Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Discourtesy Induced Death

by Olias - Compo Entry

Use the Web Link to get the pixel perfect version of the game!

First Ludum Dare entry! that was intense, and I sure hope you'll like it.
Basically this a game is about helping planes not to crash, while the tower control operator tries to troll you to death.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#45Humor3.97
#241Graphics3.63
#505Fun3.11
#518Innovation3.15
#559Overall3.17
#1010Theme2.53

Comments

Armanky says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:01am

That dialogue had me laughing out loud. What a ridiculous scenario.

You should probably explain the controls or the objective though. It's very confusing to figure out what's going on.

Olias says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:10am

Thank you!
there is actually a small text in-game but it might be a bit small.

Lizzip says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:14am

Haha.This is hard, but I love the dialog and graphics. To hell with that tower control operator!

JakeL168 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:34am

Took me a while to get what's going on.
Didn't manage to get a single plane in ><, graphic was great though.

iSamurai says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:30am

Awesome! The gameplay is creative, and I love the arts. Though the entrance of can be more obvious ;p

mike1101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:31am

The inline web player doesn't work - It's too small to read anything. I think you need to set the size bigger ...

So funny ! I couldn't control the plane at all but it was still hilarious ! What on earth is the alien doing in the tower ! I want to find out more about this world !

Gameplay is a bit limited ...

pythong says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:18am

this game is harder than it looks

bitch, PLEEEEEEEEASE! :D

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:06am

Tutorial text is tooo small...

ajopart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:17am

Awesome entry but sadly no link with the theme. Gorgeous art, fun and damn hilarious.

nicotuason says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:09pm

Haha, it gets super frantic pretty quickly! I like how the pilot's portrait rotates with the plane.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Nice idea, but i couldn't land a plane - cool graphics!

BraindeadGeo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Loved the dialogue but it was suuuuuper hard to land the things!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:43pm

This was funny and creative. Also nice pixels!

MrDave says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:39pm

The game looks nice and you have done lots with a simple idea.

I wasn’t quite sure how it related to the topic of An Unconventional Weapon but it was enjoyable to play anyway.

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Fun faces and dialogue. 10/10 best game ever, would play again. :-) Please rate my game at http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=16225 Was never able to land a plane though.

Olias says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Thank you all guys for your feedback, I had to admit that the landing is too hard, so I tweaked it to make it easier.
Give it another try!

Manou says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Would be awesome with voices :D

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Nice humor and art. A bit slow.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:37pm

The art style is really well done, the game itself quite hard :D Nearly saved 3 planes at all. Anyway, like I said, I really enjoyed the visuals and the dialogs.

esayitch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Oh man, this was tough, I barely managed to land one plane :). I loved the graphics and the troll was funny.

How was the theme featured here? Plane flying physics were fantastic.

Hectate says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:56pm

This is absolutely insane. Of course I tried to land my first couple times anyway... NOPE. This is a hard game...

Managore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:02pm

I manage to almost land the second plane, but it's tough! I really liked the setting and the portraits, especially how they rotate with the planes. Awesome work!

Ludipe says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:11pm

This is a very polished game, original, fun and with an hilarious narrative.

Great work! :)

PaulJs says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Nice but the theme !

Wow says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Can I just say that the pictures rotating with the planes made this the funniest entry I've seen yet? Great work, love the art and I had fun.

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:37pm

I really like the idea and its the kind of game I would definitely enjoy, but man oh man is it hard to play! I think you should let the player land one plane before you hit them with the double-plane scenario, just to let them find their feet a bit!

Rotating portraits were hilarious - you really get the sense of the pilots panicking, upside down, as air traffic control continues to be a d*ck about it :)

Fanttum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:03am

Yea very funny, but kinda hard to figure out what to do.

Tomcat94 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:37am

DUDE WE'RE GONNA DIE!
Hilarious dialogue, and the pilot portrait rotating with the plane was a nice touch. The game itself is difficult, couldn't really get past 3 planes because I kept hitting the side, but it was still pretty funny and made me play it a few times to see if there was more dialogue.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:35am

I love watching the little head icons turn upside down. Its a little on the dark side but who isn't. Great first entry!

cgmorton says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:52am

This game is hilarious. I really liked it once I figured it out.

You could have explained how to land though, I tried for ages to set down on the runway.

I also find it annoying that my planes can crash into the top and sides of the screen, given that that is the SKY they just crashed into. :P

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:30pm

I really loved this idea. and the game. Had a Blast!

"Request Denied!"

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:54am

It was hard to understand what's goin on. But dialoges was fun.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:38pm

I mean, I didn't "enjoy" the game at all in the sense that I didn't have any idea what I was doing, but it was totally hilarious. The graphics rotating with you was pretty cool.

marinalucio says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:54am

Nice game....REALLY hard, but super well done. I like how you even added a stall situation on the planes. The conversation was hilarious, but after my second plane i couldn't read much of it because of the cognitive load...and i feel like i probably missed a bunch of amazing interactions. Well done!

Olias says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:24am

Thank you for the feedback guys! It will surely help me do better next time.

GagaPete says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 9:09am

Like the graphics style. I'd love to rate for theme, since a aircraft hangar door is a pretty unconventional weapon your opponent uses. :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]