Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Jonbar Point

by NoWandStudios - Jam Entry

Jonbar Point it’s a small prologue (though it’s a complete game for the jam) of a bigger project. It’s the first time No Wand Studios has participated in a jam.

It’s an exploration game where a space traveler must use the W.E.A.P.O.N. hologram system to help The Society in its mission. Would you like to help as well? Then try our game, dive in and discover the lore of this curious stage.

And remember; enter more data if you find any. The Society thanks you.

Team

Jonathan Prat: Graphics & level design (@j_caulfield)
David Bernad: Code & level design (@NazhorScio)
Carlos Carrera: Code (Doesn’t have a twitter account because he fears The Society reads his mind)
Iván Lorente: Music (@ILorente9)
Borja Peinado: Game design, level design & script (@condotierro)
Ana Villanueva: Translation (@agrea)

Tools
- Unity
- Photoshop
- Microsoft Word (Clippy we miss you :( )
- Mixcraft 7
- Caffeine

*If you're playing the web version, we strongly recommend play it in full screen mode.
**The recommended resolution is full HD.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#191Audio(Jam)3.48
#403Mood(Jam)3.22
#500Graphics(Jam)3.33
#632Overall(Jam)3.08
#787Humor(Jam)2.29
#798Innovation(Jam)2.58
#806Theme(Jam)2.90
#915Fun(Jam)2.43

Comments

Acrimiens says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:13am

Awesome Game and so original! I love your artist work/guy ;)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Some thoughts:

-Nice graphics, some blurry textures, mostly due to their enlargement in the large scope of the game world.

-Music is professionally done, very nice.

-Dialogue is good but at times the large amount of exposition can be a little long and overwhelming, nonetheless the narrative is very broad and above the quality found in most story-based Ludum entries.

-Decent English translation, some awkward phrasing, but nonetheless the dual language option is rare to see in Ludum games due to time constraints.

All in all, a good game! It looks like a lot more time has been put into it than a few days, and that attests to the quality of the game.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:03pm

A very rich and interesting story! I really liked the whole idea of exploring what used to be Earth. Getting kill in one shot is not fun though, because it means skipping many dialogues to go back to where you was. There should be some kind of checkpoint. And you tend to give a lot of instructions that are written in small characters which isn't handy for people with glasses. Not bad though, I'd love to try an improved version =)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:45pm

I always thought of a game where humans were the aliens, in fact is one of the themes I suggested for this LD, so I love the setting.
Then a bullet came from nowhere and I died in the library I didn't enjoy that part so much.
Its nice that you doubled the game.
The sound was cool but It was strange to hear the fireplace sound through all the map.

NoWandStudios says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:07am

Thank you very much for your comments! This was our first jam and we are so happy with the final result.

@Acrimiens Thank you! He was 42 hours with no sleeping at all to make all the art of the game haha.

@chikun Dev Team We're so glad you liked it! We thought that our strong point in this game was the lore. We would like to make it complete eventually.

@Traumendes_Madchen It's supposed to respawn in the library again when you get kill. We have tried again this feature in Ludum's version and it seems working so we don't know why this is not working with you.

@Sergi Montaner There was a problem that we realize after the submission time with the dialogue not showing when you get in the library. We know it's kinda frustrating get killed by a shot coming from an unseen enemy and we're sorry! Also we know about the bug with the fire sound. Our programmer was a bit broken and didn't know why that was happening until he get some sleep ^^'

Junber says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Nice game. Good graphics and music. Intressting story. Good job.

coderitual says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:14pm

+ Music
+ Graphics (need some polish but good style)

- can't skip intro?! ouch

Almax27 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Music got a little repetitive but I really liked the story and artwork :D nice work!

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Quite polished and immersive.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Quite interesting gameplay and nice story.
Well done!

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Very, very impressive to have two languages in a jam game, even with some translation issues. Beautiful art, fantastic music, excellent work!

NoWandStudios says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:48pm

As the story is the strong point in this game, we didn't think about implement the skipping intro option but it is possible that we include it in the future. Thank you all for the feedback and all the comments! We're so happy you like the story.

Arche-san says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Very interesting story line. The alien point of view on human civilisation is really inspired. The gameplay based on solid holograms is clever and can really be pushed much further. The action/puzzle part is a bit confusing : I kept being shot by an out of screen drone and had a lot of trouble understanding its pattern to put it down. Great job however, I would love to see you guys pushing this concept further.

eemmbbeerr says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:24pm

When I got to the point when it said “Press X”, I pressed X. Nothing happened. I got stuck there. The music is really good!

NoWandStudios says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:47pm

@eemmbbeerr You have to press arrow keys after pressing X or C to show the hologram in the direction of your choice.

@Arche-san We hope one day we can make the full game. Keep trying the robot part and if you can't beat it we will post the solution when judging time ends!

GAFBlizzard says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 5:15pm

The hologram idea was interesting, but I could not tell what the holograms images were. Maybe someone with a club, and sometimes fire was generated.

There seemed to be a lot of issues with the English translation if you work on a bigger game.

The Reginald dialogues were really annoying to me.

Exploring an abandoned area is cool.

GAFBlizzard says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 5:16pm

I forgot to mention, you can walk off the edges of the screen.

block97 says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Very nice Graphics, little bit confused in exactly where to go in the beginning but the dialog definitely helps.

MrShoestore says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Ok, there there is a lot of dialogue at the beginning, which is good because it should you put a lot of time thinking about the backstory, but I started to feel hammered by text. especially the one where there is so much text in the chat dialogue that the font becomes super small. I don't know if its a translation issue, but sometimes saying less is saying more.

NoWandStudios says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 9:12am

@Block97 Thank you very much!

@GAFBLizzard The holograms are a caverman with a torch and a medieval knight. We will improve the graphics in a future version. There's a bug with the dialogues if you read de No Wand billboard that makes the rest of the game a Reginald monologue. Maybe that's what you're talking about. We will upload a fixed version when voting time ends.

@MrShoestore We know maybe it's huge text in this game but we need it because it was the main point for this jam version. We would like to make a bigger map so there would be more time lapse between dialogues.

Thank you for you feedback again guys!

crazya02 says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Love the lore in this one.

May 7, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Cool idea. The art and music were done very well. Maybe I'm just lazy, but it was a lot of text to read before being able to play

pikkpoiss says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 4:17pm

This really feels very ambitious for a 48-hour jam. I was impressed that you offered translated versions and wrote so much backstory and dialogue. Gameplay-wise I found it pretty frustrating to be killed so easily (and by enemies offscreen without warning most of the time). The atmosphere and the audio were both excellent though.

NoWandStudios says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Thank you guys. We will fix that kind of things, don't worry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]