Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

TOUCH MY POOBY

by sxmn - Compo Entry

what is a pooby? i don't know, i can only describe it

cool facts about this game:
-coded in java
-plays like a really bad SNL sketch
-probably the greatest game to ever exist within a folder on my desktop called "LD32"
-i thought it was funny at first but now it seems dumb and i wasted a whole weekend

What can a man accomplish in 48 hours? Nothing. Nothing good, at least. But a man CAN destroy his own life in seconds. I give you TOUCH MY POOBY -- a work of art in secret universes, to be cherished only under old earth or in deep abysses beyond the horizon of sight and sound.

"Quite possibly the greatest game of our time." - PC Gamer Magazine

"The pinnacle of game design." - Extra Credits

"This is better than any book I've read." - Harold Bloom

"The 'pooby' is a new ideology which pushes the boundaries of our current geopolitical systems." - Slavoj Zizek

"I support this in my election campaign and designate the pooby as my running mate." - Rand Paul 2016 vote for Rand Paul

"9/10" - IGN

"10/10" - Gamespot

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#18Humor4.14
#149Fun3.65
#305Theme3.65
#411Overall3.32
#453Innovation3.25
#533Mood2.95
#565Audio2.67
#700Graphics2.82
#1634Coolness41%

Comments

doitle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:22am

IGN and Gamespot were right. How much did you give them for such an accurate review? Jokes aside this is better than you'd expect given the... tenuous grasp on sanity apparent from the intro. A simple clicker that doesn't take too long to beat and has just enough to keep you interested for the few minutes it takes to play to completion. Good work.

Jordan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:29am

Game seems to have a nice twist from the cookie clicker style it seems to be based on. Background fits well with the interesting story, and instructions are really not needed.

The enemies left was confusing at first as I thought the person in the bottom right corner was an enemy (especially since he seems to disappear when I click him), but I quickly figured out how the game and upgrades work.

Beat the game in 351 seconds, and it was certainly entertaining for said period.
Good job.

winmac32 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:39am

You know, I was expecting something pretty bad. But, this was actually enjoyable and really funny. Great work xD

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Suprisingly good.

nassi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:23am

You already had me cracking up in the description, and I felt you at "-i thought it was funny at first but now it seems dumb and i wasted a whole weekend" :P. I also can't help but wonder what the ultimate meaning of pooby, or poobis as those in the know call it, is...

Took me 199,78 seconds. Full on glass cannon is the One True Path.

It was great.

Docjekyll says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:33am

Instructions unclear. Now I have to clean up this mess all over my keyboard...

This is what will finally kill the Pokemon series. Kids will be running around with Poobys filling their pockets, trying to collect them all, worrying their parents by yelling "I wanna touch your Pooby!", battling Poobys and Hatmans in the back alley behind the convenience store that mommy said to avoid. Yeah. It's gonna be GREAT!

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:40am

My god, I touched a lot of Poobis. I feel quite enlightened now, one with the universe. Or at least one with your Pooby, which I touched. Many times.

I actually did have a lot of fun with this weird game. You have a strange sense of humor, and I like it!

panurge says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:37pm

I'd never been asked to touch another man's pooby before so I wasn't sure if I'd like it or not. I'm happy to report, however, that I loved every minute of it! I should listen to my heart and my ass more often.

I thought this game might just be a quirky novelty but it was a genuinely fun experience with an excellent atmosphere all of its own. Thanks for making it!

DKoding says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Lay off the drugs :-)

garygreen says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Nicely random. :-D

steboots says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 8:57pm

I have touched the poobis. Hahahaha, hilarious, happy to have played. 5 stars for theme, what is more unconventional than a pooby?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]