Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Joe

by Chris Olsen - Jam Entry

Joe's taking his life back. One hug at a time.

ARROW KEYS AND SPACEBAR HOLDING is all that's needed.

ALSO "F" FAST FORWARDS TIME. Was always in there just forgot to mention.

Have fun.

Unity Player, so either avoid Chrome or download the PC Build.

Thank you!

Chris

CHANGELOG -

12/05/15 : Uploaded Post Jam version of Joe. Adding an extra stage, checkpoints, pause and start menu. Minor bug fixes.

21/04/15 : Found an issue with wall colliders that gets the player stuck forever. Changed properties on colliders to stop that now.

25/04/15 : More collision bugfixes in regard to colliders not activating when they should.

Added Unity Player embed to submission screen.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#36Graphics(Jam)4.53
#40Mood(Jam)4.05
#138Overall(Jam)3.72
#206Theme(Jam)3.79
#263Audio(Jam)3.31
#302Humor(Jam)3.30
#355Fun(Jam)3.27
#363Innovation(Jam)3.32
#1811Coolness36%

Comments

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:18am

Nice little game. I really love the art and the minimalist design. The mechanic is also pretty interesting. It's slow and stealthy, but also a little fast because of the drive to back-hug.

I think you should tone down the film grain a bit and may be make it so only the room resets when you die.

Overall, really well done!

xbcw says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:18am

Nice dystopian theme.

trenchgames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:18am

Good work! I like the visual style a lot.

hadesfury says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:20am

Excellent mood and nice animations. Too bad the character gets stuck in the walls as it makes the game uselessly hard.

monstersauce says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:20am

Looks gorgeous! Good work :D

iSamurai says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:23am

Best game so far! The idea is very creative, the graphics works great with the the dim lights and grains, the animations are also vivid and cute. Control also feels very good.

Two small suggestions:
1. Death penalty is too high, why not restart the same level instead of the game?
2. A indicator of how long has been holding the space bar would be nice.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:23am

I like it!

mandolin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:25am

Graphically this is a very nice game. Game play and feel are also very good. Great job on your first(ish) game!

Chris Olsen says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:32am

Thanks for your kind words guys. I entirely agree that the sticky walls are a massive issue and the death penalty is a bit silly. @iSamurai I'm definitely going to add some sort of audio queue on the spacebar holding.

Thanks again guys. Much appreciated!

ST1 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:41am

The art and animations are wonderful, the subtlety of the tutorial is lovely. A well rounded game and concept I would say.
The only drawback I see it that dying is way too penalizing, especially since it's not a fast paced game. A couple of checkpoints to bypass the tutorial would help a lot.
Either way, congratulations on the awesome game! :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:42am

The artwork and animation style really set the tone. Jumping physics/collision was a little buggy which caused some death. The hug-as-a-weapon choice was done very well.

Backterria says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:44am

Just awesome!Love the mood,the style,pretty much everything!Keep up!

Pawige says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:11am

Nice work! This game looks great and plays very well. The animations are fantastic. It's tough to time the hug leap but it doesn't feel unfair.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:27am

Very nice job. Agree with most of the above. Love the movement and animation. They characters have a lot of personality. The world has a lot of style. I wish each room was a different scene in Unity so you would have easy checkpoints :)

ddalacu says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:42am

Wow i always like good particle effects and you have some nice ones there about the game i like the lighting very original concept too.As the others i didn't enjoyd the reset level when you die.

Chris Olsen says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:43am

Thankyou, thankyou!

@GeorgeBroussard. Yeah it needs checkpoints.

Just also discovered you can speed run this a bit. Just hope someone finds out this weird accident.

qapn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:22am

The art and visual style is fantastic. Mood right off the charts. Hope you get more attention, your game deserves it.

The physics kept glitching out for me however, and then when I'd die, I was punished for it harshly. But hey, few of us have time to balance our games in such a short jam.

Legit I can't get over how good this game looks. At full res on my PC, it looks like a pretty polished full game to me. Great stuff.

siryakko says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:43am

Nice first game, love the graphic style and the idea.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:15am

Beautiful art, had a hard time trying to do the hug-leap correctly, died a lot.

Split82 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:44am

Great visuals and audio. A little too difficult for me. Awesome entry.

Chris Olsen says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Hey guys, thanks again!

I've found out the sticky walls is a massive problem that actually gets the player stuck forever at times. I've reuploaded a build with non game breaking colliders. Check updated description for full changelog and I forgot to mention "F" fast forwards! Cheers

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Cool art direction, very moody and atmospheric, with the spooky lighting and everything. The hug leap is a fun weapon even though I messed up a lot. Good stuff!

