Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Music of the Spheres

by goadrich - Jam Entry

Fly through space and create the music of the spheres. Can you resonate all 12 tones of the chromatic scale while avoiding harmonic dissonance and duplication of tones?

My unconventional weapon is the use of soundwaves to alter sphere tones and combat dissonance.

PLEASE NOTE: Make sure to turn on sound, the game won't make much sense without it.

Tools
- Unity
- Pickle
- Gimp
- bfxr

Musical Tones and Sphere Textures from
- http://jetcityorange.com/musical-notes/
- http://opengameart.org/node/40326

This is my first Ludum Dare. Thanks for playing, hope you enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#61Innovation(Jam)3.94
#495Theme(Jam)3.38
#751Mood(Jam)2.71
#794Overall(Jam)2.88
#869Fun(Jam)2.53
#909Humor(Jam)1.83

Comments

SledKnight says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:04am

Nice art and concept. I just suck at it. lol! Nice job!

Buko-Studios says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:37am

cool concept. i suck at it too. i did not understand well how to make a good harmony with the spheres.

goadrich says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Thanks! I tweaked the parameters to make it just too difficult for myself, this could definitely use some refinement. To preserve harmony, you need to create chords out of major fifths and thirds, minor thirds and major sixths between the notes of the 12 tone scale. I tried to incorporate music theory about harmony, consonance and dissonance intervals.

http://www.musicawareness.com/intervals.html

The challenge then is to create a chord progression that gets to all the notes, like the circle of keys:

http://www.musicawareness.com/circle.html

SadSmile says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:26pm

i have no idea of music so i suck at this game. But i can imagine, that if you know what you are doning this could be fun to play ;)

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Really like the concept of this one! I seem to be extremely bad at it though xD

Great work

goerp says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Very very original! It was an unique gameplay for me. I've played games with sound before, but thinking about harmony was never one.
The game is also very very hard: I could go from harmony of 80 to 0 in 1 second.
And is there a way to skip tones? If I know the next tone will be the same or a dissonant I would like to skip it.

Nice one.

goadrich says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Thanks @SadSmile and @HotBoxGames!

@goerp I think I need to tweak the way harmony is eroded, so that when dissonance starts it falls of slowly, but as the dissonance stays around, it falls faster. Right now, as soon as a new sphere appears, it starts to impact harmony, but this should be a gradual introduction. This might give you more of a chance to recover from bad tones. Spheres should also fade as they leave the space instead of stopping abruptly.

mitchellsha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:47pm

The concept is so cool! So creative!

I had an issue with the intro screen randomly popping up while the game was still running. Not sure if that was on my end or not.

goadrich says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:51pm

@mitchellsha Thanks! The intro screen pops up again when your harmony goes to 0 and you lose. Not the best solution; I really need a clear separation between the intro and restart states of the game.

CliffracerX says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:31am

This is quite interesting! More instructions for the less musically inclined (like me) would be useful :P

Difficulty is a tad high.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:52am

What an interesting concept. It's a bit difficult to handle once a bunch of spheres are on screen, since the ship moves pretty slowly and it can be hard to know how much you'll need to shoot a sphere in order to correct its pitch. I think it would be an interesting challenge to try to make a more accessible version of this game concept. Nice work!

ZQMony says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:52am

Nice concept. It seems really cool even though I was no good at it.

roving-stone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:25am

I really like how matching notes is a game mechanic. This feels the most "musical" of the music related entries I've played so far. It's tough though! I think if you ran with this concept and polished it up you could make a very cool game.

BIZM says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Very interesting and bold concept! :) Figuring out the mechanics felt rewarding. We wish the harmony meter was more forgiving.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Really nice idea, but I feel the ship moves and fires too slowly compared to how quickly harmony goes down. Would be good if harmony was rebuilt while stable as well?

Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Cool idea. Decent graphics. Quite difficult though, the harmony counter drops really quickly. Found the constant sine wave noise a little grating, even when the harmonies were on track. Maybe some more varieties of sound would have been nice. Interesting game though!

Cosine says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:29pm

I really like the idea, it was very interesting to peruse the tones I should make. I think that it was hard enough to get the tones to sound right, having to shoot the planets just made it even harder! :)

Xanjos says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Pretty difficult but I actually like the concept (especially how the audio is a major factor in the game).

Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:35pm

I really dig the idea. Even with an understanding of basic music theory, it takes a while to understand what you are doing and how you can change the tones to avoid dissonance. The vibrant planet colors were cool too.

igoramendola says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:07am

The idea is pretty good. I wish I had a better knowledge of music to achieve a better result hehehe. Congrats for concluding your first Ludum Dare entry :))

geekdrums says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Need more feedback how much tones are harmonized.

but overall, nice concept game.

CiderPunk says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 11:10pm

looks neat but I super sucked at this one might! might have been more sensible of the planets had played different tunes/rhythms in their key and pulsed with their notes or something...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]