Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Aqua Marine

by Bashabookoos - Jam Entry

You are a lone Deep Sea Diver, tasked with finding the root of the mutant curse that plagues the Ocean...blah blah blah. You're just in it for the Pearls! sweet, sweet Pearls. If you're Man enough to get them that is! Or should I say MARINE enough! AHHHHHahahahhhah hahaha ahaa

Fight your way over the Ocean Floor, Blast your Foes with Bubbles, Collect Rare Pearls, Become...Aqua Marine!!!


Controls:
-Player-
Arrow keys: move/jump/dive
Hold or Press Space: Fire weapon
Numbers 1-4: Select Weapon

-Game-
Delete key: Restart Game
Home key: Go to first Level
Esc Key: Exit Game

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#203Fun(Jam)3.51
#323Overall(Jam)3.44
#403Mood(Jam)3.22
#587Humor(Jam)2.70
#631Graphics(Jam)3.05
#833Innovation(Jam)2.47
#957Theme(Jam)2.47

Comments

Liam :D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Love the presentation and user experience. Great indicators of what you should be focusing on, where to go, etc. There are a few kiiinda cheap ways of killing you - like the time you get your first gun... and second gun... where an enemy rushes you, but those are all probably just effects of the lack of time. So yeah, really good entry.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Wow ! I went as far as level 6, and managed to collect only 2 perls. If the number of death was limited, I could have not gone that far !
I liked it. I will probably try it again and see if i can pass level 6.
Thanks !

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Lots of little details that were pretty great.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Nice PSX style side scroller graphics, got me nostalgic

DarkwindMedia says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:01pm

I love the little details of the animation, but I feel when the character falling down, it moves so slow

PapaCheech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Nice! Good graphics and the controls felt really good. I hit level 5.

ripatti says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Finished the game. I like hat of the final boss! Some pearls are so difficult to reach! Anyway, Good work!

snesgaard says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Pretty slick side scrolling shooter with nice controls and varied weaponry. I think that the swimming was actually quite good, something which a lot of games screw up.

Did encounter a few bugs that prevented me from completing the game, such as getting stuck when swimming directly down onto a surface or the framerate dying at level 6.

Overall a pretty good submission!

Kevlanche says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Great game! Bonuis points for actually teaching me about the weapons before diving (heh) into the difficult levels. Many LD games skip the tutorial part for some reason.

Controls were great, weapon &enemy variety was great, graphics was great & sound was good. I also really like that you managed to add an optional "hard mode" with the pearls. My only real negative feedback is that I'm not sure how unconventional guns are as weapons. I guess they are underwater bubble-blasting guns, but still :).

Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:48pm

The underwater platforming (if you can call it that) is very refreshing. The game has a very unique feel because of it. So great job on that.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:10pm

A simple but effective game. The mechanics and the difficulty curve were well handled, which is a good point. Since you can't shoot up though, the green fish tend to take too much advantage of that weakness. Overall a nice experience. Colors are a bit flashy though, not suited if you have glasses =').

DKoding says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Loved the mood in this one. Very effective soundscape. Had that undefinable quality that makes you want to play just one more round even if the gameplay was simple enough. Good game.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Solid entry, tight controls and satisfying weapons! The sound worked well too, and the enemy AI seemed well programmed for a weekend! GOOD JOB

vidarn says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Cool game. I liked the different weapons and the fast paced combat. You had a lot of levels with a nice amount of variation. The entire game felt polished and, most importantly, was really fun to play :)

StrayByte says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Overall a great fun game. A real classic! I like the bubble take on classic weapons. Loved the big black fishes and the screen rumble, good job!

Saker Games says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:31am

Super Fish exTerminator 2000. :P Those fishes are so annoying. I've blown all of them up. :D
Really fun game, it made me try again and again when I died.

thaaks says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:57am

Loved the graphics and the game play. Although not that unconventional weapons the game is fun and entertaining. The sound effects are good. I also liked the builtin tutorial start levels - very helpful.
Nice jam entry!

SoftCoconuts says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Very fun, also very tough! The enemies kill you instantly and they're FAST! Great graphics, I love the controls (very direct) and the sound effects are well done. Congrats!

Omiya Games says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 2:26am

I thought the weapons felt great, and there was a lot of satisfaction shooting enemies. I often thought I got stuck on some walls, however. Additionally, the controls were not precise enough to make some careful dodges. Honestly, I think the controls needs to be tighter.

epiplon says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 8:08pm

It was nice game. The weapons wasn't that "unusual". The gameplay was cool, being able to ascend/dive felt like freedom of movement.
I stopped at Level 4 because got frustrated, since being able to aim down for example would be very helpful. Graphics were also good for a Jam, no one should be minding about that, it's details.

Nice entry!

Bashabookoos says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 2:00am

Thanks everyone for your amazing feedback! I really appreciate it! :)

rburema says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 11:12am

thoughts:
- I like the way the 'jump' (float?) mechanics actually makes it feel closer to an underwater experience.
- The first 3 weapons didn't really seem that unconventional to me, the fourth makes (partially) up for this, though.
- Audio is (IMHO) decent enough that I'd have left it on the ratings.
- Nice to see so many games (including this one) meshing the tutorial with the actual gameplay.

Crowbeak says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 8:07am

I couldn't figure out a way to survive the narrow openings leading down to the three snails and the fish in level 4, but I like the game well enough. The controls were good.

May 5, 2015 @ 3:53am

Like the variety of weapons. Could use some overall polish and more content, but good job.

LukeZaz says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Was fun, but level 4 was too difficult. Got too frustrating to continue.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]