Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Glorch's Great Escape

by wg_phancock - Jam Entry

OBJECTIVE:
Help Glorch escape from a bizarre space-prison using his people's favored weapon: the telenade! Who needs to walk or jump when you can teleport anywhere within a short throw?

CONTROLS:
A and D or Arrow Keys: "Walk" left and right (but who wants to walk?)
Left Click: throw a telenade at mouse cursor. Click again to detonate mid flight.
R: Reset level if you get stuck.
+/- and 0: Volume and mute sound
ESC: Return to main menu

ABOUT:
This is our first ever Ludum Dare entry! All assets and code were made during the 72 hour Jam, except for the music (which is an original "borrowed" from another game we released on mobile).

We had hoped to get a few more levels completed, but did manage to complete nine in time, and they can get pretty hard! We might finish some more in the future if we decide to finish off a whole game from the concept.

The engine is written in HaxeFlixel and uses the Nape physics engine. We learned quite a bit about Nape, and can use it better in future projects now, so that was a big win for us. Most of the art was done with PyxelEdit and Pixen.

The Windows/Mac version probably run a bit more smoothly than the Flash version, but all should be playable.

SHAMELESS SELF PROMOTION:
You can visit us and see our other non-jam games at http://warriorgeneral.com or follow on twitter: @wg_phancock!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#20Overall(Jam)4.12
#29Fun(Jam)4.00
#46Innovation(Jam)4.02
#144Mood(Jam)3.65
#145Theme(Jam)3.88
#171Graphics(Jam)4.03
#320Humor(Jam)3.26

Comments

Split82 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Very solid entry. Liked it a lot!

generic_ghost says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:22am

Very solid entry! The tele-grenades are a cool mechanic and a good interpretation of the theme. Good job!

dlowe says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:28am

fun!

Lady Beardo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:28am

I love this! It builds up perfectly and introduces a ton of mechanics for a jam game. Impressive.

cicanci says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:32am

Great game! Nice job!

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:04am

Cool retro pixel art graphics!

Mateus Culpo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:07am

Nice game

HeuGamer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:18am

Good mechanics, and great execution of them.

DaGamesta says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:21am

Pretty original concept. And well presented too.

ddalacu says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:23am

The grapshics are amazing and the game is well polished realy nice game overall.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:30am

Very nice, I really like the innovation. The whole telenade idea is really cool. Fun game!

kevinthr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:14am

Really polished and solid. A good game, not just a good jam entry.

hellforge says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:15am

Cool game! Nice idea and realization!

ChronoDK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:31am

Telenades! That is such a great idea - and the game is really fun too. Top ratings from me.

Sublustris says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:55am

Great game!

jesterswilde says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:55am

Walking is indeed for chumps. I use a system of levers and pullies to breeze my way through the world. Scorned-earth policy I say.
Well executed game and you really explored the possibility space of the mechanics. Good range of difficulty as well. Good job.

ccglp says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:58am

Nice entry, monster sprite is cool :)

agilejoshua says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:12am

Telenades are fun.

RadStar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:04am

Very cool game, love the portal mecanics, very well done. Like to throw my grenade whil still in air, makes really dynamics game play. Good job!

Buzzwerd says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:31am

Mechanic is awesome. Don't know you got this done for a jam.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:32am

Really cool idea. Well made. You can tell these guys know what they're doing

kyyrma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:24pm

This is really cool. Good progression with the mechanics. This could work well as a commercial game - maybe mobile? Simple way to improve it would be to add an indicator for the grenade arc when you hold down the mouse button.

One of the most polished titles I've seen this jam. The only bug I faced was getting stuck in a force field, but even that fixed itself after a bit. Congrats on a great entry!

alpha_rat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Great entry, very complete and polished especially for a jam game!
Telenades are very fun to use

natalye says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Very good game, the puzzles were challenging and satisfying to solve. I really loved the way you presented the tutorial, with the little question signs, and the text was humorous enough to keep me engaged.

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Super polished feel - this is virtually a professional game release. Very very nice.

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:00pm

very cool! could have used a checkpoint system!

kaype says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Ughhhhm this is hard :P

Really cool music though, and the art is also really nice.
Why can't we vote in the audio category though? :(

BeardoGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Lots of fun, and a really well put-together game, from the music to the graphics. Great work!

