Great job.

Tommyno222 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Visual is really wonderful and game mechanics are funny :)

Goutye says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Nice entry guy. Puzzle game a little bit short but well made!

samwest says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Extremely original little game. The difficult curve is fair and puzzles are cool (I could't get past the 6th stage (the little kid is a bitch to elude, I must try harder).

Now this is what I call a brilliant well made indie game.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Nice controls, really loved them. The art is very great as well. It's fairly hard, but not in a way where you blame the game. It felt mostly polished, except for a few minor bugs. (had two random freezes for a few seconds, and a few weird experiences with jitters when dying).

I had fun, and actually played for quite a while - Good job.

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Great art!

androxz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:12pm

this is so adictive, great job

frondeus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Very nice! But sometimes i had to replay level because character spawnet to close to the enemy.

local minimum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:22pm

It was quite fun, but I was very close to just abandon it due to the webplayer here on LD being too large so that the RETRY was out of view. I had to refresh the game page and start from the beginning once before I found it.

I think I would consider forcing the player to let go of the right button before registering it as an intention to move when switching scenes. It was way too easy to get out of the safe zone. And if it is the intent that one should try many times, connect something like R to retry or just reload after 1-2 second of the fail symbol.

I agree with those other comments saying that it would have been nice to get some clearer indication of danger. Part of that problem could be solved with better retry mechanics. But you could also consider having the character indicate the danger somehow.

Solid entry though!

Nysten says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Fantastic game! The gameplay is simple and enjoyable, but the aiming is tricky enough to make it interesting.

chanko08 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Art and arrow mechanics were very good in my opinion. I got an exception at what looked like an old folks home though. I shot the old lady and a old dude, then shot the other old dude and the bottle of whiskey.

Matt Tuttle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:41pm

I enjoyed this game but couldn't get past the stage with the bottle. The guy lit himself on fire and then killed the old lady. Nice idea and the arrow physics were enjoyable (especially the bounciness).

xirion11 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:09am

The game is nice but it keeps crashing where there are like 3 old people

someone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:25am

Cool game, great art.
The retry button in the html5 version throws an exception for me, so I had to refresh the page each time I died. Irritating in the places when you die 3 seconds in. Also hit an error when beating the first indoor stage so I could not continue.
The game over state isn't very clear. Took a while to figure out why I couldn't shoot any more, as the idle animations were still playing.
Also there seems to be no way to restart from the beginning as it remembers where you were.
(Linux, Firefox 37)

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:47am

Pretty clever, fun game that's just a little messed up, but in a good way. Great job!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:47am

I loved the art and the arrow sound. the cat was funny. I liked the bouncing arrow mechanic.

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:05am

I laughed, I cried, I looked at cats differently.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:12am

I guess this is an unconventional way to use a conventional weapon. This is a really well done game. One issue: I find that its unclear that I have to restart sometimes. I think its because the animations keep playing.I am really reaching to find any sort of flaw with this game :) The pairing mechanic is pretty dang neat. Good Show!

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:26am

I Pwned this game!
Awesome Art! great puzzles, i love it!

Chaoslab says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:09am

Enjoyed that, nice graphics. :-)

scumbly says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:28am

Great idea, well executed!

lucidsheep says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:37am

played all the way through. great concept. love how he scratches his junk! lol!

Xanderzoo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:38am

Everyone's heard of Cupid, but this is something different...

brombatti says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:09am

Amazing entry u.u

iSamurai says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:43am

Great entry! Very creative idea and the execution is good. The game feel is very solid. In particular I love the bouncing of the arrow. The puzzle is challenging but if you plan well it's not impossible. It combines some action elements, like hiding and aiming, which creates more variety in gameplay.
Five Star!!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:31am

hatred as a weapon - nice - could not figure out why the dog made game over - some parts need to be more clear - great job

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:28am

Um,... great. Took a bit to get the hang of it, but i really enjoyed this whole thing. and the art and music are amazing

Vidsneeze says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:19am

Really cool idea! nice art and great bouncy arrow physics.

