Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Quality Television

by crazya02 - Compo Entry

You've been wrongfully imprisoned! All that you have to your name is a television! Say, that could prove useful...

Distract the guards by placing a television in front of them! You can also keep workers from operating machinery with this thing.

Press CTRL+ALT+ENTER to toggle fullscreen.
(UPDATE 1: Crash when running the Windows versions is fixed now.)
(UPDATE 2: Fixed a cycle of death sometimes occurring in level 7.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#45Innovation4.07
#52Theme4.14
#60Overall3.91
#78Mood3.74
#86Audio3.71
#90Fun3.79
#102Humor3.74
#479Graphics3.16

Comments

jbasinger says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:19am

I can't get the game to load up =(
Following strerr.txt errors:

WARNING: Failed to locate critical resource 'assets/default.chr'.
WARNING: Failed to locate critical resource 'assets/edit.chr'.
WARNING: Failed to locate critical resource 'assets/smzx.pal'.
WARNING: Failed to locate critical resource 'assets/ascii.chr'.
WARNING: Failed to locate critical resource 'assets/blank.chr'.
WARNING: Failed to locate critical resource 'assets/smzx.chr'.

Neonlare says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:24am

Sadly can't get this game running, even when following the instructions. Any alternatives to getting the deal running? Looks like a good romp through the old graphical adventures of yore.

misterwalter says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:30am

This looks really cool, but I can't get it to work. I'm on Windows 7, and I tried running both versions, just to be sure. I found this in a file marked stderr:
WARNING: Failed to locate critical resource 'assets/default.chr'.
WARNING: Failed to locate critical resource 'assets/edit.chr'.
WARNING: Failed to locate critical resource 'assets/smzx.pal'.

crazya02 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:34am

Bug with running the game on Windows is fixed now!

mcmahoniel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:37am

Holy crap, amazing. I'd never heard of MegaZeux, somehow. This is a great concept, great execution, great all around. Well done.

rukai says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:57am

Fantastic game! Loved the concept, great execution.

rlangewi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:02am

Interesting concept, I felt that the enemies that hurt you were a little out of place in what otherwise was a puzzle-solving game, but overall I though it had a neat style and execution.

Chris Delta says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:28am

Windows x86 version came with the OSX version as well? just a note.

Hilarious and creative concept, well executed, graphics that enhance the mood, fantastic music, I really can't think of anything other than all fives to give this

LTPATS says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:08am

Wow this is fantastic. The TV mechanic is really cool, and the art style is very clean and well done. The music is also great and super catchy. The additional instruments playing when the TV is placed is a nice touch. Unfortunately I got stuck on level 4 but I'll probably try again later since I really liked this :). I would definitely love to see more of this game in the future. Great work!

hexdie says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:36pm

This is awesome! Really great entry! Very neat mechanic that fits the theme very well. Also the music is really great! I had a hard time putting this one down!

rmc says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:08pm

I like the concept, it's very well executed, but IMHO the mix of enemies hurting you in a game much more focused in the puzzle solving works more as a distraction than a challenge. Anyway, the great game, nice job.

mr_tag says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Wow, awesome puzzler! also loved the music, very catchy!

And thumbs up to the unconventional choice of framework! Never heard of Megazeux before :)

For those of you, who can't get past level 4 (took me some time, too!) a little spoilery hint: just like in real life people also get caught by the tv at an angle, not only directly in front of it ;)

echa says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:29pm

This game is perfect.

ianh says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Amazing game! The story and mechanics fit together perfectly, and the levels were fun without being excessively hard. The way the bgm changes when a TV is active is just perfect. Great design, great audio, everything about this game is great!

jmborden says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 3:34am

wtf did I just play? MegaZeux.. giving your games that modern 1994 feel.

May 2, 2015 @ 6:29am

Awesome :)

Nanolotl says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 6:33am

Really well done. A interesting mechanic used extremely well. Amazing job.

Madball says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 8:47am

Wow, such a classy game with such an old-school interface. It was fun playing it and discovering new mechanics, and I liked the ending! Many levels can be solved by brute force though.

spin-down says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Loved it. From the challenging levels to the down-right joy inducing graphics, everything about this game was spot on for me. This is easily one of my favourite entries so far.

matt beckett says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:52am

Fantastic game. Clever premise and I really enjoyed the music and sound fx - good job!

sararyCow says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 7:29am

I enjoyed the game a lot... until level 7, where I got literally stuck surrounded by enemies, they killed me before I could start and the only option was to reset my mac :/. If you could fix that bug (restart the level from the default set instead of the state you died last time) would be great.

But don't misunderstand me please, this is a great concept extremely well done. Good graphics, good music and very well designed levels and puzzles. Congrats! :)

May 5, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Played through it. Level 4 was quite hard! ;D Perhaps moving it to the end? Really enjoyed the overall game, you nailed it with that mechanic. Good job!

crazya02 says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 11:23pm

@sararyCow Looks like the autosave system is saving a little after loading the level, instead of immediately at the beginning. I'll see what I can do to fix it...

Druid says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:08pm

WTF?! A megazeux game here? :D Yeey! Childhood restored 200% :D And game is amazing :3

crazya02 says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 2:50am

@sararyCow Fixed!

NoWandStudios says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 7:40am

Nice idea but I can't move from the start zone in level 4. Nice work anyway.

TetraQuad says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 1:23am

Very interesting concept I like it :)
MegaZeux is very strange but also cool

May 12, 2015 @ 12:49am

Wow!!! this is way better than i expected. its a cool mechanic and very well executed too. i love the music!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]