Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

MagDef

by jhell - Compo Entry

Created for Ludum Dare 32 #LDJAM.

MagDef is a planet defense game. Use the arrow keys to rotate the magnetic field and repel the asteroids! Blue repels Red, Red repels Blue. The Boss asteroids can't be repelled by the fields, so you will have to be creative.

Start research and grow your population so they can help in the defense with:
o Missiles
o Pulse
o Force Fields

Have fun, don't hesitate to comment with your feedback, scores and progression :)

Controls:
o Rotate fields: arrows, Q/D or A/D
o Trigger Pulse: P (you need to have it researched first)
o Back to menu: Escape

Fix #1: unlocked all planets from the start and tweaked some tooltips (web version only)
Fix #2: tweaked slow difficulty values (web version only)

Sounds: Bfxr
Music: abundant-music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#348Audio3.08
#503Graphics3.13
#587Mood2.89
#636Overall3.08
#676Fun2.92
#714Innovation2.87
#776Theme3.07
#904Humor1.91

Comments

Chadivision says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:25am

I like it. It's got a cool mood, and the music really fits. I played Pluto and researched it, but the "P" key didn't seem to do anything. Maybe I did something wrong. Good job.

jhell says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:43am

Hey Chad, thanks for dropping by! Pulse isn't unlocked on Pluto, you need to progress to at least Earth to get it ;)

Malakat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:28am

Good idea and presentation. Sadly, the game is just too slow to be engaging. Or it just takes way too long to pick up speed. Same thing, really.

ajopart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:08am

Nice entry. I first thought it too easy but it gets harder by the time. Graphics are good, music fits. I enjoyed playing it.

Aik says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:32am

Progression is way too slow, but it was well done.

dvdking says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:41am

Way too slow at the start, but very dynamic in the end.
Could not beat last planet.. it seems almost imposible. So much stuff comming at you.
Nice game overall.

MrDave says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:52am

A well implemented game. Loved the asteroid that looked like Pacman

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:36am

I quite like it. Difficulty curve was good.

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Music was nice, and did a great job. I liked the selection part.

bitdecaygames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:53pm

A very cool idea! This game fits the theme really well. Game is fun -- though I did hit a 'critical mass' of population where you can no longer lose due to rampant population growth (seems to happen somewhere before 1000k, and continued for a bit till my screen now says "Infinityk". Gave me a good chuckle though).

Well done though, it plays smooth and looks great doing it.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Hi! Cool graphics! Is the only way to upgrade by clicking on the research button continously?

Havacore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Really cool, simple concept. You got the difficulty nailed down really well.

ker0chan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Simple and efficient :) Nice work !

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:42pm

I like the concept, the simple mechanic but increasingly complex gameplay. Graphics are nice and crisp. I wasn't a huge fan of the music and I thought the difficulty curve for the boss a bit steep. Otherwise, great entry!

Sogomn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Solid game. Well done.

Headmade says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Overall a nice entry. I wish the progression would be a little quicker.
And did you use http://www.abundant-music.com/? The music sounds oddly familiar :)

recursor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:33pm

I like the mechanics but I think the progression is a bit slow. Overall though, I like it.

peterkirk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:11pm

I like the concept. The audio and graphics work with the theme well. I felt that the later levels dragged on too long.

LTPATS says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:33am

This was fun! Earth+ was too challenging for me, but the rest of the game wasn't too hard. Overall I liked it, good job!

omaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:24pm

The audio was awesome. The game was cool, but I thought it felt a little slow at first.

novadream says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Sweet Game! I couldn't beat Earth+, but I'm sure if I worked at it I could get past it. :)

ploogle says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:50am

Music immediately stood out! I underestimated the difficulty, that ramped up quickly but fairly.

callumW says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:35am

I quite enjoyed the game , good fit with the theme. I think the impact should do more damage it was a bit easy I think.

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:25am

Takes a while for the game to ramp up to a fun pace.
Bonus points for cute Pac-man asteroid.

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:04pm

well put together game. pacing is a little slow at the beginning, but then again i did start with easy mode.

kaa says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:31pm

it was good ) good mood ) nice work

dyfer says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:16pm

salut, j'ai vue ton post sur la video D'at0mium du coup j'ai testé c'est pas mal du tout y'a une bonne rejouabilité et ta eu une tres bonne idée pour le theme ^^
je t'invite a tester le notre
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=50857
salut

resty says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:14pm

I like it very much. It's fun and addictive, very challenging, with Cool graphics and audio.
The flashing stars and meteors in the backgrounds make it more great!

A little suggestion:
The color of the red rock could be changed to some easier to see. I almost can't identify them in the black back ground.

Lyje says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Have to disagree with a lot of people - thought the music really didn't fit at all. That said, the mechanic is simple but fun and the research idea is nice. The levels tend to start off too easy and take too long to ramp up.

smokecastles says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Very nice game, I found it easy but nice and relaxing at first, and then the difficulty increases gradually and adequately. It also looks very polished and visually pleasing!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:40am

I was surprised that green shields didn't repel green rocks (like repels like) and the progression was a bit slow. I had a hard time getting past Mars. But it's very polished, except for the balance/difficulty issues.

dusho says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:43am

should be called destroyer of the planets.. :)
nice game.. little boring after time

Kardamom says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Very well done - it has almost all the bells and whistles needed and the mechanic is engaging and well though out. Few minor things: it is intentional that the red asteroids have very low contrast with the background? Also the missile research seemed to be much less powerfule than the other two.

pixzleone says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Nice game, played all levels. I would have liked one mega hard level, but other than that, brilliant!

abuzreq says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:27pm

It's a nice game , I found that when you research speed you get fast enough that if you kept rotating you can repel 90% of the asteroids.
The meteors that came occasionally was a really nice touch

oparisy says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Pluto is boring, then things get interesting. Can we die in this game? I liked the idea of upgrades and the general graphic design.

jackyjjc says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:14am

I love the music, the music was great. However, the game gets a bit repetitive after a while because there weren't big challenges.

Meta-link says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Cool game !
The concept is fresh and the music is really cool :)

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:19am

The core mechanic should be fun, but I feel the game was poorly balanced (using Windows build). I especially felt the magnetic fields rotated too slowly at the beginning for my satisfaction. Personally, I wouldn't even make it an upgrade: make it fast right from the get-go, and use a different power-up to allow better crowd-control.

Crowbeak says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 4:47am

This is a neat concept with a lot of potential.

Xanjos says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Initial rotation speed is a bit too slow but the primary mechanic itself is pretty cool. I would probably suggest adding keyboard shortcuts to the upgrade options because it's a bit awkward having to move my other hand from my mouse to the keyboard just use the pulse.

Zeriver says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:58am

Solid game with engaging gameplay. Earth+ is really hard and so far was unsuccessful in completing it but maybe later :)
Shame you can't control your missles, maybe you could make this a bit more multitasking game by adding new options and launching missles with your mouse... but that's just my suggestion.
Anyway, pretty fun game to play, nice graphics and audio.

RyanNielson says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Neat concept, although the research speed and initial movement speed are a bit to slow which causes it to get boring quick. This could be neat with a few additions like planetary defences though.

Forlorn79 says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:58am

I love this concept, and hope it's a big success!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]