Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

SNIFF

by dyfer - Jam Entry

SNIFF is a game in which you can use drugs on yourself or your enemies to get out of a crazy hospital ! But beware of side effects ...


We created all assets, 3D models, animations, sounds, scripts, level design, concept during the last 72 hours and we've been very ambitious with this game that could be widely improved but we strongly suggest you to try it because that's a really insane experience ...

BugFix : After two days we decided to do a minor update to fix the MouseLook bug when player is upside down.

BugFix2 : Ok, it's been almost three weeks now that we made SNIFF and we decided to publish a fixed version of the game. Character controller is way better now so you can normally jump over rays. We also made the drugs easier to pick up and they are not ignoring enemies hitboxes anymore. Enjoy !

---------------------------------------------------

Controls:

Pick Up : E
Sniff : F or Command
Throw : Left Click
Switch : Right Click
Jump : Space

---------------------------------------------------

Game by Aby Batti (@Tzabslo) & Ferdinand Dervieux (@Dyfer08)
music by Romain Dorey

Drugs are BAAAAD !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#104Innovation(Jam)3.80
#120Mood(Jam)3.71
#128Theme(Jam)3.92
#176Overall(Jam)3.64
#198Graphics(Jam)3.94
#227Audio(Jam)3.39
#335Fun(Jam)3.29
#423Humor(Jam)3.06

Comments

cowboycolor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:53am

Hahahaha woah man! This is freakin sweet. I feel sick though oh my god in a good way. Love the crazy effects of the drug

netgrind says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:58am

I would have enjoyed it more if you didn't try to game-ify it so much. having to go back to the start was a total bummer.
nice shaders though :)

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:24am

The drug effect was very interesting and well done. I had a hard time getting past the first set of pits - the character's jump seems to just barely make it and I got frustrated having to start over from the beginning over and over.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:24am

The effects are awesome. The mouse controls are a little buggy.

ss64games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:27am

This is great! Really enjoy the concept, although the mental hospital theme both tired and insensitive to people who suffer in those institutions. I feel that the drugs threw so slowly that it was very difficult to accurately land them at a pursuer's feet. If they acted faster I could aim them much better. I also think the blue drugs may as well knock off the baddies just like the red, as stalling them temporarily didn't seem to add much. In terms of aesthetic presentation: audio was definitely noticeably weaker than game's graphics which were superb. Overall: excellent work!

Aumni says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:38am

The drug effect looked super cool! Good job! :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:13am

Nice hahaha :)

Bsevers18 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:16am

Reall cool drug effects, the blue one is great :D Neat mechanics and nice wats of creating puzzles with them. Very cool

hexdie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:38am

I really like the concept and the mechanics! The graphics and music are great as well. The jumping and the controls need some work though. Still, great job!

anokta says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:39am

just. awesome.

Jyrkface says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:43am

Great game, beautiful visuals. Even without all the pretty shaders that hospital looks slick.

sararyCow says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:44am

Interesting entry. Would be interesting to add a health system, difficulty is quite high right now.

I agree this is a concept to explore. I'm still on red drug :p.

Wayward says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:52am

Nice idead and well nice fitting graphics, but gameplay felt unnecessarily hard. Jumping felt weird and i died way to oft to enemies because of three things: They stand in place while i predicted they would have noticed me, the splash was to small, or they noticed me, i throwed the drug and then the splash took way to long.

dydx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:53am

Great design, fun & interesting gameplay.

I found that you can go super fast by holding 2 movement keys (W+A or W+D). You can clear really big gaps this way... I got myself stuck in an area I wasn't supposed to have access to.

Pinpickle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:01am

Trippy! I found the lasers really hard to get over and they kept killing me. It was very fortunate that the game had checkpoints, though.

Aevek says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:01am

Love it. The multiple paths on the later levels were really cool, and the level design made for some really interesting scenarios.

qapn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:18am

Shiiiit, this is awesome. Just awesome. Great take on the theme. Visually fantastic - you picked a great minimalist art style and it works brilliantly for your style of game.

What lets you down I think is just a product of the rushed development - the controls feel floaty and difficult, and the difficulty scale is sort of all over the place. I had a lot of trouble lining up my drug bottles.

I hope you expand on this post-jam, you got something here!

bazld says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:00am

Very clever idea, that hospital feels creepy!

I'd 2nd others comments about tightening the controls, and perhaps the check-pointing.

Tuism says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:05pm

I was just wondering the other day what to do with that new Unity free screen effects like the twisty thing :) Really rad, great presentation, nice concept, but it all seems pretty arbitrary - what I mean is that I don't know what I'm doing, despite there being a tutorial.

