Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Cocktail Ninja

by JoJoV69 - Compo Entry

**MORE IMPORTANT DOWNLOAD THIS WORKS WITH SOUND AND NO SOUND AFTER INSTALL
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=35
It's the latest version of directX

**IMPORTANT : If you are on win 7 or the windows version doesn't work click on the Windows7 download link and it should! MediaPlayer doesn't work with windows 7 direct X so it has no background music unless you want to go to the Content folder and play bgMusic.wma manually on start, sorry for the inconvenience.

A side-scrolling shot 'em up type game. Ninja is angry at zombies so he is killing them with cocktail umbrella throwing stars.
You can't dodge anything in the game just hit them.
The jump is purely for head shots which are one shot, one kills. If you kill more than one enemy while in the air(regardless of head shots) you get a combo, the highest I could get was four let me know if you get higher.
The flying, spinning arms must be hit at head shot level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#367Humor3.09
#535Audio2.73
#811Fun2.75
#831Mood2.57
#857Graphics2.52
#873Theme2.88
#932Overall2.72
#973Innovation2.42
#1347Coolness48%

Comments

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:47pm

I cannot launch the game. It says WEB version, but there is exe file and it tries to somehow connect to www, but nothing happens :P

Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Didn't vote yet. I recommend you to change the link to the game from "Web" to "Windows" (or any other platform this game is for), and create a zip in the download link for convenience =]

repstyle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:52pm

After install the game crash immediately.

MJaawa says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Yeah does not run, crashes on win7 before launching :\

Gaeel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:18pm

I got it running on my computer, that was really funny.

tompudding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:39pm

I too have failed to run it, crash after launching on Windows 7

JoJoV69 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Did you download the entire folder or just the application? Do you have .net installed and which application did you click to download?

JoJoV69 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:11pm

It seems it works on win 8 but not win 7, i am currently debugging, sorry for the issue =/

plokdev says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:56pm

I got it to run. I'm using Windows 8.1.

The concept of the game is hilarious, but I wasn't able to get that far in it, because I didn't know how to jump over or duck the spinning knives. Sorry.

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Windows 7 didn't run, not rated.

mike1101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Same here. Doesn't work on my windows 7 machine ...

Jungle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:16pm

cannot run. Game crashes!

JoJoV69 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Mediaplayer for some reason won't work with windows 7 version of directX so I put up a new link that works with the windows 7 computers I have tried, however it has no background music, let me know if it doesn't work with anybody and sorry for the inconvenience.

grillaface says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Couldn't launch the game :(

JoJoV69 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Do you have .net 4 installed?

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:13am

That was really cute and funny :) I liked making it rain with the terror of giant cocktail umbrellas... wait does that make them regular umbrellas?

JoJoV69 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:54am

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=35
FOR EVERYONE WHO COULDN'T GET IT TO WORK DOWNLOAD THIS, should work with sound (Windows 8 version) if not use the windows seven, and that should complete my debugging sorry it took so long. And thank you for your patience!

To the three people who played it thanks for the insightful comments it means a lot to me =].

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:55pm

It's a bit frustrating that you can't dodge anything. I do like that you can score headshots, that's a nice mechanic.

ironleonem says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:27am

Very cluttered UI. Try saving the stats for after the game.

smikulcik says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Great Game! It was a lot harder to beat that I thought it would be. I really like the idea of using cocktail umbrellas as the throwing star.

Mouch says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:28pm

A bit unpolished.... but a crazy and funny idea! :)

Keep it up mate!

bace1000 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Nice game :)

Langouste says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Super Game! I love it ;) Thanks

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]