Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

In Your Arms

by Ryumaru - Jam Entry

A story of a boy ; transformed into a sword by the evil queen, he is wielded by his older sister who is determined to ascend the minion infested castle to confront the queen and undo the transformation ritual while there is still hope!

Controls:
WASD, arrow keys: Movement
X: Attack

-UPDATE- includes fixes for some relatively game-breaking things as well as making things as they were intended. Also there should now be links for downloadable windows and mac versions!

- fixed "going back to sleep" animation frame being present in intro scene
- fixed all dialogue text everywhere, and made font size and text positions consistent during intro scenes
- fixed colliders (again) in all maps to prevent player from getting stuck
- fixed enemies flying offscreen where you couldn't hit them
- adjusted intro fade timings so there is more time to read it all
- made final cliffhanger scene unskippable (12 seconds long)
- fixed broken sword attack collision shapes, fixed game over bug
- fixed player spawn positions. tweaked controls: player can now change attack direction while spamming attacks in-place

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#12Graphics(Jam)4.69
#61Overall(Jam)3.94
#95Mood(Jam)3.81
#253Fun(Jam)3.41
#452Theme(Jam)3.44
#765Innovation(Jam)2.65
#2143Coolness24%

Comments

Kaijuu says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:54am

Awesome graphics! And I love the storyline

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Very good artwork,,, the gameplay is fun

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Omg the graphic is AWESOME!!! Really good job! I really like it!
10/10 I would play a longer/complete version! :D

benbateman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Sweet visuals! I'd love to see more. Those sprites must have taken ages to do?

hbocao says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Awesome graphics! Sometimes was a little hard to aim at the enemies, but very well done, guys! Excellent work! Too bad is a little bit short.

maunovaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Awesome game guys. And thanks for posting it to me via twitter. :D I didn't notice any major bugs or anything, sometimes enemies shoot me when I died with the knifes which were flying from previous round. Other than that, it was solid work. Too bad that it wasn't longer! :)

Headmade says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:18pm

A downloadable version would be nice.

gruhn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Wow, good art and feedbacks. Some collisions seem a little strange, but does not interfere with the experience of the game.

cbear_wallis says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:13pm

The art in this is amazing!!

phi6 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:37am

There's so much to like about this entry - the pixel art and animation is delicious and the combat feels just right, responsive, good radius, satisfying. It's a shame because you clearly ran out of time to finish adding the end boss! Rolling/dashing would have added more depth to the combat, and I felt the sound design was lacking. Still one of the more polished entries out there though, and I'd love to see future entries!

sebasRez says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:30pm

The map says Z and X but I am not sure what Z does. It has a nice story but the enemies were a bit hard to battle against. Much of my games suffered from this as well because combat is very hard to manage but I have tried to contest this with having a slight advantage over the enemy while keeping it fair. The enemies need to have a tell for the player as well in my opinion to know when to attack. I think this can be a great game and I look forward to more because it really does look great and I am sure it can get there.

Langouste says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Super Game! I love it ;) Thanks

steboots says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 9:16pm

As a foundation, this game looks amazing. Would love to see some variety in enemies, attacking, special abilities, cause otherwise what's the point of using a brother sword instead of a regular one?

For Ludam Dare, the game is extremely short and no real chance to lose, but like I said, I'd be very excited to see this game as a full lengthed feature.

Perjoka says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 11:07am

Great game! Nice graphics, good audio, just a bit short.

tikilittle says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 6:28pm

I love the art style and enjoyed it quite a bit. I got stuck when one of the flying hooded enemies wasn't close enough to attack.

Smirnov48 says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Good game, very good graphics. But too short!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]