Tuism says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:16am

OK I see the effort, and A for originality in terms of the theme, but the mechanic boils down to hitting things with arrows, and the outcome works a bit like old school click everything adventure games in that it seems absolutely arbitrary.

The lack of information about how you lose also sucks a little, though you quickly learn to just never walk forward. In fact, why even have the player walk at all? I completed the game without walking.

The premise though, I really didn't like it. Make people hate each other... It's just unsavoury. But that's more personal, so no knocks against the game itself.

Buko-Studios says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:39am

great game entry. love the concept of being the cupid of hatred :D

Portals says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:05am

Really good looking pixel art and music. Didn't manage to finish the level the old lady rushing you, but none the less, it's a complete and good game! Good job!

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:24am

Really excellent art, with great animation.
It was fun that the arrows bounce around, nice ide.
Wasn't always sure why I gameover'd

fixitteam says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:19am

A really well done game. You did a very good job there.
It's fun to play it.

goblin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:34am

Loved the idea and mechanics, music and art are good aswell.Good job!
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

renatopp says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Nice game, there is a naked cupid, I have nothing more.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Awesome idea and I love the art too!

Prowler says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Astonishing art and concept! Sound fits and the mood is superb! I like the puzzly part in this game and I can only encourage you to make it an app upload it into the app store. This is gold! :D

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Great game! Look awesome, plays nicely. Good job.

Bensonance says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Awesome, simply Awesome. Great graphics and good soundtrack mixed with some creative puzzles and mechanics. That said the game has several bugs and fatal errors. Namely when you enter the house I had an error shooting the bottle while the granny and grandpa were fighting. Best of luck to you with this great game.

ftvs says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:23pm

It was unclear at first why I was getting game overs. Also was not sure what the goal was for the stages to pass them. I eventually figured it out. I stopped at the part where the little girl always just gives you game overs immediately.

Yword says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Really nice graphics and unique idea! Well done!

panurge says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:04pm

I pwned this game! Took me a few tries but I enjoyed it all the way through. Not sure why so many people are finding it quite so difficult. Graphics are nice and the puzzles are pitched at just the right difficulty.

I went for a Cupid as the hero of my game too but I must say that yours is way a good deal more badass!

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Very good mechanic, i had fun playing it.

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Very cute pixel art.

commodoreKid says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Very good idea for the theme and an innovative mechanic. I liked it :)

RadStar says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Nice art and physics. Good concept for the Cupido with his leather jacket of madness. ^^
I really loved to burn this old people at the end! XD

It is not really clear when you were spotted for the first time.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Really great game. The art, the mechanics, the humor, the puzzles. Everything was spot on! Great job 5/5

P.S. Thanks for the review

lowcade says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Wow! Very cool game. I love the art style.

Stechas says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Simply great game, puzzles are really creative.

Jagang says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Really nice interpretation of the theme, art and gameplay.
The puzzles are easy enough to complete and test the whole game, but hard enough to not just breeze through the whole thing. I also threw some Nullpointers at the second last stage after hitting first teh jung girl and the old man and then the old lady and the two fighting people.

Saker Games says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Really great entry. Nice pixel graphics and fun gameplay. I like it much. :)

Sorak86 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:46pm

haha, very nice idea, too bad there isnt more levels!

kyyrma says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Amusing gameplay. Pretty great art too. Somewhat reminds me of Ghost Trick, which can never be a bad thing.

nonetheless says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Great art :)

Aree Vanier says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Fun game! nice take on the theme

louis.denizet says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Concept is really great and works perfectly for the theme : really cool mood, great job ;)

rudra says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Loved the mechanics and the graphics. Good work ! The background music is also great !

GarethIW says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:57pm

I pwned this game! Great mechanic, nice feel on the bow. Awesome artwork too :)

jukimv1986 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:32pm

I pwned this game! Congrats to me!

Nice puzzle gameplay mechanics, great graphics, quite fun though difficult at some points. Great work!

esayitch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Really liked this, sans the way the theme featured in the game... The weapon of hatred doesn't behave differently than a normal bow, which is pretty disappointing :(.

