Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

A MineSweepEars Island

by Dhim - Compo Entry

MineSweepears island is a minesweeper inspired game with some twists :
1/ the map is hex based
2/ You score based on sweep path you make across the island.
3/ you have an an unconventional weapon at your disposal : your ears! When entering a tile mines in adjacent cells will play a random tune. The sound is spatialized, you can thus guess from which tiles it came from.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#22Innovation4.17
#471Graphics3.17
#504Overall3.22
#572Mood2.91
#580Fun3.00
#880Theme2.87
#1634Coolness41%

Comments

FerraWare says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:08am

Wow, excellent idea, really innovative. The graphics are just what they need to be. One thing I would change is the tutorial, I'd do it with less text, and showing while you're playing. Great entry!

ChronoDK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:43am

Great idea with the hearing hints. Like it!

Ptolo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Really cool concept, it was fun to play :D

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:38pm

It doesn't work on firefox!

I got it to work on google chrome though and it was fun! The menchanics was really confusing at first but I think I'm getting the hang of it. My current highscore is 163.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Does not seem to be working for me. The island comes up, there is a number in the center hex, but I can't interact with anything.

Junber says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Cool idea, very fun and innovativ. I would have rather liked your failure not being based on time but on mines you entered but thats just personal preferance.

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Neat idea. It took me a while to understand that I needed to click and drag a line in order to score points. The sound clue is a nice twist.

slowfrog says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Interesting idea, but I had trouble understanding the "path" concept. Also visually, the black paths overlap the numbers, so it's really difficult to think about next steps. The spatialized sound concept is innovative. I must be too deaf to make something of the clues it gives, anyway.

Larzan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:17am

Fantastic idea, love it!
Well done, and difficult!
Very innovative and great job!

calavera says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:18am

Why are you opted out of audio! i totally would have rated highly. the sound is really great.

Dhim says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:18pm

The opt out for the audio is a miss, I added it back now for future ratings.

jojocanard says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Can't make it work. I tried maxthon, firefox and chrome

nassi says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:42pm

I also had no idea how to use the sound to my advantage. As already mentioned the line effectively hid the number preventing me from continuing. Also having no way to mark the spotted mines was quite irritating.

My best score by randomly flailing around was 590. When actually trying the results were much worse.

Time ran out as a sound was playing and that sound continued into the next round so I had to reload the page.

I did not understand this game.

goblin says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:36am

Great idea but Doesn´t work for me
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

CScribes says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:28am

I really liked what you were going for, but I was honestly just confused and didn't know how to utilize the "weapon" per say.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]