Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Lawyer Golf

by kevinthr - Jam Entry

A game of golf between two lawyers.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
#101Humor(Jam)3.75
#282Mood(Jam)3.40
#301Graphics(Jam)3.72
#335Innovation(Jam)3.36
#493Overall(Jam)3.25
#629Theme(Jam)3.20
#674Fun(Jam)2.81

Comments

UltraRat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:41am

Time between being told not to do something and doing the thing: ~1.5 seconds

FireSlash says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:42am

Controls are really wonky. You need to press a/d repeatedly to turn, or wait for key repeat to kick in.

Putting is also a bit awkward, the impulse force doesn't seem to snap to the ball in obvious ways so you sometimes get unpredictable results.

Love the art style.

Ghen says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:43am

nice game with a story, quite neat, the problem is, for whatever reason every i try to hit the ball always go backward (probably its me who sucks) , and the control really clunky, since you can't walk diagonally with multiple arrow

mildmojo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:43am

This is so cool. Two problems up front: in Firefox, it only rendered a strip at the top of the page, maybe 15% of the height. Switched to Chrome and it rendered full-page. But turning seemed to be using keypresses instead of keydown, so you could only really turn your character by holding still and keeping the key pressed, waiting for key repeat to kick in.

Otherwise, this is great. I only got to hole 3 before the darkness came over me, but man... The humor's fantastic, from the parking job to the conversation. The putting is pretty solid once you figure out that you can give it a pretty good whack. Love the art style, too.

Supernovadx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:45am

I love the art. No sound as far as I'm aware. Pretty funny too. So far one of the only web games I could run, but the controls seem laggy for me, and I'm playing on my desktop. It takes a while to get to the gameplay as well. Also, It's difficult to aim the guy.

Infernobomb says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:48am

By the end of it, I really wanted to smash that other golfers face in :P It's a cool concept. Only thing that irritated me was how slow turning sideways was

kristof says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:49am

Haha, great idea! Really cool art style! I would have liked to play some more mini golf after beating this guy up, but the game just ended ;)

Miltage says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:52am

I really like this game, but the controls are terrible. Particularly the turning of your character. He's not a car, he should be able to turn on a dime. That having been said, I love the premise and the dialogue really brings the characters to life. The golfing part also plays well, but I'd up the power of the swing a little if it were me. Add some sounds and you've got yourself a good game here. Well done!

Marjie62 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:54am

Wow, such an interesting game! It does a phenomenal job of telling it's story... the way that the game as originally laid out turns out to be irrelevant, and the inane elements become the important part blew me away. Also good job of hinting about the F key without giving it away. Very polished too. The golfing part was rather dreary unfortunately; mostly the movement was very strange and slow and difficult to use. Also, I couldn't tell when I was in range of the golf ball.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:57am

The controls could use some tweaking but the art style and story are really good. Nice work!

silentbaws says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:58am

Hard to control

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:59am

The banter was great, also the graphics style

sentendo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:00am

great environment, bad controls.
And yes, I hit the F key! :D

RoryD says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:00am

I liked this, but it took me about 10 swings of the club to realise that you have to drag in the opposite direction to the way you want to hit. As others said, the controls for the guy were frustrating, but I enjoyed the humour. It was difficult to play the game and enjoy the story though.

2Bit says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:03am

Haha such a good outcome. Pheldon never stood a chance.

phi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:04am

Great story! I loved the combination of passive conversation and interaction, and the graphics do their job really well. As others have mentioned, the controls could use some work, but otherwise, it's an incredibly beautiful and polished game!

camlang says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:05am

Good art and gameplay. Quite difficult to control. Good job.

Vulture Tamer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:05am

very good game! :-)

enjoy the conversation xD

Almost says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:10am

I really wish I could turn while walking. or at least turn faster. As is I had to stop a lot to face the direction I want to go.

The dialog text was very small, so I missed some of it. I also intuitively wanted to draw either a path for the ball or the direction of my swing, but the mechanic is that I draw the windup of the swing, and not the swing itself. This took some trial and error.

I'm a bit curious what would happen if I had continued to golf.

Teesquared says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:11am

Great game. Lawyers will be lawyers. Most fun I ever had golfing :)

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:30am

Ok, I admit it, I pressed F right away. But then I replayed the game all the way through and I learned two things: Pheldon is terrible at mini-golf and is also a complete jerk.

The art style is perfect. Some sound would have been nice. The controls are a little odd at first, but I think they actually added some charm and they grew on me as I went through. The dialogue definitely kept me involved and I wanted to see where it went. Overall a very solid entry.

sch00f says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:58am

Nice game, coo artstyle, but I had a weird bug where I could only see something on the top ~200 rows of pixels, the rest of the screen was white...

poohshoes says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:17am

Holes 4-9 dont seem to be working.

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:13am

The art style takes me back to early mac days. But those controls are a little rough.

SayHiBen says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:16am

Pressed F key. 10/10

/steamreview

goadrich says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:17am

Cool concept, the conversation in the background is exactly what I expect in a game about minigolf, the actual golfing is secondary. Took a while to get going though, and I found the turning and movement of my lawyer character to be very tedious and slow, it was hard to move to the correct position to hit the ball.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:23am

What a great concept, effectively layering two games over each other in a way that feels totally natural. Great art and writing, too. Turning is far too slow, but this is otherwise really terrific and inventive!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:31am

Nice art style and humour. Controls need some work. Occasionally it didn't respond to a keypress. I can't believe how long I resisted the F key.

Hambone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:18am

I really liked the art style.

zimmy87 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:18am

tells a story; i like that; god damn actually trying to play minigolf is frustrating though

pixzleone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:18am

Cool game!

Bsevers18 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:21am

Had the same trouble turning as everyone else. And also the bug with firefox only rendering a small 300px~ strip of the game instead of the whole thing. Otherwise seemed pretty polished, nice dialog and art

Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:24am

Brilliant! I also find out that X enables some debug info. And I'm able to rotate body and swing golf club when I'm dead. But in any case I totally amuzed by this game. I love games with narrative.

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:22am

Controls are really bad.
Loved the graphics!

nassi says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Same problem on Pale Moon x64 as @mildmojo had, not much of a surprise since it's based on Firefox. Worked nicely on Chrome.

Even with black and white graphics and no sound the mood was pretty good, somehow it reminded me of American Psycho, especially towards the start. Nice banter and an interesting ending.

I'm actually glad it ended there though. Even if minigolf games are kind of fun the controls got to me quite fast. There was lots of down time too, which might've helped the mood but not the gameplay.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]