Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Ghost Prosecutor: Closing Statement

by awestsecurity - Compo Entry

For Ludum Dare 32 Compo.

You are Ghost Prosecutor! It's your closing argument and there is little time. Bring up the facts, evidence, and witnesses to convince the jury. The audience is getting rowdy, so be careful.

Controls: z, x, and c are your attacks. Use up, left, down, and right to boost the attacks.

Move List:

Fact: z
Facts: D,R,z
Proof: D,L,U,R,z
Evidence: x
Exhibit B: U,U,U,x
Exhibit C-Z: U,L,U,R,x
Character Witness: c
Eye Witness: D,L,U,c
Expert Witness: D,L,D,R,c
Here's Johnny: *,R,U,x,z

#LD32 #LDCOMPO



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#193Theme3.81
#202Humor3.43
#206Graphics3.70
#440Innovation3.26
#521Mood2.96
#636Overall3.08
#847Fun2.69

Comments

shyupuff says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:32am

Nice job! I love the art and animations. Some of the sound effects are also very fulfilling. It's cool that there are different combos you can pull off. Now I'm just curious why the Ghost Prosecutor is a ghost... Anyways, awesome job (:

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:44am

Art animations and music feels very nice, the gameplay is a bit confusing, in the end i kept spamming c, to win.

UserAnon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:48am

Not a bad game, but having a constant drain to your life is a bit frustrating, and the combos don't exactly lend themselves as easy to do.

generic_ghost says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:50am

I love this! I love ghosts. It was fun but I did have a hard time pulling off many of the combos. The graphics are really fun and the concept is great. Good job!

chanko08 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:52am

Very wonderful art! The combos were really cool looking once I knew how to pull them off.

FerraWare says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:58am

Great job, excellent artwork and sounds! I can definetly see it on Android or iOS, with a little bit of a story. Terrific

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:16am

Great job!

ajopart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Struggled to use the combo but what a GREAT art style. Wonderful.

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:19pm

I'm sad that I never got to see "here's Johnny" but the other moves are cool - wish the jury fought back a little harder, but the theme and the mechanics are both really funny

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Hmmm gameplay was a bit lacking. Liked the pixel art, especially the paper coming out of the briefcase. But original and a good fit for the theme.

EwChap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Great stuff. Love the art and the concept. some gameplay polish and this could be really fun, not sure why I was taking damage all the time.

plams says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Nice concept and art!

jordyadan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:10pm

The gameplay is a bit hard to undestand, the art is great.

Ossi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Combos were a bit hard to use but I love how you interpreted the theme. Really interesting stuff! Great job!

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:10pm

I really enjoyed the random tuba sounds as music, and the concept was good! The art was cute and interesting. Use of theme was well-played, but I was a little underwhelmed with there only being one level and the combos were a little confusing.

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Cool idea, but I couldn't do any of the moves. Idk, maybe it is just me

The4thCircle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:28pm

I like this. It's simple but it presents a good theme and I thought the humour was nice and wacky.

Maybe it's just a personal opinion but I wish more teams would make a small game with this level of polish than try to rush out something bigger and leave it less cohesive.

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Good work,,, the game is very nice ,, congratulations

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:23pm

I really like the combos and the fighting system. It's fun.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:14pm

I tried to pull off all the special moves but had trouble getting Here's Johnny. It was cute and had great style.

Sublustris says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Nice :)

eemmbbeerr says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Its weakest aspect is the gameplay and you should take this as a compliment as everything else is extremely well done!

HapaxStudios says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Ghost Prosecutor is pretty. I love the pixel artstyle you used. However the main mechanic was kind of... Odd. Pulling off successful combos didn't really work for me other that just continuously using C. I got a combo of about 600 just doing that. The music was subtle and strangely fitting. I like it but I think fine tuning the combo system is pretty necessary.

killako says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Once you learn how to use the combos, winning becomes trivial. Often with super powerful combos (like Expert Witness) perhaps filling a "power meter" before executing would be nice, as a way to limit the more powerful abilities. If the Jury attacked with moves of their own, there could be options to introduce counter abilities for the ghost. The art is great, the character and setting seem very unique, and I like the use of the theme. Good work.

Kitch says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:57am

Ha... that's a cool take on the genre. Really liked the mechanics, and atmosphere, and the sounds. Great job.
Thanks!

TeslaCoil says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:54pm

The game looked great. The art was good and the animations were solid, though a few of them kept going too long (and the jury stopped taking 'damage').

I just wish there was more to the gameplay. There was really no challenge. Pick one combo you like, spam it until you win. I think mine was Exhibit B. In fact, while writing this, I played again just by tapping Up and X as fast as I could, and won with a 600-hit combo.

A system that punished you for using the same combo twice in a row would be great. Or make the opponent an opposing prosecutor instead, who moved around, was harder to hit, and performed the same attacks you could do.

Pilly says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Nice work, especially on the art/animations. Love the comical look of the characters and the detail you put into the courtroom.

Even though the combos made winning relatively easy (once you figure them out), they were fun to pull off - I played it again after winning to try the rest of them. The shaking/reaction of the jury when under attack made combos very satisfying.

The hammers didn't really seem to do much, but the movement was nicer than just having a static backdrop.

Great job!

May 1, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Good game, liked that you made it in the fighting style, thought that was interesting. Think it would work a bit better though if it was a bit faster paced and the health bars drained faster. The art in this is also done really nicely reminds me of playing the old street fighter games on the amiga.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]