Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Super SALT Helmet

by DarkwindMedia - Jam Entry

Slugs. In space. Conflict. Salt.

This is the world of Super SALT Helmet!

In this fast paced arena game, you play as a space slug struggling to be the last man standing. Evaporate your opponents by launching your salty chrome dome into their bodies! Battle 1 - 4 friends locally or against the computer to earn total space domination! Let's get salty!

DISCLAIMER: While the game supports 1 - 4 players simultaneously on a single keyboard, we strongly suggest using controllers. Some keyboards cannot process more than 6 keys simultaneously and this can affect gameplay. Also, the linux build is untested.

Game design, art, code and audio was created by Darkwind Media and friends during the 32nd Ludum Dare game jam, April 2015. Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#14Fun(Jam)4.14
#21Overall(Jam)4.10
#38Audio(Jam)4.05
#84Graphics(Jam)4.29
#104Mood(Jam)3.76
#161Humor(Jam)3.57
#166Theme(Jam)3.84
#226Innovation(Jam)3.56

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:23am

Couldn't play. Just a black screen. Nothing happens. Google Chrome on Linux.

Mony says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:27am

Fantastic

Ash K says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:27am

Everything about this game is adorable! And SPACE SLUGS. I need to find some people to play this with me :)

Jokerbomb says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:31am

Very polished local multiplayer game! I think the last few arenas could use some obstacles however.

cicanci says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:31am

Awesome game! The character customization is a nice touch! Great job!

Frenchie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:46am

Really awesome game! The level of polish was amazing! Those particle effects were really cool; I want a tutorial!

Only complaint: the player would teleport if going off the screen but the dead slug bits didn't

Fabraz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Best one I've played thus far. EXCELLENT JOB!

Visuals are on point. Controls are smooth. Local MP is set up clean and works very well. For a jam game this is absolutely superb! Bravo!

siryakko says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Excellent, you should try to greenlight it

Null DIES says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:01pm

One of the best games I have encountered so far.
The graphics and animation are top notch.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Awesome job guys!

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Really well done. great amount of polish for a LD game

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Awesome game!

benbateman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Probably one of my favourite submissions so far. I love the characters, and the mechanics are simple but well executed. The AI worked really well and I'd love to try this with friends, as I'd think it'd only get better.

Hope you keep developing this. Also kudos for the pun 'Resalts'

Ryusui says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Oh man, this ROCKS. It took me a few rounds before I could avoid getting my face smashed in by the AI after the first few seconds, but this could easily be a commercial release!

Docjekyll says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Great couch multiplayer game. Well done!

Shimone says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Wow! Very polished game! One of the best entries so far. Thanks for sharing.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Nice

steboots says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:04pm

Solid game. Good work.

novadream says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:38am

I took me a while to get the hang of it, but after that it was really fun. Though I wasn't a big fan of the slow-motion effect. :\
The aesthetics of this game are really solid! :)

elitegoliath says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:45am

Good times, looks nice, good sound, fun idea, very nice.

ash728 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:49am

The characters are adorable and I can't stop playing! Great job guys!

DomNomNom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:57am

Very well implemented game.
Reminds me a lot of starwhals.
the artstyle and the character select screen are almost identical.
The strategy to win the game is too simple though: continuously charge up and wait for people to charge near you first.

hexdie says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:24am

Very polished and fun game! I love the artwork and music as well! Probably my only complaint is that it doesn't fit with the theme too much, but that's really about it.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:52am

Well done. The gameplay is simple but efficient. The music adds an oppressive mood. Neat ++

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Great entry! Multiplayer games may attract less players in LD, but this one is definitely worth your attention! Gameplay is skill-based with some luck needed, and easy to learn yet challenging. Nice graphics (I liked customisation) and audio. Different level configurations add variety.
It's a complete party game. Well done!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:01pm

I plied with AI's and it is quite easy. But I see the local versus potential.
Have you consideres suporting xbox controllers? Because 4 people in 1 keyboard can be such a mess.

Taldius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Awesome game! The concept is simple but really effective, I was sad that I wasn't able to play with other people.
Great job!

DarkwindMedia says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:07pm

@sergi We do support xbox controllers! Give it a shot next tim :)

MasterOfNaN says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Awesome! Definitely one of my favourites so far.
Really good across the board - there's nothing that's shoddy, and plenty of stand-out aspects.
Customisation is nicely done, and a crazy thing to add to a jam game!
But basically I just love the slo-mo big hits - really classily done - sounds great, looks great, and feels wildly satisfying - nice work!

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Smooth animations, addictive gameplay, like!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Wow, really impressive entry! The game is polished, with pretty graphics, good animation and beautiful music. Plus the game mechanics are simple enough to be able to understand them qickly and really fun to play. Congratulations!

napedia says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Great job

BIZM says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Amazing resalts guys! Incredible level of polish and crisp graphics. The music and atmosphere were very immersive. It was super fun to play. The slugs were super cute (^-^)

fixitteam says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Whoa. Just whoa. This is amazing. Awesome work!

Definitely going to play this later with somebody. It just looks too much fun. And the art&audio are perfect.

goblin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Best game ive seen so far. Looks really polished and everything is perfect, Great job!
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

dydx says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Super cute, fun, and the polish is very impressive. Awesome job.

albinobat says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:23am

It would be in-salting to give you any less than 5 stars

lebrokholic says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:57am

The only game when I put 5 stars for all the categories! Keep going! It is incredible!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:34am

This is awesome! Downloading the Windows version so I can play a little multiplayer later. Awesome look and really cool mechanic

HeffJoker says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:36am

At first I was a little skeptical about a local multiplayer game, but with the inclusion of some basic AI, it just works. What you're left with is a fantastic game! The amount of polish put into the presentation is amazing!

