Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Herbicide

by mcmahoniel - Compo Entry

The goal of the game is to use an assortment of weapons to eradicate the weeds in your soon-to-be pristine garden. Kill all the weeds - and have a garden full of flowers - and you win!

I used Phaser as my game framework, Aseprite to draw my sprites, CFXR to generate sound effects, and Audacity for a tiny bit of audio work.

This was my first Ludum Dare and my first experience with most of the tools I used! Thanks for playing! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#274Humor3.27
#352Mood3.17
#590Theme3.30
#653Audio2.44
#760Fun2.81
#774Innovation2.77
#792Graphics2.64
#896Overall2.78
#1436Coolness46%

Comments

BlakeB says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:10am

Amazing for your first entry and first use of those tools. Game slowed down a bit near the end, I assume it was still trying to plant things in the already filled holes and thus nothing happened for a while. Adorable programmer art. ;) and well done sound. Only complaint is I couldn't find much use for 4 different weapons there other than the different "plant death" effects. Still very good for a first run. Come back next time!

error031 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:33am

It is so fun and funny xD

winmac32 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:02am

Would have liked for those different attacks to have use. Perhaps some have better range, or blast radius, or something.

LTPATS says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:32am

The setting and art had a nice charm to it. I liked the overall gameplay, though there were huge lulls in time where nothing would happen. Regardless I kept playing till the end! I'd love to see new levels and maybe have the abilities do different things. Congrats on finishing your first Ludum Dare!

Homletmoo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:12pm

For such a simple premise it was surprisingly fun to play. One gripe would be that all the attacks did basically the same thing, although that could have been a time constraint issue. A great entry for your first try though; it's a lot more playable than mine ever was.

Chadivision says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:43pm

This was fun to play, and good job picking up an entirely new toolset. That's not easy to do.

Just a couple of suggestions. I didn't really understand the difference between the various weapons. They all seemed to function about the same.

Also the sound effects were a bit harsh on the high end. A little bit of low-pass filtering would go a long way. Nice job.

Matsuki says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:10am

Wasn't bad at all for a first entry, I enjoyed the variety of weapons I got to mow down weeds with.

Lyxilion says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:12am

So fun :) well done !

kaa says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:34pm

fun& nice idea and mood ) flowers )

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Well done, nice work being your first encounter with many of the tools! I enjoyed the flowers dancing animation in particular, so happy :) At the end I waited for a single patch to become a flower for quite a while (after becoming a weed 3-4 times). Otherwise, I found the game enjoyable. Well done, and good luck with your future games!

cdgugler says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:28pm

I love the dancing flowers, great first game! It would be cool to vary the effects of the weapons.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]