Drauthius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Nice! I enjoyed the game :)

TD5 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Nice graphics, good music, solid mechanic. Awesome job! :)

idoadler says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Creative Smart and Fun
a bit too hard for my laziness :P

lucentbeam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Very nice! I like the reversal of the more common interpretation of the theme... An unconventional grenade, in that it's not really a weapon :)

ruerob says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:44am

I like your graphics and the music a lot! great gameplay and a slightly mad driving difficulty level! well done entry!

randoman says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Your level design is great! Each level introduces a new feature, they start easy and get harder as you progress and the design is challenging! I also loved how you used the theme. Great job!

Dreyan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:21am

Really like the music, very fun gameplay!

broknecho says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:06am

Amazingly solid entry. Some tiny aiming angle might help a little to see the general starting direction of the grenade. And then some feedback if the grenade is being blocked by the radar things.

Overall amazing job! Great work!

popcorn897 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:26am

Unique idea. Game is clever and fun to play. Nice work. The only issue is how fast the difficulty scales up. Restarting the third or fourth level multiple times is a bit frustrating because it feels like you are unprepared. Maybe with a bit of practice I'll be better :P

dyfer says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:13am

I love the portal weapon and all the logic you put here. Great puzzle game!

rnlf says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Cool idea for the unconventional weapon! Not sure if I did it right and this is intentional, but it is perfectly possible to fly any direction with the telenade! Lovely graphics and cool mechanics, what else do you need?

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Impressive! I like the puzzles, but the control of the telenades can be a bit frustrating (I wish there was a way to canncel a telenade) and I couldn't get past the first level with jammers.

spin-down says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:48pm

A solid puzzle game. Using teleportation was a neat mechanic and it makes you plan out a few moves in advance.

Super Hamster says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Awesome game! Loved the idea, the graphics, and the music. :D

frosty says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:59am

Excellent little puzzle platformer. There was a pretty big jump in difficulty on the "Restart" level, though, and I ended up giving up.

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:59am

Innovative and fits the theme. Stops being fun after a while as missing can set you back a while.

Jwatt says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:57pm

This crashes Flash instantly after the HaxeFlixel logo on Ubuntu. Lemme try on Windows a bit later.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:02pm

@Jwatt, yeah we haven't actually tested it on Ubuntu. Windows version should work fine, though.

AdricZero says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Great game. A lot of fun and innovative concept.

Jwatt says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:27am

Okay, new try on Windows.

The game builds up the different uses of your gun in a guaranteed Flash puzzle-platformer style. But there's a shift in focus towards more reflex/spamming-based gameplay once you get to the levels with lots of green and purple borders.

Like, it feels like the borders should exist mostly to prevent the player from cheesing the levels, but they're your main challenge most of the time, and the physics and aiming aren't *quite* accurate enough to warrant the tweaking involved. Meanwhile the spiked balls are kind of just mentioned off-handedly and not really used in puzzles to crush things, as I was lead to expect.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:10am

We love the whole package and the platforming design. The difficulty curve ramped up quite quickly but still awesome in any case!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:38am

Really cool mechanic and the difficulty around level 4 and 5 was challenging enough to be fun yet still keep you working on it for a while. After that is felt like it was kinda droning on and got too difficult for me. It was really good for a first LD game though.

May 1, 2015 @ 9:20pm

This is fantastic! Nothing too flashy, but pulls off everything it sets out to do. Definitely one of the most enjoyable games I have played on LD so far

crazya02 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Solid! The level design is spot-on, and the tutorial was extremely elegantly done (to the point that I may not have recognized it as such if I wasn't a game designer myself). I liked the music too.

May 6, 2015 @ 11:05am

Nice puzzle game. I really liked the principle where grenades can't go throught certains walls but Glorch can. To bad I suck at this kind of game, I couldn't get through the 4th (or was it the 5th?) room.

flummox3d says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Really nice mechanics! Also, I love the word "telenade" :D Great work! :)

Plustech says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 11:44pm

What a solid entry, the idea is pretty similar in a sense to my entry, but the approach is so different. Overall is an awesome entry, great job dude.

May 10, 2015 @ 8:46am

Cool mechanic, reminds me of the translocator gun thingy from unreal tornament. but in 2D! quite fun to play with and some good puzzels.

SiENcE says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Indeed, nice mechanic. I found it a little bit too easy, when fast clicking the mouse. This way you can fly through the levels.
Great polish and a lot of content. Just great!

sorlok says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:41am

Great use of the theme! Wish there was a way to *not* set off a badly-fired grenade. Also, some of the levels could be solved via spamming. Regardless, you did a great job, and I really enjoyed the game!

Zeriver says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Pretty neat game mechanic and smart level design. Some levels could use checkpoints (it might get irritating, to reapeat whole level because of small mistake). Anyway, really fun game to play.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]