Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Orb of Power

by NoSoupForYou - Jam Entry

Worked solo on this game for the compo and wasn't originally going to post it, but decided to upload it for the jam in the end.

Play as a random dude with a magical orb and fight your way through a dungeon with an experimental physics-based throwing mechanic while solving puzzles. If the physics based throwing is not to your liking then a point and shoot system is in place as well.

All code, art, and audio assets are original content made in 48 hours. Game programmed in the Unity game engine with C#.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#244Fun(Jam)3.43
#315Innovation(Jam)3.39
#330Overall(Jam)3.43
#342Theme(Jam)3.61
#426Audio(Jam)2.96
#637Mood(Jam)2.89
#1436Coolness46%

Comments

PinkIndian says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Glad you decided to post your game, it was fun. I really liked the ball mechanics and the maneuvers you could do with it. There were some strange things but overall fun to play.

Issacchaos says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Love the balls!

Luke Molnar says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:27am

Lonely mac :(

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:38am

In spite of its simplistic visual style and some of the frustration in trying to get the ball tossing working, I really like this game! The visual style is like an atari-ized zelda 2 dungeon and when the tossing actually works as expected its pretty satisfying.

I would recommend locking the mouse to the game window though, even when running full screen the game still lost mouse focus because of multiple monitors.

Great work!

blob says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:07am

I love mouse controlled games. I really liked that dunggeon music too. :)
However the ball was pretty much impossible to control ( i absolutely couldnt get my arm to the left side at all...) and ultimately my ball got stuck in a wall.

reheated says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:41am

This is really fun. The physics works well, the puzzles are well designed and the combat is quite fun. I particularly like the guards with shields - you can try to sneak the orb past the shield or you can throw it over them and recall it to hit them from behind. (I didn't try playing with the non-physics based throwing because it seemed like cheating.)

The game is called "Orb of power" so I had high expectations and laughed when the first thing I had to do with it was throw it at a button.

Tortoise says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:54am

I'm glad you submitted it. I liked the concept with tossing the orb. The whole feel of the game seems (this is a guess) inspired from Links Adventure II and Metroid. I liked the enemy design where the shield moves to defend the knight. The music was a bit loud to start off. but otherwise nice job!

Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:02am

Pretty neat mechanic. The physics were pretty satisfying, though I found a bug where jumping and hitting a spring at the same time would do a super jump. The throwing controls took a bit of time to get used to. I tried "1", "L", and "i" and didn't see a difference (Couldn't tell what key was being referenced).

radmars says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:11am

Nice! The puzzles are really clever and the combat is really fun (though it's really easy to kill the spear guys by getting the ball behind them and pulling it back). Awesome work.

BluShine says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:31am

Interesting mechanic, and great use of the theme.

The two enemies provided some nice challenges, as well as the puzzles. It was pretty fun at first, but didn't seem to have much variety after the first few rooms. I wish the colors and music would change as I advanced in the game. The music and graphics could definitely use some work, but it's way better than a silent game with boxes!

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:38am

Fun game and innovative approach. Audio wasn't very pleasing and neither were graphics, but I guess that's why you didn't apply to it.
Game's a bit buggy (enemies going through walls, or the orb getting stuck in it ending my play), but still enjoyed playing it.
Would be nice if there were some indicators as to where I was aiming at though.
Anyhow, good game.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:38am

There were two big problems with control. First, it was hard to tell where the ball was aimed. Maybe adding an arrow or making the cursor visible would fix that. The other problem was that the cursor wasn't grabbed... I was constantly clicking outside the game window. I'm glad you posted the game, though. It's a great concept.

6DownStudios says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:13am

Love the mechanic, fun both in combat and puzzles. At first I thought I'd gotten the ball stuck on that bouncy bit, but I released the floor and stairs were placed just such that even though I couldn't return the ball, I could roll towards the button a bit at jump's peak.

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:33am

I like the Adventure of Link-ish theme! This is the second Zelda-like game I have seen in LD32 where you use a ball. The physics are pretty neat and the dungeon is challenging and fun!

Kaijuu says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:49am

Cool idea, but alltime my mouse clicked outside of window(mac)

resty says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:56am

This is a nice entry, get to the end (no boss so I win I think), really fun.
Level design is good.

The ball sometimes get trapped by some gear, so I have to quit game and start from beginning. I think add a key to make ball magically return to hand would be good(maybe take some time/hp etc...)

Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Level design! An interesting weapon! Puzzles! I love it. It's well balanced too; challenging without being frustrating. I completed it on the third attempt. It's a shame it wasn't a compo entry. Only critisism I can think of is that the flicking is a bit hard. Nine times out of ten, the ball goes more or less where I want it, but sometimes it just falls to the floor. It's probably me not being consistent in my mouse movements, but maybe it's possible to do something about it. I love the feeling of throwing the ball and pulling it back (especially up behind the back of an enemy!). Well done!

IamAcoconut says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:31am

The game is pretty good :) The art could do some work, but the overall gameplay was nice. I liked the orb mechanic, the hand moving was a little weird, as sometimes it would get stuck, but it still worked okay. When I lost nothing happened, you should probably add a retry button. The game itself is pretty fun, I really liked the swooping enemies and trampolines :) Overall, good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]