The pills go through the orderly when you throw it at them - I guess the collision is only with the ground, which seems like a bug.

Then a pill making you go through doors would do what to someone else? Surely the same thing? It doesn't make sense mechanically that way.

Sometimes the mouse seemed to lock up without any reason I could tell.

Generally good, but I'd like to see more mechanical consistency for this to be fun.

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Awesome!!! Drugs, music, visual.

However, movement is quite bugged (unnormalized) Diagonal speed is much higher.

PurpleApes says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Great Game!

SadSmile says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Good game :D

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Very cool! Love the visual style, great sense of mood. The drug effects are pretty awesome as well.

Robber says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:28pm

very good mood and sound, nice implementation of the idea!

fixitteam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Now that's a mindblowing idea. The distortion effect is awesome and really fun.

And this game has some really good UI.

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Being in the heat of the chase is pretty fun! Make it easier to pick up the drug bottles though. I love the minimalistic graphics and color scheme. Reminds me of Mirror's Edge

ElectroYak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Really interesting concept, the crazy drug effect is cool

steboots says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:00am

Drugs are bad? Did not get that from this game. Been looking for red and blue drugs ever since.

Jellyhard says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:12am

The drug effects and the overall visuals are really cool.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:34am

Loved it!

goblin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:18am

Interesting concept and mechanics, liked the music and graphics aswell. Althought the movement seemed a bit weird and the camera stuck after effect of blue pill
Check ours too if you want http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

eskivor says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:26am

Distorsions are pretty cool !
When an enemy caught me, there was an Unity console error.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:01pm

I love the red drug effect :D. Nice concept.

peterkirk says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:11pm

I severely love the "use item for ability or weapon" balancing act you had. Visual the game is simple, but amazing to look at, especially the drug effects. I got lost towards the end and found the estimating the jump to get over the laser frustrating at times. Good Work.

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Loved the visual effects and the base concept! I felt that there could have been a better explanation of some of the drug's effects

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Really nice game. The shaders and effects were cool!

Filoox says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:00pm

I was immediately addicted, I want more drugs!

CraftMuch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Interesting concept and setting, I really like the look of the enemies.

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Great game design, using drug effect is a cool idea!
I just want to comment please add checkpoint notification.

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:33pm

There's something I just love about polygonal art like that. Great color coding too! Very good.

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:48pm

I absolutely love the trippy effects. Good job! You should definitely do a post-jam version!

Bensonance says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:40pm

This game is fantastic! Excellent on all accounts. However the jump is very floaty " Which may be your intention" but it made jumps harder than they needed to be because it was hard to pinpoint where I was. Otherwise very good work.

scumbly says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Great work! Super easy to get disoriented so I would have appreciated some type of indicator of what direction the exit was, and I had some occasional issues with mouse look, but otherwise quite a successful game.

lowcade says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:04pm

I love the concept! The colors and effects are amazing. Great job!

sputnik says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:01pm

REally good art style! Love it!

Simon says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:07pm

This is really cool, the idea is great and the mood feels right. I just wish it was less linear and gamey you know like I feel you could have done something really weird!

dyfer says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:11am

HI! A thousand THANKS to all of you for your encouraging comments and feedbacks. It was a huge pleasure to make this game and that’s really the best reward to see you playing and enjoying it.

We take note of everything you tell us and be sure that we will implement and fix SNIFF to offer a better experience.

Actually we just pushed a little bug fix that was really annoying: the mouse look problem. During the JAM we did’nt get the time to implement a smooth Mouse Look when Player is going upside down. It was a pain in the ass but in the rush we let it like this and submitted a buggy version. We just fixed that and we have to say that’s wayyyyy better now.

There is of course a lot more to do but for now we want to let the game as we did it during the jam.

As a few people asked for it and we want to go further, we wil do a post jam version and implement a few ideas you gave us like checkpoints feedbacks, better tutorial, physic corrections, etc…

THANKS again for your support and be sure that we go rate games of each people who posted a comment on this page.

Much love and JAM spirit !

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:44am

I thought it was a great concept - I was a little unclear on my objectives though (potentially deliberate?). You nail the look though!

jhell says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:58am

Vraiment intéressant, bravo pour tous les effets, et l'ambiance que vous avez créée ! C'était parfois un peu frustrant de réussir à attraper les pilules avec le petit point (notamment si un ennemi nous poursuit), mais ceci mis à part vraiment impressionné par le boulot (et joli doublage :p).

Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:37am

AWESOME concept and really looks nice, please make more of this!

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:29am

Simple game but nice animation on taking any drugs! Nice implementation of the game!

Pugzarella says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:45am

You are tremendo!, great game!. i hate lasers.