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Audio, visuals and mood are perfect! Game itself looks very solid and too polished. Want more!!

luizgama says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:35pm

I like the game and the art style. Specially because one of the uncoventional weapons I thought of would be hugs too, but in a very different way. You should hone the physics so that the player sticks less to the walls, it can be a trouble some times when you get stuck when youre trying to move. Also provide a way to leave the game (esc?)

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:37am

Good work and graphics, i think you need to add checkpoint per room.

OddballDave says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:54am

This game looks amazing. Top marks for graphics and animation. And all the little touches like particles and flickering light really adds to it. That said I found the controls a bit fiddly, which caused me a lot of needless deaths. Overall though a great entry. Good stuff.

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Wow! Very impressive visual style! Novel idea and I'm a sucker for stealthy types of games. Could use a checkpoint system but you can't always implement everything! Please continue working on this game. Great job!

Chris Olsen says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Cheers for the feedback guys. Totally agree with you all. Will do a post LD release some time soon. Needs a proper ending, checkpoints and some much more advanced HUG PUZZLES!

sputnik says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Really good use of the theme et awesome graphics! Could use some checkpoint though...

dieblume86 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Nice one, i like the characters.

Sublustris says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Great GFX!

Phil Strahl says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:39pm

A very nice platformer, looks very polished! Art style and animations are very well executed and the game mechanic also works well.

Personally, the noise and chromatic aberration is a little too much but if your unconventional weapon of choice is hugs, then definitely prefer this game over Hugline Miami!

chromebookbob says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:32pm

The art style is lovely, and gameplay quite fun but the grainy shader makes it quite hard to play.

recursor says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Loved the personality you were able to give the little rectangular protagonist :) I didn't like having to start over when I got killed :(

Mouch says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Looks absolutely awesome... feels very polished but is a little bit frustrating, should have some checkpoints.

Noice Mate!

daredevildave says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Great animation and character in the... er... characters. I struggled with the second enemy. Graphically lovely though.

Chris Olsen says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:56am

Cheers guys! Thanks for playing, apologies for the lack of checkpointing.

@Phil Strahl - I agree the noise and chromatic aberration are a tad heavy handed. I would have preferred something like a CCTV feel with some lens distortion. Alas I ran out of time.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:57am

Most 'blocky' Unity games are very rigid and lifeless. Yours isn't. The characters are springy and fun, despite the world being very low poly. That's a good contrast... but then you go and add even more contrast with the dark and moody film grain. THEN... you add contrast to that with the friendly hugging mechanics. It's like your entire game is constantly at war with itself, but not in a bad way. The 'weapon' is unconventional, but so is everything else... and that's what makes this game rad. Good job!

phi6 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:08am

Loving the graphics and animations! Controls could do with a little fine tuning but otherwise a great stealthy jumpy game, whatever you want to call it!

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Awesome!

Got some problems with collision - resulted in many restarts. Should be nice to have some checkpoints.

Art style is neat! That dithering makes gradients and light look very nicely.

coderitual says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:25am

Wow! Graphics you achieved is just amazing.

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:12pm

ow can i kill the enemy?

Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Very cool game, I loved the overall mood. The controls are nice, the difficulty is in the sweet spot.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:32am

Excellent game, the visuals are very well done and the way the controls are explained is fantastic. Great work!

marinalucio says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:40am

Gorgeous game. The animations on the character are very (VERY) well done. The environment is well lit and I love the art style. Great idea too...I love back hugging! I would just like to have a checkpoint after each screen cleared, but this is a minor thing. Please keep polishing this game! :)

Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Very attractive, love the grain actually.

ajopart says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Great entry !! Visually impressive

Chris Olsen says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Thanks for all your support guys. Sorry I've been absent from my page. Tonnes of things distracting me away. I'm back now and left a little post-jam version in the link section. So be sure to check out few improvements and additional content. Cheers!

MonoS says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Pretty good game and interesting mechanics :D.

Very good the minimalistic art style and the music.

The gameplay is solid, but the physics need more polishing [pretty fun sky rocketing when fast forwarding and jump-hugging XD].

Zeriver says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Hah, great game with climatic graphics and visual effects plus nice audio. I really like the mood, reminds of Oddworld Abe's Oddysee. Really fun game to play, well done.

Embalaje says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Really cool light effects! Nice gameplay and animations. Everything seems very well done. Congratulations

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]