But the game is really really good, graphics + sound effects are on point, and the arrow physics are very fun to play around with. I had a good time and finished it... good luck!

jprogman says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:23pm

I got stuck on the third level with the dog. I didn't know I had to shoot an arrow at the mouse trap. There isn't much of a hint to what things I can shoot at.
Very nice concept.

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:44pm

I like the style you put into the art. The puzzles were interesting and very well executed. Perhaps make it harder to get caught or easier to shoot.

Krunoslav says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Nice art. I loved the difficult level, you have to think to solve the problèmes. Congratulations!
I am not sure if I really solve the scene with granparents, but i 'kill' the granparents, and then the child was looking at right (i do so many thinks that I dont remember what i did for) so I just run. It is ok?

sararyCow says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Good idea, I like this hating mechanic :D. Great game.

sputnik says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:57pm

Very funny... and satisfying... :)

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:22am

The pixel art is great, and I liked that there were multiple dimensions to the puzzles (lining up shots + figuring out how to match up enemies). Restarting on each encounter balanced out the challenge.

jcsirron says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:24am

This was really fun being a cupid ruining people instead of making them love each other. I agree that some of the game overs were seemingly random, but the cost of failure was low, so that shortcoming was only a nuisance.

Cherrymochi says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:38am

Really fun game! I played to the end, well done.

nutcrack says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:21am

Very nice puzzle-idea, neat graphics!
And the Arrow-physics are so funny, and i really liked the cat scene!

yuigoto says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:37am

Loved the art style. Reminded me of old point-and-click games! :) Also really liked how you implemented this "hide and shoot" stuff.

Pretty clever level design and game mechanics. Everything fits so well it's really good! :P I want a full version of this! XD

Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Sweet game! I couldn't make it past the lvl with the 3 people underneath the lovers though. How should I solve it?

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:00pm

THIS GAME IS GREAT! WELL DONE! :D

Hectigo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:41pm

I kept running into an error on the level with the fireplace in the HTML5 version, other than that this was a pretty fun one. I hope you'll be able to fix the bug, I'd really like to see the epic conclusion! :)

hmightypirate says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:11pm

The pixel art is simply fantastic.

I miss a bit of feedback in some of the puzzles and thus it was difficult to complete them.

The concept of the games suits perfect the theme. Well-done!

SpeirCeol says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:18pm

you did an awesome job!

Jasonsumm says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:43pm

cool graphics, nice mechanic ^_^!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Awesome artwork, very cool game.

FYI It completely crashed by macbook twice (chrome webplayer) when pressing restart. Had to hard restart. :/ Didn't affect my vote though, great job.

coderitual says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:19pm

This is kind of pixel art I like!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Loved it! Played through to the end. Great graphics, fun little game. Had no problems, seemed very polished to me. My favorite Ludum Dare 32 game so far.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:04am

Terrific art and humorous puzzle results. I envision some puzzles that make better use of arrow bouncing.

xhunterko says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:33am

One bad thing I can say is that the restart button wasn't that noticeable. Not bad though.

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:49am

Great art,is a good game! Nice work ^^

Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:55am

All I can say is I would have liked more

daredevildave says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:29am

Nice and polished. All round great job. I would like to see more variation in the puzzles, but hey, 72h!

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:51am

Loved the feeling of the bow, very controllable. Had an issue with the 'make animals hate each other' screen - the right animal was invisible for some reason. Managed to get past it though :)

safran says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:55am

Nice game. Good mechanics, nice music, good art. Difficult for me though.

dusho says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:26am

well.. that was something :)

Backlund says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:01am

Great job

mantis says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:22am

Really cool entry, but more feedback about what's about to happen (ie, when you're going to get caught) would be nice

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Game is very fun and the music is great! Though I've seem to find an error that doesn't clear and an unbeatable level, which is kind of a bummer. Anyways, pretty cool! Good job! Giving a good rating!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Nice! This was really fun! :)

Druid says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Most funny and interesting entry what i played so far! Really excellent game!

