Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Russian Thug

by AlcoTk - Jam Entry

KEYS TO PLAY: WASD (for movement) and SPACE (for attacking and interacting)

Based on true events, Alco presents… RUSSIAN THUG

Travel back to the early 20th century, to play in a major historic event: The Russian Revolution.
Your almighty commander, Stinny, assigns you to assassinate his nemesis Trotters so that he can rise into prominence and expand his ruling over Russia. Your weapon: an ice pick.

However, Trotters has many guards helping him through his exile, proving a difficult task.

— GAMEPLAY FEATURES —

Survive and kill waves of enemies with your peculiar but special ice pick.
Features three levels with multiple waves each
Features the final boss


PS: There may be a couple of glitches. I am sorry, but there was nothing I could do to prevent them, they were hosting/uploading errors from the game engine.


— CREDITS & ATTRIBUTION —

Programming: Alco (Alex Constantin, which is myself)

Music:
Russian National Anthem
Padanaya Blokov & Dangerous by Kevin MacLeod from incompetech.com (CC0)

Graphics:
Lanea Zimmerman (CC-BY 3.0)
Antifarea (http://opengameart.org, CC-BY 3.0)
Krasi Wasilev (http://freegameassets.blogspot.com/)
Redshrike (http://opengameart.org/, CC-BY 3.0)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#556Humor(Jam)2.78
#677Mood(Jam)2.84
#724Fun(Jam)2.75
#897Overall(Jam)2.73
#998Theme(Jam)2.25

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:09pm

The title song was a lovely touch!

ChaosRound says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:53pm

good sound.. good idea but the gameplay...

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Я не знаю если ты понимаешь меня, но пробую. Я бы хотел с уважением исправить тебя. Ты ошибся, выбирая этот гимн. Сочиняли его в 2000 году. Во время убийства Троцкого, пели Интернатионал в качестве Государственного Гимна. Вот :)

It's a really good entry which is in adequation with the theme. I liked the graphic and the background music. However I have encountered some difficulties so as to displace my player. The colliders seem to me too big and I stopped into the large corridor, even if there is the place to go further. It can be easily improved, but it's yet enjoyable. Thumps up! Thank you for this game ++
PS : we need to know the keys to play.

AlcoTk says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:24am

Thanks for the nice comments, sorry for the gameplay though. A glitch emerged in the last 30 minutes of the entry time and could not fix it.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:35am

Pretty hare but very enjoyable. Great work!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:36am

*Pretty "hard" but very enjoyable. (fixing comment above lol)

jk5000 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:39am

The music and game idea fits perfect together.

UrbanHelsing says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:48am

Nice, but hard to play with quirky keys that does not always respond. And I cant kill anything on the second level...

SamH says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:56am

The ice pick has been acquired! Full stars for fun and humor! The collisions are extremely frustrating, though :)

siryakko says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:24am

Nice concept, graphics and sounds. The gameplay needs a bit more work but it's a really good start :D

PnDAA says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:33am

Can't success the second level :(. I collide on nothing, and I also lost speed for no reason sometimes.

goblin says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Great concept and music, good job!
check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

Andy Gainey says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:49pm

My ice pick attack felt very finicky. Sometimes it would work, sometimes it wouldn't, and I couldn't tell why. I got the impression that attacking a soldier from the front was more reliable than from the side, but that might have just been my brain inventing a bogus strategy.

Movement was also awkward. It was less of a critical issue, but colliding with a soldier apparently caused the game to forget that I was still holding down a movement key, because if I killed the soldier, or he moved, or I moved to the side (while still holding down the original key also), I had to repress the movement key to get moving again.

Between those issues and semi-unskippable cutscenes, I made it to the second level twice before I just gave up.

lvoursl says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:50pm

i am sorry, but imho, it's not good point of view to make games about war and conflicts, but you did it in another way with the peace of fun.
well done!

Shivur says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Very good mix of historical events and the theme!

BluShine says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:10am

Unfortunately very buggy. Kept getting stuck on dead soldiers, and half the time my ice pick seemed to do nothing. Wasn't able to make it past the third level.

jakub.gemrot says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:18am

Cool start (the anthem)! I had some troubles with controls (some keys stopped working at random), so it was hard to play. Definitely entertaining :)

rojo says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 7:40pm

The concept is good, and the graphics were pretty decent. However, the game was pretty glitchy for me - I got stuck on terrain or invisible guards a lot, and often couldn't attack. I'd say some more focus on bug fixing would be a great way to make this a lot more fun!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]