Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Jonathan Porta

by Jonathan Porta - Compo Entry

EDIT: I messed up the links to the Linux and OS X binaries. Sorry! The links are fixed now.

First Ludum Dare! Planet Hero is my second Unity3D game, well, second game ever. Your goal is to jump from planet to planet while fighting off an onslaught of rectangle with frickin' laser beams.

Controls:
- A, D or Left, Right arrow keys to orbit the current planet.
- Left click on another planet to jump to it.
- Right click to spawn enemies - mash it for best results.
- Shoot your frickin' laser beam with Spacebar.
- Zoom the viewport in and out with the scroll wheel on your mouse.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#766Audio2.10
#823Innovation2.70
#907Humor1.88
#993Mood2.17
#1021Graphics2.14
#1059Theme2.35
#1089Fun2.00
#1104Overall2.32
#1634Coolness41%

Comments

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:50am

the planet hopping is clever. laser beam never rendered for me, but the sound effect was neat. nice work.

BraindeadGeo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:43am

I like the movement on the planetoids but, as with the other comment, the laser beams don't render which you might want to fix!

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:44am

Interesting concept. I felt the game needed something more to it. It may have been my browser's fault, but the laser beam only rendered for me using the windows download.

Anyone having trouble with the web player version, try a download.

jsmars says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:29am

Cool start, you really need to zoom out to be able to play the game, and it started lagging a lot when you spawned a lot of enemies.

martymon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:59am

I'm also having the problem of seeing lasers and orbits on the web version

sydan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:37am

I'm going to refrain from rating this for the moment because I think the laser beams need to render before I can play it properly and rate the mechanics. I can imagine it would be quite fun if they worked!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:06pm

So simple design. The gameplay does a grand job in keeping the game so fun.

Kate Kligman says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:16am

I couldn't get the enemies to spawn on the web version with chrome/macbook air. The planet hopping is a cool mechanic though!

teirce says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:28pm

A neat little game. You seem to have some bugs! But that's okay! My advice is to be more careful with controls, I don't think left and right mouse are good choices (especially for a game with web player support!)

Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Could be really cool, wish that I didn't have such difficulty with the scrolling and enemies autospawned.

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 8:48pm

I don't know if this project is over. I have some problem so as to display something on screen. I played with the web version. Nice mechanics around these planets ++

SledKnight says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:26am

Can't right click in the web version, that just prompts Unity pop up menu for fullscreen. And lasers stopped rendering red, and rendered green out in the middle of nowhere. Web build issues?

May 12, 2015 @ 5:31am

I've been having weird missing texture issues and haven't been able to nail down the cause yet. Sorry. :(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]