Dejvo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:14pm

fun game. drugs can be pretty common as a weapon though but good game. there's defenetly potential and i am impressed. keep it up

Dagatts says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Loved it! Very innovative. A few gramatical errors and the Quit button doesn't work but good job man! =)

C.Lodwick says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:44pm

visually interesting some really neat effects. found the obstacles a little too inconsistent or not telegraphed well enough

renatopp says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Cool stuff, great idea. Congratulations for your game.

Taldius says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:47pm

The idea is really good, and the art is amazing, however I'm not really a fan of the character physic and the game is pretty difficult. Also knowing where the checkpoints are could have been cool.
Anyway, these are just details, you have done a great job!

ccglp says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Quite original, the drugs are BAAAAAAD people, don't consume it. But sometimes, they make games like this, good work :)

OrkyOrks says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Great jam entry! Controls were tight and it was easy to get in to. Jumping over the lasers was annoying though.

dieblume86 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Crazy game!!!

joe40001 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Really cool/inventive game. I can't fathom how you did the twisted camera distortion in unity, is that a special library or something? Also can I ask what FPS controller you used? Or did you write the script from scratch for LD as well.

Great stuff, good graphics, cool mechanic. A bit hard but I beat it and I like challenging games.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Really really good entry! Loved the effects when you took the drugs, the graphics were smooth and so was the audio. Was a little frustrating jumping over the lasers though! Overall, really good job!

chromebookbob says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:25pm

It reminds me of SUPERHOT a bit, I liked the concept and art style. The music was a little repetitive, the web version is a bit broken. I could clip through walls and doors.

Lyje says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Great concept, fantastic art and animation, superb music. Mechanics could do with a lot of polish though - jumping is frustratingly floaty, upside-down drug causes all sorts of control problems while transitioning, enemy hitboxes feel unfair, thrown drugs passing straight through enemies is frustrating.

recursor says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:27pm

I'm digging the graphical style on this. Even without the drug effects it is pretty nice to look at.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Wow. Id love to see an expansion of this with more side effects and different guard reactions.

juaxix says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Very good job with the colors and the gameplay,

Jasonsumm says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Cool concept! :D

hbocao says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Very innovative! Beautiful art too, the controls are kinda wonky (WEB version). Nice job overall!

Blobo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:15am

Amazing game! i found a bug allowing you to easily skip huge portions of the game by hugging the wall though. i really love the drug effect and i wish this game had more!

Fanttum says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:24am

Cool idea. Some of the words sounded weird, and kinda hard if you mess up, but nice.

dyfer says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:32am

-> joe40001 : Hi! for the distorted camera we used the Vortex image effect form Unity. You have many powerfull post process camera effect in there. Concerning the Character Controller we coded our own from scratch (mouse look, controls, physics) but that was not our best idea cause we didn't have the time to polish it. Anyway we learnt a lot by making it and that's what we are looking for when participating in a jam so no regrets and we will polish it later.

safran says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:08am

I really like the drug effect! Very difficult to play though.

gormed says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:13pm

How stoned while programming? :D
Srsly: Very Funny Idea....Drugs as a Weapon.
Nice Sounds
The Graphics: Well 3D Game for 72h Jam, nothing more to say so its fine.
The only thing i dont like: After 10 mins. of playing i still didnt found sth. like Game Goal. Maybe a tutorial or Hint is needed

BeardoGames says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Absolutely fantastic, this is an incredibly well done game! I was blown away by the quality of the graphics-- especially the drug effects! Super trippy, super cool! Excellent work!

uvwar says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:01am

I got very frustrated with the controls and eventually got stuck and died 1000 times so I gave up :( Really cool effects/graphics/music though!

joe40001 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:28am

Thanks for the response, yeah unity has some standard character controller librarys but they are kinda lame. You game is really great, about the only negative is that it's disorienting as far as where you are and where you are headed, and the hitboxes on the spin lasers on the final hallway aren't clear (I had to just dodge them, but they are low enough that it looks like you can jump them).

These are super minor complaints though, the only reason a game like this wouldn't get top 10 in Ludum Dare is just because the competition is so competitive. Basically, you made an awesome game and you deserve a high ranking for it.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:59am

Interesting game... Would like to see the use of 'drugs' to be a bit more creative like the very first one I used at the start to get through the door. (at least i think it was the reason I got through the door) Like warping the players reality briefly to open up a different path.

Dhim says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:27am

Amazing, a bit sensitive on a track pad though

GarethIW says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Nice, The drugged effect works well.

CH

Lady Beardo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:01am

Super stylish-- neat stuff.

