Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Super Cold Revenge

by zuraguerra - Jam Entry

GENRE // Shoot Them Up
THEME // Ice-Cream / City / Accidental Music

.:: SITUATION ::.

An ice-cream vendor finds himself being attacked by a horde of burning skulls. Fortunately, his ice-cream truck can fly and the cone-launcher he has on top of the vehicle for the heavy days can also be used as a weapon.
Why are they attacking him?

.:: CONTROLS ::.

[UP][DOWN][RIGHT][LEFT] / Movement
[Q] / One shot, deals 1 damage.
[W] / Many shots, slows enemies.
[E] / Three shots, press E again to detonate. Deals 2 damage per shot.
[R] / Explosion, press R again to detonate. Deals 4 damage in the radius of explosion.

.:: CREDITS ::.

PROGRAMMERS //
Eduardo Ochoa / https://github.com/nerdless
David Zhou / https://github.com/david-zhou
Ricardo Rodríguez / https://github.com/luricardorod
Dan Rodríguez / https://github.com/Ardroz
Víctor Borja / https://github.com/vic

2D ARTIST // Antonio Pedraza / https://twitter.com/abovethec

MUSIC AND SOUND EFFECTS // Ian González /https://twitter.com/ian_sparky

GAME DESIGN // Zura Guerra / https://twitter.com/grafofilia

.:: SPECIAL THANKS TO ::.
Kike, Mau, Hugo and Antonio’s family
for letting us jam at their apartments.

YOU for playing and rating! Please write us a line! nwn

### FIXES ###

April 22 //
Enemies don't respawn on replay
Adjusted textures filter (thanks, Gipzo!)
Optimized game flow (less lag)
Windows version is now 32-bits

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#255Graphics(Jam)3.80
#506Audio(Jam)2.78
#696Fun(Jam)2.78
#777Theme(Jam)2.95
#885Overall(Jam)2.75
#947Innovation(Jam)2.24
#1769Coolness37%

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:38am

The art looks very nice, though a little blurry even on highest quality settings. The game seems to be not very responsive and at some points I end up dying straight after spawning. The game however when im not dying straight away is pretty fun and I did enjoy it. I also noticed you added in a cookie cat. (or what looks to be as a possible Steven Universe reference...) But all in all, the game was fun but kinda felt "laggy" at times.

Great work though, really enjoyed playing!

Gipzo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:48am

Nice game! Though I had to set graphics to "Fantastic" to slow down enemies :)

By the way, you should select your textures and user Point filter mode to get "pixely" look ;)

j_peeba says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:52am

Man, it's hard to keep alive for more than 10 seconds in the game. It seems like the amount of skulls in the beginning keeps on accumulating after every restart and the somewhat unresponsive shooting controls don't help here. The graphics and presentation are good but I feel like the gameplay issues at the moment are sucking away the fun I could have with the game :(

YaaZ says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:53am

Cool game! I really liked your artwork, but image was a bit blurry. I also think that it would be great to change the spawnrate of enemies (sometimes i just died right after spawn). And in my opinion game would feel better if you made enemies and venicle smaller, so you have more place for dodging.

RadStar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:12am

Very nice art and very funny game! Good job!

rgehan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:51am

Your game is great. The art is gorgeous, the sounds are well designed and everything seems to be well-thought.

But there are also a few problems. First, your images are upscale in a blurry way. There's also the problem of the spawnrate at the beginning. I've been in a situation where there was like 30 skulls 10 meters away from me, right at the spawn.

A great game though, even if it needs a few more improvements to be shippable :)

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:19am

Hard to play. Every time I lost and restarted I was almost immediately greeted with bullets and lost again. From what I saw, it was good, but it was too difficult to really be able to tell.

louis.denizet says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:59am

I died a lot at first but it was cool and graphics are really nice =)

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:29am

I love the pixels in this, very nice

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:06pm

The art is nice and the theme was well done too. Great job!

Langouste says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Super Game! I love it ;) Thanks

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]