Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Dario DDS

by bentglasstube - Compo Entry

Dario is a dentist who just opened his own practice to pay off his mountain of student debt. Unfortunately, everyone in town hates the dentist and they won't come see him unless their teeth are really in bad shape.

Dario has an evil idea, he will use candy to destroy everyone's teeth so they have to come see him for expensive (and PROFITABLE) implants. Help Dario match up blocks of colored candies to destroy all the teeth in town.

How to play

Getting four of the same color in a row horizontally or vertically will clear the candies. Any teeth pieces adjacent to a cleared candy piece will be damaged. A tooth gets damaged first and then is destroyed. The darker teeth are already damaged. Clear all the teeth pieces to win.

Update: There was a bug with clearing out the level when you won before moving on to the next one. This was fixed shortly after the compo ended as per the allowance in the rules.


Tools used:
coding: vim
art: aseprite, inkscape
sound: sfxr, lmms, abundant-music.com

Libraries used:
* SDL 2.0.3
* SDL_Mixer 2.0.0
* boost 1.57.0

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#116Audio3.60
#475Fun3.14
#554Graphics3.05
#837Overall2.86
#955Theme2.68
#1007Innovation2.29

Comments

Super Hamster says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:29am

At first I was like "Oh another tetris game woop-dee-doo". And then I was like "WHY ARENT MY COMPLETE ROWS FALLING" and finally I was like "ooooh that's what your supposed to do". Anyways, I liked the twist to tetris. As I told you on irc, the graphics were missing for the windows version. However I could hear the audio which was fitting(I don't know why you won't let me rate it :( ) Cool idea!

vini60 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:05am

The idea is nice but it doesn't fit the theme. A very fun tetris like game.

Armanky says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:08am

It's basically Dr. Mario, so I can't complain too much about the gameplay. I'm awful at Dr. Mario and that hasn't really changed. The story is pretty fun in a kind of sadistic way.

barkergames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:49am

Very much like Dr Mario, interesting twist.

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:26am

Not the most original mechanics, but very will executed. I enjoyed the music too.

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Why isn't this game called Teethris? :-)

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:18pm

haha, it's more like Dr. Mario than tetris so the name is a play on that.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:30pm

I will tweet you with a gameplay and review video soon.

blaster391 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:05pm

A nice play on tetris, I had to read the readme to find out what on earth was happening, but after that it was fine.

Horsed says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Man, that mouth looks... horrifying. After trying a couple of minutes I still didn't manage to figure out the rules for clearing blocks. The music makes it feel like tetris (which I like).

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Sorry about the confusing gameplay, I have added a description of how to play. I also added audio to the categories that can be rated - I'm not sure why it wasn't showing up.

Zeriver says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:22pm

A nice variation of Tetris. At the beginning rules were a bit ambiguous but player can quickly get them. Pretty fun game to play with ok graphics and decent audio.

Matt Tuttle says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:25am

This was an incredibly difficult Dr Mario style game. I wish diagonals would have matched or maybe just 3 in a row. Overall it was a fun game and it kept my interest until I lost. The poor kid choked on a pile of candy...

dvdfu says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:30am

Really funny scenario! Catchy music, too.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:33am

I loved the setting :) the bizarre visual style really set a fun tone.

Gunzil says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:36am

Having the L shaped pills wasn't particularly fun to play with compared to the traditional pills or possibly the Luigi style I haven't tried. Unclear if I'm intentionally destroying their teeth or fixing them also.

Nice audio and graphics, felt suitably gross for doing mouth work.

Bishkip says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:52am

I played a bit of Dr Mario when I was younger, wasn't good at it then, still not very good at it now. Nice take on it.

sorlok says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Hah! Very interesting idea, and good mechanics. The candies look a bit visually off (of the grid), which can make them hard to line up at times, but it's not a huge problem. Good game!

goblin says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:20pm

Reminded me of Dr.Mario, good choice of music great job!
check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:31pm

I really enjoyed the music!

Langouste says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Super Game! I love it ;) Thanks

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 3:00am

Cool take on Dr. Mario! Fun art and good music. Connection to the theme could have been better, but it's a good game regardless! Great job!

May 20, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Really awesome graphics and concept! I included it in part 12 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/m_vzNeNUn1c

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]