Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Ants Attack

by rg_rem - Compo Entry

Ants attack! Use blower-vac and bonfire to stop them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#152Theme3.88
#289Innovation3.49
#375Humor3.06
#452Audio2.88
#515Fun3.10
#542Graphics3.07
#599Overall3.12
#648Mood2.82

Comments

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:46am

The fire is WAY too small - seems like it could have had much more generous collision and the game would instantly be a lot more fun. I like the concept though - maybe more fires so you aren't just constantly orbiting a central point?

manabreak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:49am

Quirky twist on the theme! I like it, although it's rather difficult. :p

Hammers says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:51am

Yes! Beat it! Certainly an unconventional pest control method!

rg_rem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:55am

ManicMiner, i think you're right

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:48pm

First I thought WTF but then I suddenly got it. Cool concept! 10/10 best game ever, would play again. :-) Please rate my game at http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=16225

met44 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Man this is so hard but i also really liked it !!!

Lacks of balance and makes my super rig lag after a while but anyways the best score I've given so far :D

Awsome job !!!

Sanka.X says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Like the idea but like ManicMiner said a bigger fire or more fire for the ease of play would be a nice touch.

When there is like 400 ants it totally crash my browser, so maybe something to kill a large amount of then (like throwing the vacuum) would be nice, or a way to cap the population.

Suvidriel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Hehe really nice idea :D Pretty difficult though

Sytech says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Fun and addictive game! The fire could have been bigger.

thumbgarden says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Great concept. It would be a cool game if you had to use a shed full of yard tools to defeat hoards of pesky critters. haha fun game

jk5000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Great idea but much too difficult.

calavera says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Awesome! hard but fun. I really like the music.

Fanttum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:31am

Haha what an interesting idea. Was kinda hard, but fun to play.

Karai17 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:25am

The game was amusing. I felt that the ants were relentless and it was difficult to kill them, they eventually stack up and kill you instantly. Perhaps a little balance, or having ants come in waves?

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:40am

Cute idea, plays smoothly but seems pretty difficult to win.

eddynardo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:42am

Nice game, I would only add a dificulty level where the fire is bigger and the ants whould spawn slower..Btw at some point I started lagging too much..maybe too many enemies at once

MaesK says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:48am

Nice game! Quite hard, but it's a very original idea. Good music, and a health bar would be great. Keep it up!

rishal says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Nice idea. A bit difficult though.

May 1, 2015 @ 6:09am

Awesome use of innovative mechanics! Though, it's too difficult due to the constant stream of ants, there should be a pause sometimes, or a way to blow them farther. When they get behind you, you're basically screwed! :P

steboots says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:48pm

This was really hard! I found that evasion until the ants became a single unified mass was my best strategy. Had fun with this game, nice!

gv1351 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Controls are a bit weird

May 6, 2015 @ 1:41am

Overall, really nice game. Either a slightly bigger fire or more fires would have made it easier. More fires might have made it more exciting, even if they were small.

May 6, 2015 @ 2:39am

I didn't quite catch the idea immediately, (the fire wasn't terribly clear) but it's an interesting take on the concept.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]