Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Scoria

by Kizler - Jam Entry

First Ludum Dare seen to completion. I'm really excited because this idea came to me the second the competition started. I think I'm going to experiment with this concept a little more in the next few days,

Designed, programmed, 3d modeled and audio engineered all by me. :)

Unfortunately the Unity HTML5 player didn't work for me. I have a downloadable OSX version, attempting to get a PC to test the PC version.

Scoria is a game I created for the Ludum Dare 32 Jam. It’s actually my first “Completed” Unity game. It’s an experimental concept of two knights battling across a chess like board using cards to attack and move. Unfortunately there’s a satellite laser aiming at them as well, so they must also even targets. Crazy stuff right?

Controls
The icons on the cards appear showing yellow tiles as your starting location and the gray tiles are where you will move to or attack. Click on the cards to choose red cards for attacking and blue cards for moving. A preview will show you if you can move/attack there. If you are unable to move, you may always “trash” cards and hope for better ones next round. If your move or attack is valid, the “go” button will become active. Selecting either “go” or “trash” will end your turn.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#174Innovation(Jam)3.66
#423Overall(Jam)3.33

Comments

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:14pm

cool idea , even if i'm not quite sure to get it lol , is the weapon is ... the time ?

PinkIndian says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Nice game, but the AI is too easy to win. I like the use of action cards. Though it could be a little faster/smoother.

dusho says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:57pm

really cool idea.. lots of potential to extend
the battlefield is way too big.. wish you could have cards to stack attacks or something
also those mine animations are way too slow.. they should explode all at once

Photon says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:39am

Really like the idea. I ended up using only forward move/attack cards and the opposing knight only moved forward. With a bit more work it might work really well!

Frenchie says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:44am

Nice idea but a little slow. I would make the battlefield smaller or add more enemies (with less health), as well as making all the lasers explode at once. Lots of room to grow this concept :)

Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:49am

cool idea, got me some time to figure how to play :p
hey, the windows and os/x links are swapped ;)

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:15am

I really liked the graphics, it's a shame I couldn't give you a rating for them! I love the concept, though I don't understand why you get enemy cards, it seems like it is already a challenge to decide between cards that you want for yourself

Cryotube says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:18am

I really like the spinning low-poly models, looks great! I think the game could stand to be a bit faster paced (smaller stage, maybe?) As of right now it takes too long to even get to each other and start fighting.

goadrich says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:19am

Nice implementation of a turn-based strategy game. The spinning turn indicator is cool! I think the lasers are somewhat slow and detract from the game, I feel like I want the game to move much faster than it does. It took me a while to figure out that I could trash more than one card, since the "Go" was no longer highlighted I thought I couldn't do more.

Kizler says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Thanks for the feedback. I've switched the OSX and the WIN links. I guess I got too excited when submitting. I plan on giving this game a little more TLC. There were suppose to be 3 color types. Red green and blue, but I attempted to do the game with as little text as possible so green was dropped. I also didn't realize the red cards would come off as "Enemy" cards vs attack cards. And the AI is terrible because it was the last thing I did before time ran out. Making notes now. :)

cnoel says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Definitely innovative and I like the style of the whole game. A bit slow, and the provided cards make it hard to do much. It's a neat play on chess I think.

Flayk says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:27am

I feel like this has so much potential. I've been thinking of new cards and rules during play, and it made the game so enjoyable. This game could be expanded on so well, the possibilities are endless.

A few ideas in my head:
1. More soldiers (obviously) but also...
2. Each soldier grants the player 1 card, You may use all of the cards on one guy, or 1 for all. However you want to distribute them per turn.
3. The more unit-types you add, the more complicated you deck becomes, and therefore, harder to play.
4. Customizable decks.

Pat Kemp says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Neat concept! Reminds me of Glitch Tank or Robo Rally. Could use some tuning though! Lots of time spent just waiting for a movement card so I could get into the vicinity of my opponent. I wish I could play more than one card at a time to move more than once. The random mines were cool, but never really affected me or my opponent. Also their explosion animation was long and a bit tedious. I think there's potential in the design, so I hope you keep exploring it. Good work!

dray says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 9:13am

why only two categories ? your game can really have good scores on others. really nice little game, the mechanic work really well, it take me really too long to defeat it mainly because i forgot that i can trash multiple cards at once. you should have an higher rate of move forward card too.

MaesK says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 9:54am

Nice idea! It feels like a real board game, good job. I would modify the cards a little, to avoid players discarding them too often. They are a bit situational, but the system is really good. Great entry!

taras_v says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 8:13am

Cool graphics.
But gameplay is quite boring.
Besides it I really love idea and with a bit rethinking it can become an awesome game.

Smirnov48 says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 8:28am

Nice idea. But I don't understand what the unconventional weapon in this game. Music good.

Xanjos says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 6:18pm

No idea why you decided to opt out of all the other categories because I would have given really good scores for them. Anyway the concept itself definitely has a lot of potential.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]