BIZM says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Loved the game! The arrow bouncing is so satisfying. We can definitely see this being taken farther. Props on the multiple stages and being able to retry a stage after dying without having to go back to the start.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:36pm

The Pixel art is fantastic. What a great entry this was! I think I just saw my first pixel penis in Ludum Dare EVER! Fun Game, Fun Mechanics. Though a bow/arrow is not necessary unconventional but the reason for its usage is.

Great job!

runvs says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Nice game and great mechanics. I like such kind of puzzles.
It is not necessary to say, that the graphics are really awesome, great job!

DKoding says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:40am

Brilliant, just brilliant. Great mechanics. Loved the graphics and the puzzles.

LimeniusTeam says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Loved the graphics and the audio. Nice gameplay and idea. Well done!

lucien says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Really great game but I cant pass the stage with the animal

Toby Pinder says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Fun projectiles!

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:55pm

Awesome graphics and awesome innovation! Great game!

Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:02am

This was great ! I really loved the gameplay mechanics and the graphics, congrats

Kaijuu says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:27am

Great game!
Art, concept and physics are awesome

steboots says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Very clever, got stuck for too long with the police officers and cat. I like the concept, nice submission.

Andynonomous says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Really great throwback graphics. Nice mashup of projectile fun with puzzles. Couldn't advance past the room with the red chair. Good job!

slowfrog says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Hilarious, and very polished. Just the right level of difficulty for a casual game.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:11pm

This was great, pwned the game. The arrow physics was well done and liked trying to figure out how to get past each screen. Nice little challenge and would be interested to see more levels.

SimianLogic says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Fun art style. Loved that the ordering of shots was important to getting past a scene. Somewhat Rube Goldberg-ian in a sense that you need to set things in motion and let them play out at times. I really liked what that happened. The stealth mechanic was the least developed part. I think implementing a larger screen space with some stealth gameplay would be fun. Maybe shooting a light and person to have them light go out so that you could progress. Or even turning some lights off so that you can cause people to fall down the stairs? Nevertheless, great submission.

AlcoTk says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:58am

The art and audio are spot on!

jk5000 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:08am

A really nice game, based on really good idea. That there is no introduction, making the surprise of what weapon do, so much better.

Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:42pm

The arrow sound is wll found.
Graphics are cute, and I loved pissing the cat and its sound.
I have the feeling that the arrows shooted lower to where I aimed.

diegomachado says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Animation is really good on this one, and the weapon mechanics and level design were very original. Great job!

hbocao says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Awesome entry! I got stuck on the first indoor stage (no error, I just suck).

Galan says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 12:12am

Not much constructive to say, but I'd love to see this stretched out into a full game.

Ithildin says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 9:12am

Great idea, and awesome execution!

Deozaan says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Did I just send a dog into a giant mouse trap? O_o

May 1, 2015 @ 10:38am

Nice game ! love the art. Maybe some more puzzles would be ok to improve the shoot mechanic

Justin Mullin says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Very cool game. Much darker and more puzzle focused than I originally suspected. The art is gorgeous!

IL_yoshioka says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 7:21am

Really good!nice game.

filipe.silva says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 12:31am

very fun to be an inverted cupid. Pixel art always makes them much more attractive games and leaves the more obvious gameplay than art. Congratulations

FrederickK says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 3:01am

Interesting mechanic!

dyfer says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Pretty nice game but the bow is not so unconventional even so the bounciness is very cool ^^

23 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Really lovely, nice animation, music, and a good mechanic suited to the theme! Only complaint is I'm not really sure what was supposed to happen with the old people - I got past it but I'm still not sure if I was lucky or what.

MonoS says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 4:11pm

OH GOD, i love the ending XD.

The game is well done and have great possibility of post development, i suggest you to continue developing this game :).

Graphics and sounds are cool, maybe a longer loop will help for longer run.

davidbox says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 3:32pm

The greatest game I've played so far for this LD. Great ambiance, great art, congrats !

Smirnov48 says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Very cool and fun and humor! But it to easy take "game over", this is a minus.

Menesetsu says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Dat arrow ricochets.

pstudio says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Nice graphics and idea. Unfortunately game crashed when I came to a house with a kid and some grand parents. It was a bit annoying how I would lose when changing screen because I would be placed right next to one of the enemies.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]