However, I wish I had a little more control over my space slug. I think making the rotation steps a little smaller (maybe around 25-30 degrees instead of 45) would open up a lot of opportunities for more diverse arenas (especially since it would give the player more precision).

I'm also a bit confused on how one player "beats" another. I found myself charging at another player at the same time, only to find that I died, but didn't understand why. Maybe a better defined death/win condition would help? Or possibly having some kind of health indicator?

Overall, I think you guys did a fantastic job!

Bashabookoos says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Very nice game, fun movement and high level of aesthetics. I love the screen transitions between levels. I think you should have the player not be able to hold his power indefinitely, or else the foo strategy becomes to just stay held down until an enemy makes the first move. Good work!

Karsten says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:52pm

couldent play :( screenshot 5 is completely diffrent for me , only head slots are shown but no heads, Windows 7 x64
any chance you share the unity project source?
peace

OddballDave says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:05pm

I love party games and this does a very good job of it. Good stuff.

Dorgam says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:01pm

One of the best games I have ever played so far on here. I would really love to see a full version made of it with online multiplayer!
Keep it up guys, nice work!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Hands down the best game I have played so far this Ludum Dare so far, fantastic!

hbocao says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:08am

Amazing job, guys! Very impressive indeed. The visuals are gorgeous, by the way. Excellent work!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:41am

5 STARS

handkor says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:47am

This is great fun. When you mess up you move you get a couple of seconds to think I'M F*CKED. Good Job.

dreamlogician says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:08am

This game was an absolute blast to play! Loved the presentation - it felt really polished and super cute.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:08am

Fantastic multiplayer game. Had a blast blasting dreamlogician.

Instructions or indications of who has the higher priority of attack would have been nice, since it left us confused at a few places. The slow down really helps.

A party game for all!

srakowski says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:32am

This is a fantastic game, you really should release this on console :)

EwChap says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:22am

Amazing. Well done for 72 hours. Highly polished.

Infernobomb says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:29am

Very smooth and fun gameplay :) the soundtrack fits perfectly

safran says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:27am

Best graphic so far!

mantis says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:41am

Really cool game. Exsalted gameplay!

sydan says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Amazing game! I wish I had someone to play it with! The theme idea is so unique and the game is really polished! Congratulations!

JArcane says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:58pm

It seems the random level obstacles sort of just stop showing up after a while?

Otherwise quite fun.

coderitual says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Very fun game. Finally something for more players. I would add some obstacles and bonuses, but besides great.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:40pm

It's like joust, with space slugs! Really polished entry, would play a full game of this with my friends!

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:50am

weird fun game~! well done!

dyfer says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:52am

IA is pretty easy to beat but looks fun to play with real human. Cool entry!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:09am

Really fun game. The art was fantastic as well, a very well polished entry.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Amazing idea and execution!

frokes says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Nice little game with a nice multiplayer possibility. Would have liked a possibility to have some AIs for those that don't have someone else to test the game with and some more levels.

lucien says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Funny and addicting 5/5 just perfect

DarkwindMedia says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:10pm

@frokes There is AI for those who would like to play without friends.

If you start the game with 1 person, it will automatically add 3 bots.

Additionally, you have the option to add a specific amount of bots by using the + and - buttons on the character select screen.

Hope you get a chance to play again, would love to hear your updated opinion!

KaiseanGames says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:39pm

This is by far the coolest game I've played on LD. Nice job.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Really fun game, little hard to get used to the turning speeds but once I did it worked really well. AI was pretty good. Art was really good and seemed well polished.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Really fun game! Nice graphics, and great music too. Awesome job!

NoSoupForYou says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:27am

Excellent concept, beautiful art and music, and on top of that the game is straight up fun to play! The slow-mo effect adds a lot to the game as well!

xhunterko says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:08am

Cute characters. Ai a little smart maybe. Ran a little slow for me. Otherwise, really nice game!

Squarlboy says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:39am

my god that is so well done.

Lerc says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:13am

Solid, Yet squishy. Also, eewww.

The-Force says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:10am

Best game so far to me. So simple but juicy and fun.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:13pm

So much fun. Liked the character customisation, thought that was a nice touch. Had a good time playing this one and can see myself playing this against friends on a big screen.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Pssst - you are in today's LUDUM DARE TO BELIEVE! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-b3VBbOJ7zY

jk5000 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:05am

In every way a fun party game. Delightful simple.

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:17pm

....resalts....

...

great polish on this, looks fantastic. reminds me a lot of Starwhal

nutcrack says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Amazing gameplay, diffrent arenas, nice polish and makes my brother extremly salty.

TeamSpatch says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Very nice entry!
Good gameplay, controls and IA.
I which I could try with friends ^^

gruhn says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 5:09pm

A fun and full game. I liked the mechanics with a challenge between players.

May 3, 2015 @ 11:21am

very fun!

eastes says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 1:03pm

As a fellow compo competitor, I am humbled. Best game I've played in LD32. Congrats!

Crowbeak says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:26am

This is really solid. I'm glad you included AI but I wish even more that I had someone around to play it with. Bravo.

01101101 says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 3:06pm

I haven't tried it with friends yet but it sounds like a lot of fun :D Still plays well against computers anyway. Art, UI, basically everything is polished and very good looking. Well done!

freeholdgames says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 5:15pm

This is a wonderful little arena game. Awesome tactile and audio feedback. Amazing job!

eskivor says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Nice game !

yuigoto says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:33am

Whoa! It's so good and solid, doesn't even feel like a jam game! So polished! :D

Graphics, audio and control-wise it's really well made and adorable, and the use of theme is superb!

I've played only on single player, but I feel that playing this on multiplater must be AWESOME! Nice Work! :3

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]