Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Hat Attack

by funisfun8 - Jam Entry

Hat Attack is a game where you defend your hat store from waves of invading robots! A simple platformer with a fun weapon. I sadly didn't get to implement the boss and the level design is rushed due to having work. Please enjoy my first Ludum Dare submission!

Controls: W to jump, A & D for movement, and SPACE to fire.
Tileset art with help from my friend: Ghost_Telacast! (Forgot to add this earlier :/)

Game Maker: Studio was my engine. Paint.net and GM's built in editor for graphics(Ghost used MS Paint.) Sfxr for sound. And Bosca Ceoli for music.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#229Overall(Jam)3.58
#264Fun(Jam)3.39
#434Audio(Jam)2.95
#473Humor(Jam)2.95
#492Graphics(Jam)3.35
#648Theme(Jam)3.17
#772Innovation(Jam)2.64
#880Mood(Jam)2.45
#1347Coolness48%

Comments

SilentNight says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:11am

I like the graphics quite a bit. Though one annoying thing is that you can be hit and killed when opening doors. I like the game though.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:17am

You can sometimes stick to walls, but its not much of an issue though. Pretty fun game, great work! :)

ApocoNypse says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:43am

Pretty basic but still a lot of fun! Some minor bugs like sticking to some walls but apart from that, really good :D

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:52am

batman aproves it

flwns says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:56am

really cool game, nice graphics, some of the sounds are kind of harsh if you wear headphones.

sorlok says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:58am

Funny and clever! Loved the randomized hats, and all the powerups. It was a little unclear what exactly is foreground vs. background, and it was easy to get stuck on corners while jumping. Otherwise, quite fun!

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:09am

Nice graphics and gameplay. I found the most difficult part was trying to tell what I was going to collide with and what was just a background element. The music and sound effects were adequate, but could be spiced up I think.

cdrch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:41am

I like the idea. Sticking to walls is a minor issue, but not too bothersome. The most annoying thing about the game for me was that there are a lot of vertical drops just before a mob of enemies. I suspect most of these are meant to corral the AI to keep them from mobbing the entrance, which they mostly successfully do. However, for the more crowded areas (and additional AI tend to wander into those areas, making this problem worse), it becomes near-impossible to drop down to attack without taking at least one hit. The bouncing/flying enemies likewise are annoying, since they tend to spend a fair amount of time just above gun height, divebombing you. A combination of the above two problems kept me from getting past the first few levels.

Overall, though, the game was pretty fun. :)

Hammer Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:33am

Well done! I liked the graphics and the gameplay. But I think he have unlimited weapons, isn't?

funisfun8 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:22am

Cdrch, the vertical drops were for exactly what you said, however it was also due to the fact that most of the levels were made in 5 minutes each trying to get them done before I had to go to work! XD

Yoon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:23am

I really like it. It's consistent, fun, and the title is very catchy. Good job on the robots (especially the damn fast ones).
I wish the background music wasn't so low in volume though. I wanna hear it!
Also I find the game to be quite hard.

... I think that third room is still laughing at me.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:22am

Nice game overall, pretty basic but well executed concept ! I really enjoyed it ! Solid entry !

leo_p_mahon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Love the art, game play is pretty fun too I especially like the rocket feet enemies because they really hard to kill. Well executed overall. :)

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Nice work! This was lots of fun, and throwing random hats at robots is really funny. I wish I was able to restart a level when I lost instead of starting the entire game over -- I want to see all the levels!

guigrillo13 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:06am

YES!!
This is the kind of game I like

Hambone says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Fun game! I loved it!

TheBurningHat says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Instantly drawn to this game due to the name! Love the pixel graphics.

jackyjjc says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:12am

It is quite a fun game throwing random hats at robots. I find the control a bit clunky since both wasd and space keys are on one side of the keyboard.

Langouste says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Super Game! I love it ;) Thanks

ShaunJS says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Nice job!

I think the lose state is a little bit jarring, the getting hit animation is perfectly solid but because the "you lose" triggers instantly on losing your last piece of health it's a bit sudden and hard to tell where the damage came from.

Fun though, Well done!

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:08am

nice game! i loved it! i like the graphics and music, and the gameplay was awesome! =)

play and rate my game here:ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]