Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Temporal Gardener

by Foofanoo42 - Jam Entry

In Temporal Gardener your unconventional weapon/gardening tool is a reverse time gun. Return rotten grapes to a time when they were fresh and ripened on the vine.

A simple concept game programmed by myself in Unity with C#. Graphics include a square, made in MSPaint, stretched and coloured to suit. No sound. Was going to be compo but fell back to jam (insert grape pun).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#212Innovation(Jam)3.58
#834Graphics(Jam)2.55
#875Humor(Jam)2.04
#882Theme(Jam)2.70
#933Mood(Jam)2.30
#952Overall(Jam)2.64
#960Fun(Jam)2.33
#1566Coolness44%

Comments

mantis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:28pm

I really like the game idea, but the progress is slow and I got stuck with a thick vine that took me forever to unwind when I was just starting out. Needs bit more of a tutorial.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:00pm

I love the procedural growth! 5 stars!

kyyrma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Maybe it's just me, but I couldn't quite figure out what to do in the game. I guess a bit more of instructions in-game could have helped. I grew some vines, I dropped some grapes... very little seemed to happen. The growing vines were pretty hypnotic though.

Tselmek says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:31am

Love the concept yet some indications would be nice and a restart button as well. A soothing background music would have fit pefectly. I couldn't figure out what to do at level 3. A mechanic that has a lot of potential.

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:34am

Nice idea, but i kept ending up with fragments of broken vine that never grew anywhere. Couldn't really see how to play.

slowfrog says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Nice looking but can't really understand the principle. Made it to level 3 by sheer chance...

BluShine says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:17am

Played the first two levels, but started running into some bugs :(. Here's a pic of the issue http://i.imgur.com/BRqKZhe.png

Langouste says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Super Game! I love it ;) Thanks

Dixbit says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:57pm

This game certainly has potential, with its minimalist graphics, but it definitely needs a background music and some indications on how to play. Actually I was stuck on lvl 2 because the grape just moved up to the ceiling when I clicked on it ^^

Smirnov48 says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 8:34am

Good concept. But you really need a tutorial.

lochmann-apps says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 7:54am

Very interesting idea. I like it!

Wevel says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 8:48am

Nice procedural plant, but I'm not really sure how you actually get the grapes as i seem to get them randomly

kipelovets says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:41am

Nice idea, I like the Pratchett theme. But the gameplay seems pretty random, I don't think I really catched it

Mantlair says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 11:23am

Cool mechanic. Couldnt find the wines at level 5 B(

Trasevol_Dog says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 11:55am

Concept is pretty neat but give us instructions dammit ! Minimalist graphics are nice !

LeoM says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Cool mechanics but realy need a tutorial.

goerp says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Making a game from an idea of Terry Pratchett is great to start with. Making it about Couterwise Wine is quite ambitious!
Understanding the game is quite hard. I got to level 4, did something wrong and the plant stopped and reloading on Kongregate is pain with the commercials, so after two tries I didn't try beyond that, sorry.

I took a look at your post jam version and that solved most issues. Might try that later on.

Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]