Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Magnetic Fields

by oparisy - Compo Entry

You can emit a magnetic field.

Use this unconventional weapon to defeat your enemy!

Edit: uploaded a fixed version with proper screen size detection and VSync.

Edit: added link to source code.

Edit: uploaded a fix to avoid halting on OS X if ARBDebugOutput is not available.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#520Theme3.38
#692Graphics2.83
#725Innovation2.85
#770Audio2.09
#800Overall2.89
#817Humor2.19
#822Fun2.74
#925Mood2.39

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Audio was a bit annoying. Graphics looked nice. Gameplay didn't seem to offer any variety throughout though.

Paulozz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Intersting concept, I would like to have more levels.

NMcCoy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Nice take on the theme - I like seeing games that incorporate unusual mechanics in order to fit the theme, and this does a good job of that.

Dynad says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Funny weapon using gravity, after kill the enemy once.. I thought you would get more enemies or a larger world with obstacles and such.. but yeah, its only 48 hours ;)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:49pm

The concept is good, but if I had more variety in gameplay, different reactions of the enemy, would be better.

Docjekyll says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:50pm

I got this error: "Could not find the main class: Capsule. Program will exit."

I'm running Windows 7 SP1

Smiley says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:17pm

java.lang.IllegalStateException: Function is not supported
at org.lwjgl.BufferChecks.checkFunctionAddress(BufferChecks.java:58)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.ARBDebugOutput.glDebugMessageCallbackARB(ARBDebugOutput.java:104)

on OS X 10.10 :(

f7f5 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:43pm

I like the idea, and it's kind of fun at the beginning, but it gets repetitive quickly once you find how to hit the AI.
Some more level with tougher enemies would have been great.

SpeirCeol says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Interesting concept, would like to see more, the noises were quite annoying tho. anyhow, thats a nice entry, good job!

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Mangetic mechanics are always interesting. But, need more variable enemies and levels.

oparisy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:30pm

@Docjekyll: I'd like to understand why the game does not start on your computer. What version of java do you have installed? Could you type "java -version" in the command line and give me the result? I'm afraid this will not work under Java 1.7.

Also, do you only have this error message, or can you provide me with a full stack trace?

oparisy says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:52am

@Smiley Thanks for you feedback! I coded this from scratch (no engine) so I am very interested in fixing issues on various platforms.

I uploaded a new version which should not halt with this error message on your system.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:43am

The sound effects could have been a bit more subtle. They were a little bit too... blunt I suppose? Some background ambiance would have also helped balance things a bit. With the visual style I'd imagine something sort of soothing. And the sound effects being very subtle.

The effects felt a little less like magnetic attraction and more like standard velocity and speed. It sort of just tries to move towards you as fast as it can, no matter how close or far away you are. Of course it doesn't have very good "brakes" haha, so it normally overshoots your positions. I'd imagine this is what's going on behind the scenes, which is why it feels like it does. It would have been interesting if it were more like a magnet, and you have to move towards it to pull, but there's the danger of it getting too close and... well, you know, you've probably played with magnets before.

Semantics aside, the gameplay is straightforward and generally works well. I was slightly confused at first as to what was going on but I picked up soon enough how the game worked and what I needed to avoid and lure around. Played one round successfully and felt like I had enough.

It gets a bit tedious attracting the thing around into the wrenches. You pick up pretty quickly how easily the thing overshoots you and it's pretty simple to get it to go where you want it to go. So the challenge and learning how to lure it around was a bit bland.

Art wise the game is kind of pleasing all considering. The colors chosen were nice, though I don't think the wrenches fit with the rest of the game's geometry. They felt pretty out of place to be honest and I think substituting them for something more abstract and basic would have gone along with the other pieces well.

oparisy says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:49pm

@CriticalMammal Thanks for your detailed review. This is my first LD compo and I spent 80% of my time coding the underlying rendering code and interfacing it with physics. This definitely lacked playtesting and adjusments.

I designed most of the game with basic placeholders (cubes and tores) and quickly did some modeling at the end to replace them; hence perhaps the mismatch your perceived.

The movements of the enemy are force-based but this is not supposed to model a gravity field; the player/wrenches interaction does, though.

Langouste says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Super Game! I love it ;) Thanks

jhell says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 8:41am

Managed to kill the enemy despite the lack of azerty support :D. Really cool idea, I would've liked an effect when my field is active, but other than that, pretty fun.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]