Squarlboy says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:41am

interesting, although a bit hard to control.

skylerWithAnE says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:17am

Very cool game, very cool effects. Lasers rekt me.

gillenew says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:31am

Lol, this game made me travel a lot :D
good job with this hallucinogen

grillaface says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:53am

SOOO DOPE. Really drives home what an influence music can be on a game. Seriously that track is ***** and makes the whole thing +++. Great!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:16am

Cool take on the theme. And the design is off the charts!

rantt says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Fun game and a neat concept, the drug effects were cool. The controls felt a little off. Jump felt too low, and the speed changed when you run diagonally (although that did make gaps easier to clear). Graphics were really well done, and the puzzles were challenging and interesting. I really enjoyed this one, great job!

jukimv1986 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:15pm

So psychedelic! Controls were a little clunky, but the experience was certainly interesting.

Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:36am

Very interesti.ng visuals and sound, it was pretty trippy

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:00pm

nice concept. I felt the jump controls were a little slow, but that could be me just in a hurry trying to get over the 'traps' as it were.

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 2:51am

This game...rocks.

Loved the theme, graphics, and gameplay. I don't have any cons, really, just that I would love to see a more developed version of it1.

May 1, 2015 @ 4:04pm

The design on this is great, loved the colours used and those drug effects are nicely done with clever use of the theme.

tweedle says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 2:51pm

love the graphics, gameplay movement was a bit loose, otherwise great job

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 9:54pm

It's an interesting project which uses some efficient shaders - maybe too much. Controls seem to me a little bit awkward, but it's good enough. Thumbs up ++

Krunoslav says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Amazing game! All the entries are very well done! Fun, crazy efects, innovative! Really good!

diiq says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Hey, really great work.

As others noted, the controls were pretty hard to work with, and having to return all the way to the start was frustrating in a "I think I'll go do something else" way, not a "oooh, I'll beat this if it's the last thing I do" way.

The drug effects were cool, and just enough to make motion difficult. It would have been neat to see a location that explained why drugs allow you to walk through walls, etc -- the asylum is (again, as others noted) a bit of a tired idea, and the least exciting part of the game to me.

Still, super cool work, and a great accomplishment for 72 hours!

Catwheel says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 1:41am

This entry is so good it should be illegal for consumption in 49 states.

Mechamew says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 7:56am

Thank you! Great to see something different and interesting. Awesome, original take on the theme!

Madball says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 11:46am

Wow, I think this is the entry I found the most bugs and minor problems in!
* It's quite difficult to pick up drugs, they are small.
* They just fly through an enemy. Why not exploding upon colliding?
* Checkpoints don't save your angle, and you might respawn facing backwards.
* Some objects are not visible through glass sometimes, like enemies and drugs (including those in my hand).
* Seems like the "windows" key is also a hotkey for sniffing.
* You are caught when you barely touch an enemy. If you walk from behind, you get caught without getting noticed.
* I found some drugs just floating in the air, twice. For the first time, it was a red dose flying high somewhere after a big floorless room, I couldn't pick it up, maybe because it's too high. The second time, it was 3 flying blue doses in the last corridor, I could pick up them, but the cursor only changes when I hover over one of them, not over other 2.
* I can abuse checkpoints to lose/gain drugs I get when respawning, though I'm not sure how. I lost 1, then gained 2, then gained 2 more. It was by the last corridor.
* Seems like I got stuck in the ceiling just before the last room. I was able to move, but my field of view was jumping up and down.

Sorry for the wall of text. Also, another problem is that I don't feel my legs. I mean, jumping is difficult, I died on lasers so much! Like, seriously, maybe you wanted to make a game about how bad drugs are, but lasers seem a lot worse.

Other than that, the game is great. I liked the level design a lot, you seem to give many choices about how to pass a room. And it was quite atmospheric, though I wish you made the scenery more detailed and various.

OddballDave says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Good scores all round. I also think this concept has some legs and could be expanded to something akin to Antichamber or Stanley Parable. Good stuff.

tppr2046 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 2:03am

Impressive!! I love the scene and the art style!! The dizzy effect is the best!!

23 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Slick! Bit on the hard side though? Seems like I had to disable all the guards and go across most of the level to get through the second door, and since disabled guards are still a threat it was too much for me...

belstras says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:09am

Can you explain why you go over to shit on my entry and called it bugged without even giving some usefull feedback? Turned me off enough not to try your game.

dyfer says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:47am

What's YOUR problem man? The all 6 comments you have on your game say it doesn't work.

Beavl says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Nice concept and graphics! Congrats on this entry, guys.

Skiddings says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Cool art style!

danvellasco says ...
Jul 24, 2015 @ 12:22am

good :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]