Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

You are being ambushed!

by joaovitorbf - Jam Entry

A reflexes based game where you are a card thrower being ambushed by... well... dunno.
Just kill them with your cards!
The enemies are randomized. It can be easy and it can be really REALLY REALLY hard. So, keep an eye on the ghosts, they dont shoot and dont emit light.

Controls:
Walk - WASD
Aim - Mouse
Shoot - LMB
Change card - RMB
Restart - R
Start - Enter
Up and Down Arrow Keys - Tweak Old TV Effect

Card types:
A - Normal attack | Low cooldown
K - Explosive attack | High cooldown
J - Triple attack | Medium cooldown

Cheats:
Press F10 and type in one of these codes:

ld32 - Invincibility
0time - Infinite time
iwbtg - Become The KID
wasup - Make the game -*FABULOUS*-

CHANGELOG:
GAME BREAKING BUG FIXED

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#284Audio(Jam)3.27
#414Mood(Jam)3.21
#493Humor(Jam)2.91
#546Graphics(Jam)3.23
#568Overall(Jam)3.16
#654Innovation(Jam)2.87
#701Theme(Jam)3.10
#768Fun(Jam)2.68

Comments

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:27pm

The game feels odd and there is no means that I notice to restart after death in game; which is particularly frustrating considering I spawned several times being attacked immediately.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Cool game and music, but it's a little bit hard =)

joaovitorbf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:45pm

@Ilseroth
Fixed the description to include the button to restart. Its R :P
Thanks for playing

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Windows doesn't work for me, sorry, Linux or web.

Kronics says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Very hard, but really cool all the same.

eric777 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:30pm

I liked the dark them and the card throwing. I guess I felt like a brooding magician who was fighting some creepy floating tables. The look was great.

syawqy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:33pm

it's haaard...

aroymart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:00am

This was really interesting! It looked nice and the music fit really well!
I like it!
I also absolutely loved the wasup cheat

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:50am

Very hard ,, but good game

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:58am

Is very hard, but well made. maybe being able to shoot cards faster would have helped. at least the basic ones

boateye says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:50pm

This game is too hard. It's hardest when enemies spawn immediately to your left or right, so maybe prevent them from spawning there? it's like near impossible when they do that.

The cheat codes were fun. I really liked wasup! Cards as a weapon was cute, but they still just felt like bullets.

Also, what's with the arrow keys warping the vision? that's a cool effect!

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:57pm

It was hard, but cool, and the music was good!

Cstudios says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Neat shaders, but the gameplay seems to be a little unclear. But the fast paced music keeps you on the edge.

ChronusZ says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:49pm

The whole "enter to start" is rather annoying. I would have preferred it to simply start the next game after pressing r.

Zcience says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:34pm

I really liked this. The controls worked great, once you got used to the different kinds of cards it was fun using them and I don't mind a game that's hard - meaning, that it's difficult to avoid enemy fire and see ghosts. But the game really was unforgiving... having to restart because you got hit by a small, really fast shot or a nearly invisible ghost was frustrating. A Healthsystem would have been great!
Still, good work^^

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:12pm

It's a bit unforgiving: you take one hit and die, but the enemies take multiple hits. There could stand to be more contrast in the level: the walls are large gray bricks, the floors are small gray bricks, and the enemies are metallic gray squares. Mostly the same shade of gray, too. It does look cool, though.

Langouste says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Super Game! I love it ;) Thanks

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]