Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Mutiny on Samovar V

by Fabraz - Jam Entry

Controls:
P1: Move = WASD | Jump = W | Rotate Ship = QE
P2: Move = ARROWS | Jump = UP | Ship Gravity = ENTER
You can also double & wall jump.

Goal:
Have a higher kill count than your opponent before the timer runs out. Debris, electricity, saw blades and more can kill you!

Plot:
Aeronauts from the Vlaskov Kommonwealth and Victory Empire, respectively, are responsible for the launch codes to the super weapons of their rival nations.

High above the planet’s surface, each crew member wields an integral function of the space station Samovar V (Gravity & Rotation), and attempt to wrest control of the fate of humankind by jettisoning their opponent into the upper atmosphere.

Ludum Dare:
The unconventional weapon? The control of the gravity and/or rotation of the ship of course!
You and your opponent are trying to smack each other violently against the wall by switching up the gravity or rotating the very metallic floor under their feet. Gnarly.

Other:
Check out our video recording of it here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d-YdWlI_YAA
And our entire livestream: http://www.twitch.tv/fabraz/profile/past_broadcasts

Quick-fix Patch1: Spikes & bounce pads are now always visible! P2's description now says "Gravity" & P2's UI now shows off the cooldown correctly.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#84Audio(Jam)3.83
#172Mood(Jam)3.56
#181Innovation(Jam)3.65
#272Theme(Jam)3.70
#291Overall(Jam)3.48
#326Fun(Jam)3.30
#339Graphics(Jam)3.65
#371Humor(Jam)3.16

Comments

r8berto says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Clever idea. It would be perfect with AI and maybe higher resolutions (I played the web version)

rzfmzn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Just sending the same feedback I got a while ago: 2p games are hard to test and judge :/
When you can make even a simple IA that allows ppl to test :)
Loved the songs and the micro play space

Taldius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:54pm

This game is really good, I love the idea and he music are so funny!
Great job!

MasterOfNaN says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Awesome music and general vibe. Like the clever rotation/gravity mechanic too.

Jajo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:58pm

I loved the music and graphics. The gameplay was difficult, however.

vvolis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:00pm

5/5 Best entry I've seen so far. Excellent job with graphics and mood, and I loved the interpretation of the theme. Very original and polished stuff. Would definitely rape my friends in this on consoles. Also lost my shit at the turtle song :D

Saker Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Nice.

lcarpentier says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:15pm

I had to find someone to try this one with me but I'm glad I did

ARubino says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Great, i really liked the sound, an AI would have been nice. The Idea was fresh and works great.

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:32pm

This is sweet, I love the cool mechanics :D The web version's resolution is a little large though, I couldn't get it to fit on one page.

CowShark says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:32pm

I didn't find someone to play this with, so didn't rate it on fun or overall, but it seems like a cool idea. BGM was a good pick. Sounds for various things happening coulda been somewhat louder maybe.

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:33pm

omg epic music lol the game is good too ^^

boateye says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:38pm

The theme, concept, and mechanics are really fun, and well though out. However, the resolution is too low for me to decipher what it going on. I found it hard to enjoy because the sprites were simply too small. It's like playing Risk of Rain on a 30" monitor with no scaling, or just watching ants from across a classroom.

Tuism says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Music is way epic :) Where is it from?

The gameplay seems violently random - like I have no choice but to mash the button I have and hope for the best. The ability to have a plan and be disrupted by your opponent reacting to it is in my opinion the essence of multiplayer games... This doesn't seem to be able to deliver that - especially since the platforming controller is so slippery (because physics yay)

siryakko says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Nice sounds, and perfect music, just too bad that you've to be two to test it. But nice idea :D

DarkwindMedia says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Love the music and mood of this one! Great job :)

Hammer Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:18pm

WoWWWWWWWW! Nice game! I want to see this game complete! Congratulations!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Unfortunately I didn't have a 2nd person to play this with, but it was a very interesting concept. It seems like it would take a long time to get the strategy down

alpha_rat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Great mood, music and graphics
Concerning the game itself, the screen is really little and I had no opportunity to try the game with a second player

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Really great job on the sound music, especially in the opening/ending. I thought that the feeling the menu sets up is very dissonant with the gameplay once you get to it, but it was spectacular when meshed up with the storytelling portion of the game.

Cstudios says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:47pm

I nearly voted 5 star in every category. I will bookmark this, no even download it to play with the colleagues in the office! I love it!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:53pm

This is a great idea. I like the concept but it's very hard to play.

duck says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:03pm

I love the graphics and sound but don't have anyone to play it with at the moment. Looks interesting though.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:19pm

Awesome! I had fun just rotating and gravity-swapping by myself. I might try again with someone else. The graphics and music are great!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:50am

This is really clever and just artistically pleasing to look at. I love the scanline/tube tv effect (had to use a larger screen/resolution), and the music is really immersive.

renatopp says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:32pm

The idea is great, so it is the execution. Sound is so awesome! You guys really could do a final version of this! Congratulations.

peterkirk says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:40pm

I had to bring my roommate in to play this and we agreed that there was a bit too much going on at once. We could never tell what the outcome for our actions would be and most of the kills were just at random. Everything else is great though. I like the details in the visuals, the story is a nice touch, and the song selection is great. Bert the Turtle made me smile.

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Nice pixely feel, which gave it a nice touch but was hard to see.
Like Music though.

Wevel says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Nice music but it would be nice to play against the computer.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Quite a fun little game, nicely done. But I wasn't really a fun of russian soundtrack, probably because I can speak it. Other that that game was great.

fixitteam says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:48pm

nice game overall :)

ajopart says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Funny things everywhere ! Music is simply fantastic, the mood perfect. Fun mechanisms. Congrats !!

Jasonsumm says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Really cool idea! :)

kyyrma says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Really fantastic art and audio. Great production values for a jam game. Too bad about the lack of AI, as I'm seconding it's hard to test a 2-player game proper when you might not have a second player handy. Really cool entry nonetheless!

defacid says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:08am

This hits every possible good point I could say:
- Beautiful graphics
- Interesting, theme fitting, original gameplay
- Great sound/music choices

Dorgam says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:04pm

However the story wasn't compelling to read I could get a little about what is the game about. A tutorial would be excellent for this game and maybe bigger sprites?

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:49am

OMG, I wish I had someone to play this with. Still, I can see how insane this would be to play with another person. Bravo on doing something crazy and new. And I love the music.

strong99 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Nice twist on the fight game type. Enjoy the environment changing by the players!

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:35pm

I absolutely love the asymmetrical abilities. They make for a really dynamic, hectic experience. Awesome job!!

May 1, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Great music and graphics, and the gameplay is total chaos! Unfortunately, the small version was too small for me to really see everything properly, while the large version was too large to fit on the page! Excellent game from what I could see though!

justthestudio says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 9:53pm

We love communist space and design!

alex31016 says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 7:20am

Great idea and great music, it is an interesting gameplay and you need a good strategy to win. It is really fun! Congratulations!

Pat Kemp says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Wow, really great level of polish on this one. Beautiful graphics and great audio. The core mechanic is hilarious, too. Great work!

chromebookbob says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Really cool graphics!

Xanjos says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Bit awkward playtesting this by myself but I love how each player has their own unique abilities plus I like the art style a lot.

May 7, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Cool mechanic and great fun to play!

Nikteddy92 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Wow Great! I love the graphic style! :O

puppetmaster says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Great atmosphere!! Love the idea of rotating the map (map could also have some hole, so you can fall outside and dye.
Very well done!!

Filip says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:08pm

The resolution is too large for my screen; I can't see the whole map.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]