Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

HOW TO DESTROY AN ISLAND

by syncxzoz - Compo Entry

Technical
coding:
Phaser JS.
Notepad++.
graphics:
Ms.Paint.
music:
sfxr.
BoscaCeoil.


You are the richest man ever....

you can do anything... you can buy anything you want...

and someday you wanna destroy an island...

pick up your weapon and don't forget about angry mob....

simply click the main weapon...
and watch entire island is destroyed..

the rule:
1 main weapon per year.
2 additional weapon per year.
1 diversion per year.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#551Humor2.71
#683Innovation2.91
#688Theme3.18
#803Audio1.85
#985Mood2.22
#1065Fun2.14
#1074Graphics1.79
#1088Overall2.39

Comments

Blobo says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 4:09pm

The music was very repetetive. other than that, nice game.

TaoPhoenix says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:22am

In some senses, I'm not sure this is a game - I picked random stuff until I ran out of picks each year, and destroyed the island in about four years.

I visit Ludum Dare to find fun concepts, and it's the time limit of the compo/jam that nudges people into certain scope. But then it would be neat if some of the devs liked the concept enough to keep doing stuff with it.

Sometimes it's a "quick fix". I don't think that's here this time. I think this is a fun concept, because it's the "build game" in reverse.

You've got a tremendous number of things to pick. But they don't really seem to do anything. You could make a 2.0 version if you tied them all together with something like 7 stats of the island/citizens, and then gave the options prices, specs, and damages. Then you have running readouts as the user picks his weapons!

By the way,

The DonationCoder LudumDare 32 April 2015 thread is here:
http://www.donationcoder.com/forum/index.php?topic=40573.0

It happens to be their 10th anniversary! I don't program myself ... so I am unleasing Weapons Grade Enthusiasm!

If you stop by DonationCoder, please put in the code/tag LudumDare-Tao so they will know it's my doings that brought you in! I'm not

part of any of the site structure ... just doing my bit for my favorite site on the net!

Also over there, I post a few of my detailed reviews of some LD games.

This one strikes me as having lots of potential for further work, but it's up to you if you "just mashed it out to make the entry", or if you like your idea enough.

--TaoPhoenix

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:58pm

YES, thank you "TaoPhoenix" , this is my first entry . actually i wanna create some animation but i'm lack of drawing skill. for now i only can do write some program.
but i won't stop here. i wanna do more... yeah... thanks!!

okay... maybe i'll stop by donation coder ^^

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:57pm

I think it has a very interesting concept, but that the gameplay currently is quite confusing. I wasn't sure what to do, so I mostly clicked random things. I think the idea has potential though, would be nice to see further work on it :)

Celt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:56pm

I'm the richest man ever!!! This idea has great potential!!

stuffedgravy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:05pm

As it stands it's not quite strategic. I just clicked randomly until the island got destroyed. I'd add some sort of feedback as to what each choice does in comparison to the others, and also possibly a lose condition (failing to destroy the island). This could be turned into a really interesting mechanic for a puzzle game though!

Static 64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:06pm

It's a fun idea, and I like the management aspect of doing damage while keeping the people happy and minimizing resistance.

However, it was hard to tell what I was doing at any point. I think there were some graphical errors as well, and the game just didn't seem very polished.

trappytrap92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:11pm

The gameplay is a little confusing, but i think that i get what you need to do, good concept, keep working on how to give feedback to the user though! :)

tummyache says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:06am

Could have been better. It would have been nice if the choices actually impacted how quickly or slowly you destroyed the island, which I think is what you were going for, which would have been cool. It's a great idea, it just need probably more love than 48 hours.

calavera says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:41am

Those rich assholes, destroying our lakes with advertisements.

Kate Kligman says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:17am

I thought internet ads would do it for sure! Love the idea behind this game, hope you take it further.

Hambone says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:20am

Interesting take on the theme!

Somnium says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:04am

Creative weapons. More feedback on the effect of the various choices would be nice.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:39am

Found a bug; if you're on the empty "weapon select" screen as it when it switches from one year to the next, returning to the map screen causes a lot of graphical glitches between what is and isn't being displayed.

Diventurer says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Man, this would have been really fun with nice effects and stuff. :D

It is a nice concept!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:29pm

I like where it could go, but it isn't there yet. It would be nice if there was a destruction tree or limited resources for destruction.

I think of you developing it into the opposite of sim city.

Vulkanmannen says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:33pm

What is my goal? I don't get what's happening.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:46pm

I really liked that premise. I love how there was a huge collection of zany ways you could destroy the island and I liked imagining how the people would react to all these peculiar destruction techniques. :)

rzfmzn says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:09pm

liked the idea :)
did not like the music :(
great job :D

jovoc says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Neat concept. I could see this turned into a pretty cool "activism" game, like an anti-Tropico or something. The items were clever. Probably my biggest source of confusion was realizing that I had to click back and forth between the item screens to make time pass once I was out of picks.

Toby Pinder says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:20pm

A little confusing... I can see the idea of what is happening after my first playthrough, but it's really unintuitive - if it gave feedback on the percentages that had changed each pick/month rather than relying on you to closely monitor the %s yourself, it'd be a great start towards that.

Like I say, it's a good idea, everyone likes to be destructive once in a while :D

jackyjjc says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:25am

The game didn't show me why I couldn't pick some of the options and how does each option relates to the overall destruction and resistance. Would be nice to have more feedback. However, I understand how hard it is to make a strategy game in 48 hours so well done!

Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Nice first entry and like that it is a unique entry from the usual games. Did get a bit confused with what was occuring at times and what the results were.

cdgugler says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 2:13am

Nice job. I like t the concept, and the music is really awesomely intense, if a bit repetitive. With some more time and some challenging game mechanics it could be a fun game!

Squeka says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 10:51am

Interesting concept, but execution still needs more improvement :).
The game has many bugs to me. The bug I found is when choosing an option. After that, when returning to option menu again, some options went missing. After choosing again, there was no longer option. You should fix it since it is okay to fix bug ;). Good luck for future improvement :).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]