Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Rainbow Tank

by ManicMiner - Compo Entry

Destroy the Russians with your rainbow laser tank.

WASD/Arrow keys to move, Mouse to Fire

Score multiplier increases for each enemy you destroy with a single rainbow beam.

Time caught up with me a bit and I wasted too much time trying to write good music, so the visuals are very basic. Still, pretty pleased with the end result as this was my first ever game jam :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#326Audio3.12
#452Fun3.16
#494Humor2.79
#504Overall3.22
#634Graphics2.93
#678Mood2.77
#905Theme2.81
#1054Innovation2.13

Comments

gamedevBear says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:44am

An error about 'PlayMaker Unity 2D' pops up right after starting the game, but after clicking the tiny close button, the game plays really well. The controls feel great. I managed to get over 250 health :D
(I was playing the Web version)

Neonlare says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:02am

Plays well, not particularly innovative (it's Tanks) but it played well and was fun for the time. The rainbow plays more like a flamethrower, but for a first game jam entry this is very balanced on all fields, good stuff, good work, good times abound~ :D

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:30am

Fun game. Nice player feedback too, with solid mechanics. Good overall! had a nice time playing this, even if it is a bit simple.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:40am

Awesome game! Loved the concept and the execution was spot on. That said, it was a bit too easy - perhaps some stronger enemies or more of them at a time would be called for?

manabreak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:50am

I like the music, it reminds me of the old Duck Tales games back in the days of NES. :)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:54am

Fun game to play! Really liked how the turret took a bit to match the mouse position.

Awesome job!

iSamurai says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:22am

It brings me back to the good old days, nice work! I like the part that I need to predict the enemy's movement and shoot.

deadarius says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:27pm

That was highly political

Bastienre4 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Menu title is awesome ! The gameplay is well balanced, even if it's a little bit easy.

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:07pm

nice graphics, i liked the pixely feel. not too innovative however, but It was fun to play. I had a great time.

ajopart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Good one. The music is particularly great. Can't stop playing. But maybe a little too easy. Great job !

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:17pm

True story about the game being too easy - it was, until 10 minutes before submission deadline, really, REALLY hard... the I halved the spawning rate on the enemies to test something, and erm... yeah, forgot to put it back :)

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:19pm

10/10 best game ever, would play again. :-) Please rate my game at http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=16225

maunovaha says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Nice little tank game. I really enjoyed the musics. The weird error console affected little about the game, but I managed to close it. Nice game considering that this is your first game jam entry. :) !

Marcellus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Nice entry, was fun and challenging. A tank firing rainbow is quite a square take on the theme.

Marcellus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Nah, screw conventions.

Your game looks good, the music is very nice, but a tank firing rainbow instead of bullets is suck a basic redneckish interpretation of what could have been a poetical view on weapons. How dare you saying this :

"Also not sure how it fits the theme, and feel like it might have been a design for a different theme that has been retrofitted with a "gun""

about my game, as yours totally correspond your own critic ?

People like you makes me sad about the future of ludum dare.

A tank firing rainbow... why no a gun that revives zombies...

Pityfull.

Azurency says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Fun game, the music is good and the rainbow are so cool !!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:12pm

The only thing missing was unicorns! It plays very well and I like the presentation, particularly the effect on the title text. Definitely fun to play. Cracking tune too!

Havacore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:32pm

I really liked this one! Got me laughing pretty good once the music started. I would've liked to see some more to it, like different enemy types, bombs, etc, but with time constraint I know that's difficult to pull off.

Good work on this one!

McFish says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:34pm

This reminds me of old c64 games :)

kyyrma says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:37pm

At first I just shot out single rainbows, but then I realized I can hold down the button to spew out glorious rainbow puke. A pretty solid entry! Wish the in-game graphics were as well thought out as the intro screen.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:12pm

I'm getting that playmaker error as well, but was able to run the game anyways after closing the log. Nice overall entry. Great audio and polish. Not enough variety though. Maybe a couple powerups or another enemy type would help.

scorched says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Why shall one destroy us?

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Really sorry about the playmaker error people are getting - honestly I've NEVER seen it so I can't really fix it - it sounds like the game is perfectly playable, so its probably just some weird bit of Unity nonsense - If anyone can send me a grab of the error, that would be fantastic as then I can at least have a look at what might be causing it

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Great first entry, really fun and simple gameplay!

QuexD says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:59pm

I LOVE IT

MrSchlag says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Very cool, i enjoy playing this game, Great music!

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Fun tank game, gets repetitive after a bit; but Oh those Russians, they are so charming with that intro screen.

matthewd673 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Despite being fairly short, I really enjoyed this game. Especially the music, nice job!

anokta says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:16am

loooved the art style, especially the title screen is so cute! :) fun to exploit the rainbow mechanic as well, haha. nicely done!

PapaCheech says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:25am

Should have rainbow explosions when you die

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:26am

reminds me of "Smash TV" on the nes. really fun and brought back some cool retro memories. i enjoyed this game and think it has potential to continue. the audio was pretty strong too. good work!

LTPATS says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:27am

Fun game, the sounds effects were really satisfying and the music was catching. Got a little boring after a bit, but could definitely have a lot more potential with some more enemies or abilities. Great work!

EwChap says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:07am

Nice tank controls and turret speed/rotation.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:51am

Reminds me of Smash TV meets Combat. The art is pretty fun!

Murchurl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:22am

Nice simple game. I lasted a while :p

Good job

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:38pm

The text was great, really liked the way you did the Title Screen text. Did wish it was a bit harder though but congratulations on completing your first Ludum Dare.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Tetris Docet!
Btw Great entry! :D

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Funny game, remembers me the game Robot Unicorns from Adult Swim Game :D

Teesquared says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Robotron with tanks and rainbows. Nice! Very polished and fun. I like the screen shake, controls, and fly text. Music and graphics are awesome too. I called it quits at 73K with more health than I started so the difficulty was a bit off. It gives new meaning to "taste the rainbow."

SuperMsp10 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:13pm

great game

steboots says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:10am

Music fit the graphics nicely, was oddly fun to shoot rainbows at tanks to watch them explode.

rjhelms says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:00am

I love the music.

Not bad at all for your first game jam - can't go wrong with a compelling game mechanic that's well executed, and you've got that here for sure.

goblin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:00am

Reminded me of an old game for game boy i used to play. Great music and gameplay, nice job!
check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

DesignerNap says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Fun little game, a bit too easy and no difficulty curve but well presented.

Sytech says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Fun game, great music and nice graphics! I like the arcade style of it.
I would have liked an increase in difficulty though, it was a bit too easy. Also I noticed a bug where you could go outside the map with your tank and shoot into the playfield, without ever being shot back at.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]