Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Color Backfire

by Kostyan1996 - Compo Entry

So, it's my first game, it;s very simple, I tried to do my best, rate, enjoy!

Game about not killing down enemies by your bullets, but killing them by their own bullets!

Goal: kill all enemies before they get to end point (crossed circle)! Your base (this endpoint) have 3 lives, you have 3 lives and enemies have 3 lives.

Controls:
WASD or arrow keys to move, mouse to aim, Z to off/on sound, 's' + 'u' + 'r' to survival mode (sorry, but score shows in console!).

Post-compo changelog:
20.04.2015:
- Made sound little more quiet;
- Made space between walls on level 5 and survival level wider.

21.04.2015:
- Fixed first level game over bug;
- Fixed enemies didn't spawn after game over if all spawned before bug;
- Fixed early win after game over bug;
- Fixed bug when last enemy takes out your healts you still win.

27.04.2015:
- Greatly lowered difficulty of level 5, now it should be playable.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#248Innovation3.56
#542Fun3.06
#583Overall3.14
#653Theme3.22
#686Audio2.37
#746Mood2.70
#867Humor2.06
#908Graphics2.43

Comments

Markus Becker says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:17pm

The game is good.
I don't think lasers are really unconventional in games, but I still liked the gameplay. Sadly the game didn't throw any enemys at me on the first level with the color functionality, so I had to start over again.

haveric says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:21pm

I like the mechanic of using the enemies weapons against them. The sounds seemed a bit loud though and distracting.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Really enjoyed your game. It's not often than an Atari-style game peaks my interest, but you did really well. There are a few bugs in the loading, but it is to be expected. Nice use of Java and lwjgl.

Kostyan1996 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Sorry, I had to make it full random (spawn and shoot), because I had not much time adding proper timers...

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Fun and challenging game. Good job!

Zielak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Great idea, would make for a big puzzle game. I like it!
I got stuck at "More colors more fun!" level, couldn't make by tank fit in those narrow tunnels :)

Yvanor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Pretty cool game, from a good idea ^^ But in the first level with Red, Blue and Green color, it's almost impossible to pass between the two wall ;p

Kostyan1996 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Yep, collision is bad for now, I'll try to fix this

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:20pm

ok, that was pretty clever. the color mechanic was a nice touch. nicely done!

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:11pm

its a funny classique shoot them up

Huo-cuo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Quite challenging but not so hard. I just did not find player's health.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Seems like a solid foundation for an action puzzle game, but I can't say for certain as the enemies stop spawning on the 4th level after dying and restarting.

Phil Strahl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:19pm

So the unconventional weapon is you being immune to lasers? Anyway the game is nice and clean, the sounds minimalist but fitting and the concept is new to me. The mechanic involving different colors was a bit arcane to me, I never quite knew how much life-points I had left and the movement felt too slow. Personally, I would have liked it to switch colors via keys than to go back and forth between the dots, but that's just a matter of personal opinion I guess.

Overall a nice puzzler with a hint of tower defense feeling.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Okay, first of all, great idea! Reflecting bullets back at your attackers it tons of fun, and there's room for plenty of depth. Unfortunately, defending against multiple colours at once is practically impossible.

I saw you said you didn't have time to add spawn orders, but an alternative would be to just not have lasers damage you. Making puzzles based on racing between colour pads so you can kill the enemies closing in on your goal sounds like it would more fun that trying to stop more than one colour from sticking around.

A great showing for your first Dare though!

Shugor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:47pm

First off, a pretty important bug; if you get a game over on the tutorial levels after the spawner stops creating enemies, it doesn't create any after you continue, meaning you're stuck on the level until you restart the game. It's nothing too bad, just something I wanted to make sure you were aware of.
That being said, this is a pretty fun game. I like how you used all of the different colors to make it more and more challenging, although the survival level can become pretty cruel if it spawns two enemies of different colors right after each other. It would be interesting to see how this could develop if it was worked on for any longer. Great job~

snade says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:50pm

I like the idea of bouncing lasers back to the source! Maybe a little bit too hard?

Kostyan1996 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:36pm

Thank you kindly all for the feedback and especially for bugs you found! I fixed them, if you will find another - please tell me, I really appreciate it.
Also, about difficulty - for now difficulty on last levels based purely on random - if you get few enemies of the same color - you win, if not - you loose, sorry for that, I had not much time for it, but now I will try to make proper gameplay, so stay tuned for updates! :D

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:00pm

The reflecting bullets mechanic is pretty cool. The color mechanic is very interesting and I think it hold potential. However, as it stands, it is very unforgiving. I had a hard time getting past the level with multiple colors. Still, I think you're on to something! Good work!

Feyd_Rautha says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Fun game, I think there were some bugs with the color killing. Also with post game over play for sure. Over all though it was a lot of fun, good stuff!

Kostyan1996 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:21pm

@Feyd_Rautha, did you played LD version or post-compo? I thought, I fixed bug with post game over play.

shrapx says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:47pm

I was doing ok til the 3-colours level, then i couldnt avoid getting hit. mechanics didnt have to change so fast after every level, to get used to aim and such.

abcdef65g says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Congratulations for your first game, it is really a great game considering time constraints and team size. I know it doesn't feel like it fits the theme, but still. You should be really proud, it is fast, dynamic, if this game was released for a console like the Atari I believe it would have been a successful title. Stay strong and I am sure your next games will be even better!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Cool game! I couldn't get past the level with multiple colors, unfortunately.

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Very cool idea, but the level with multiple colors is reeeally hard.

rjhelms says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Nice idea. Good progression between the levels introducing a new concept on each one - it got pretty unforgiving by the end, but had a nice ramp-up to that point.

Kostyan1996 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:59pm

So, greatly lowered difficulty, now it should be playable.

Langouste says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Super Game! I love it ;) Thanks

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Woah this was real nice, retro like game.
Gameplay felt solid too.
Keep working on it...

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:32pm

First off, the "Windows (Java)" version doesn't work. It complains about lwjgl. The windows+source (post compo) version worked for me.

Nevertheless, very simple but cool mechanic! The graphics were consistent and didn't interfere with the gameplay, dito for the sound. Took me a while to figure out you could actually aim the reflected bullets, it got a lot better after that :)

kirbytails7 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 12:43am

Pretty good. It's a bit slow to ramp up.

volkoivan says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 7:13am

Really nice!
The idea is very cool and innovative on my opinion
Liked it very much, the gameplay is interesting, fun and teaches the player how to play the game through the gameplay
The second multicolor level is really hard, couldn't pass it after 4 tries :(
But it was really nice, 5/5 man
И да, привет из Челябинска!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]